We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk: The Star still shines – Sovabazar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calcutta Walks

Calcutta Walks
9A Khairu Place, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700072, India
+919830184030
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Calcutta Walks, the original walking and special interest tours operator of Kolkata. We're active on email 24 x 7 x 365 and our explorers will go out of their way to ensure you have an unforgettable experience of this crazy city. Do claim your free Calcutta tourist map on the walk.
Oslo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Walk: The Star still shines – Sovabazar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We took the following walk “The Star still shines – Sovabazar”. The tour was to a certain extent created by Prasenjit (our superb guide) as we walked along - commenting on people who passed by or were at work. It seemed fresh, spontaneous and personal. Prasenjit’s knowledge of the history and culture extensive. It was definitely a highpoint during our India trip.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    27
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“magic trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

what a wonderful vision of calcutta.every minute was well spent no time was wasted.an informative cookery lesson;thanks sharmillaji.a really good way to learn bengali cuisine.my homestay with katayun was nothing short of magic.i was able to visit a few art galleries with this charming lady.all done in just one short stay.thanx calcutta walks for organising so much in so short a time.take a homestay u learn so much more.thanx everyone at calcutta walks.you have made my stay. hope to do this again but with darjeeling included.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoux, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Confluence of cultures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Ritwick took us on a walking tour. He was a charming and knowledgeable young man and we thoroughly enjoyed our walk. He took us from the old barracks ( a lot of British names there, they even have a blackboard on the wall for people to use for messages to their neighbours, like facebook) to the Jewish and Chinese quarters, to a wonderful sweet/cake shop, where he bought samples of the milk based sweets for us to try. We also went through streets full of wholesale items for parties and festivals commonly known as balloon street. Unfortunately we had a downpour but sheltered in the community room of the Chinese temple, which was interesting.This tour takes one through countless busy winding lanes filled with a multitude of nationalities.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunset River Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We took the "Sunset River Cruise" with a group of nine people working in the same office. "Explorer" Ritwick took us on a cruise past Howrah Bridge all the way to the famous Dakshineswar Kali Temple. On the return trip we got down at the Ramakrishna Mission in Belur Math.
Ritwick seems to be an absolute expert on Kolkata and its history and culture. On the way to the Kali temple we got the opportunity to watch the scenic hustle and bustle on the Ghats along the Hooghly. If you ever get the chance to take the Sunset River Cruise don't miss the opportunity to take pictures of the sun setting behind Belur Math!
In conclusion: It was definetely worth it and we can more than recommend Calcutta Walks (and Ritwick, in particular) if you are planning a team outing in Kolkata!

P.S.: Congratulations on your 100th review!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bright & well educated city guides an amazing encounter in a vibrant city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a great boat Cruising in the evening With the visit of Ramakrishna Temple fantastic
And the best a tour on Royal Enfield Bullet motocycle best way to enjoy the city.We loved it & very safe.
We had a great great time with Calcutta Walks.
We leave India tomorrow and they make us the desire to come back soon.
Sophie & philippe from France

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calcutta Walks also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 

Been to Calcutta Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calcutta Walks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.