We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best buffets in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barbeque Nation

Barbeque Nation
Ground Floor Plot No. K1, Block Ep & Gp Ashram Marg | Rdb Boulevard Sector 5 Salt Lake, Near Netaji Open University, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700091, India
033 - 60600000
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Bhubaneswar, India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of the best buffets in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Went there in time for the dinner buffet. Great food, nice ambiance, excellent, I repeat, excellent service. They offer you a really wide collection of starters served on a live grill built into the table. Not all of them are uniformly or consistently good but still you are sure to find a few varieties which you really like. I didn't have much time (or space) for the main courses but the spread was reasonably OK and the mutton biryani was great. The desert section was also very good with brownies, ice cream and three sauces to choose from. I would have liked to see some mousse though.

Overall one of the best buffets in town and at 644 per head including taxes (before 7:30 P.M slot) a great value for money. It would be even better if:

(a) They start offering complimentary drinks during dinner buffets
(b) Do away with their somewhat strange and confusing policy of charging different prices before and after 12:30 or 7:30 PM

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    62
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Grills !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A must visit place , while deciding where to have dinner in Kolkata. Located at Salt lake,Sector V , can be reached very quick using six lanes expressway. Wonderful service at table grills.Chef will often visit at table too for feedback in case you don't like something or want to add spice or salt in some particular way , he is happy to do that.Unexpectedly you will find the same dish prepared in a way you adviced , it is really special feeling in that way.Ambience was quite good a bit noisy as the place is usually crowded. A discount can be availed if you can manage your entry in between 7 P.M to 7.30 P.M.
Foodwise you have ample of choices over grill and there is fixed menu for the main dish and desserts which has been selected on public demand as well.
Good Place to celebrate birthday as well.
Karaoke was very nice as well , you will find lots of music of your choice and singers happily accept request from your side if any.
Overall experience was great.
Cheers !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bokaro
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One needs a hefty appetite to do justice to this buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

One starts to feel in the groove right from the moment one enters. The ambiance and decor is laid back and elegant. We went on a weekday afternoon, and the place was not too crowded. Most of the patrons were groups of young people working in the Salt Lake sector-V IT hub nearby. The waiting staff were extra pampering as we were one of the few families around. It's called a buffet, but you don't have to pick your own food in the starter round. They bring it to you on the table, place a small charcoal grill on the table, and repeats each item several times. The starters are all kebabs, superbly made, and the menu contains at least 6 non-veg items. We didn't even try the veg items, of which there must have been another five . They even asked us which item we liked best. When we replied that we liked the tandoori prawn the most, an waiter brought us something the chef had rustled up with tandoori prawns, bell peppers and some sauce, which tasted awesome. They said it came with compliments from the chef. A glass of cola/juice/beer comes complimentary with the buffet brunch.
After the starter round we were so full we could barely sample the main course, which was adequate, but not exceptional. I guess everybody goes there for the starters, and most people do not have the stomach for main course after the more than ample starter round. The desserts were good.
All in all, a great dining experience, absolute value for money and great hospitality. keep the show going, barbecue nation!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Food, Best Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Food was great but more so was the service which is a very important aspect of any restaurant. I was really touched when the chef personally came to enquire abt the food and i said that i found one of the kebabs too spicy for me (the kebab was good...its that i dont like spicy food) and then i was suprised and touched to see a non-spicy kebab specially made to suit my taste....such was their personal attention :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkatta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

if you are looking for all category food under one roof.. than I think.. barbeque is the best option..great ambience , good location ,excellent services n with in your budget..try it.. you will love it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbeque Nation also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 

Been to Barbeque Nation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbeque Nation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.