We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place for important Kolkata visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rose Valley

Hotel Rose Valley
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Rose Valley to your Saves list
Hotel Rose Valley
R B-29, VIP Road, Near Airport, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700059, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Durgapur, India
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ideal place for important Kolkata visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hotel Rose Valley, situated right at the heart of Kolkata near the Airport, is becoming one of the most significant staying places for those travelling through the Kolkata airport for various reasons. Especially those who are here for a quick stay and have to board an early flight must consider staying here simply because of its’ impeccable location. Last time when I was in Kolkata for a business meeting, it was a great help for me to stay here. Reasonably priced Hotel Rose Valley offers all the luxury; i.e. big rooms, AC, parking lot, nice food. Hence a great place for those, going out or coming to the city of joy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
8
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
US
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I virtually live on bags all through the year as I have to do lots of travelling thanks to my hectic job. Well, last time when I was in Kolkata I found that Hotel Rose Valley offers one of the best staying places in this city especially for those coming through the Kolkata airport for a quick visit. The hotel isn’t that costly besides providing some great rooms and cozy bar, good food etc. Most importantly the airport is only 10 minutes away via any cab.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We were looking for a hotel to stay overnight near the airport . This hotel is around a 15 minute ride by taxi from the airport, which I would say is one of the biggest pluses. Considering hotels in India are pretty overpriced -- I would consider Rs 1500 for a double bedroom pretty decent. The hotel is clean. Yes, The reception is tiny but the personnel are helpful and cheerful which I liked . They let us keep our luggage post checking out at no extra charges . The second pic amongst the four photos is similar to the room we stayed in. It had two single beds, a tv, ac. You get meals till 11 night. We had chapattis and prawn curry for dinner close to 11 night --the food was tasty. Breakfast is included in the pricing. The breakfast buffet had a decent spread of puris, sabji, corkflakes, milk, idli-sambaar- chutney, toast /butter/jam, omlettes, and to my delight awesome kheer chamchams (Bengali sweets) ... I noted the hotel seemed to be frequented by people travelling on official business ..... Taxis available right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Stayed for one night and it was horrible experience. No hot water. No water in wash basin. Lots of smell in the room. computer didnt work for billing and delayed my airport arrival. The charge was 1900.00 INR and airport drop is 200.00 INR (this is too much for 5-6 kms)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westbengal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

this hotel ranks up with the others lik the taj in west bengal. liked the ambience . conducive for business.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

This is a pathetic excuse for a hotel. It is more like a lodge. I had the misfortune of staying over here for one night. VIP road itself is a sad shady area. The only advantage is its proximity to the airport. This hotel is dingy, shabby and downright dirty. The constircted entrance and the pathetic reception desk are only the tip of the iceberg. I stayed in room 301. The room itself is no more than a pigeon hole priced at 1375 INR per night. The bed was dirty inspite of the regular service done by room service. The Aircon in the room has to spray the occupant with dust upon starting. The head board near the bed had a 5mm thick layer of dust. They have a restaurant on the 4th floor. I would never want to eat at that place. Its filthy. The staff themselves look like they could do with a bath. There are other similar sad looking places in VIP road and few good looking ones.
All in all the place seems to be visted by supervisor level staff who are out to booze on the weekend. I would never take any female fiends, family members to this nasty place.

I rushed off to Lytton at Park street the next morning at 6:00 am.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rose Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose Valley

Address: R B-29, VIP Road, Near Airport, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700059, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rose Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rose Valley India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rose Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.