We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at 6 Ballygunge Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 6 Ballygunge Place

6 Ballygunge Place
6 Ballygunge Place | Near Patah Bhavan School, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700029, India
+91 33 2460 3922
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 2,651 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: 6 Ballygunge Place is the flagship restaurant of Savourites Hospitality Pvt. Ltd. Till 2003, Kolkata did not have any specialty eatery worth the depth of Bengali cuisine. Savourites came with a unique blockbuster named after the address "6 Ballygunge Place". A specialty eatery serving Bengali cuisine was commissioned after thorough research into cookbooks of the Tagore Era. As they say 'the rest is history'. Today 6 Ballygunge Place is housed in an exclusive Rai Bahadur Bunglow, 100 years old and retained the Old World Charm in architecture and minimalist decor. Visit the place and savor the authentic Bengali Cuisine at its best.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lunch at 6 Ballygunge Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good Quality Food, Enough quantity of food. Good Atmosphere and authentic bengali food.the restaurant gives a very homely feel and is quite spacious with large tables foe families

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    128
    27
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“To discover bengali food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you like to dicover Bengali food at his best. we were enthousiastic after have eated there.
We have discovered new taste that we never had before.
A very nice restaurant , well designed, with so lovely staff and a choice of food very large.
By luck we dicovered this restaurant with indian friends.
Un endroit parfait pour découvrir les spécialités culinaires du Bengale. Des gouts jamais vus avant en Inde , dans un cadre agréable avec un personnel agréable. Réservation conseillée

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Food, average restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The restaurant looks as if it is operating from a house. Inside too there are rooms of different sizes where they serve you. Try the different fish dishes which is what they are famous for. They could put some exhaust fans to remove the smell of food which pervades the place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“authentic bengali food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

nice and cosy little place to enjoy authentic bengali food... the restaurant gives a very homely feel and is quite spacious with large tables foe families... the staff is very helpful in case u have no idea about bengali food, like me... a memorable experience....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Authentic Bengali Cuisine at really affordable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Anyone visiting Kolkata and interested in authentic Bengali food must visit this restaurant near Ballygunge Phari. An old house in one of the poshest residential areas of Kolkata has been given a change-over to transform its ground floor into a restaurant. Whenever I have been there, I have been accompanied by my family or my relatives. A very cozy and homely ambiance. Veg and non-veg - both types are available. During lunch they have 'buffet' on everyday except Sundays and festivals or special occasions. One may have 'a la carte' also if they wish so. No issues related to car parking; although the restaurant has no valet parking facility per se.

Note: One must try 'Betki Paturi'. (Legendary Pakistani cricketer Wasim Akram believes that there is no food on earth as heavenly as 'Betki Paturi'.)

Lastly, my review shall remain incomplete if I forget to mention the warm service of the Stewards and the Manager. They are really lovable.

Sorry. No alcohol is served here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 6 Ballygunge Place also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 

Been to 6 Ballygunge Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 6 Ballygunge Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.