We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is in the interest of the general public that the TRAMS are decommissioned” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kolkata Trams

Kolkata Trams
Trips & Tours | Shop No. 8, Mezz Floor, Esplanade Metro Rail Station, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700069, India
+91 90 88 888894
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With a capacity of 24 - 53 and equipped with a television and FM radio, the AC and Non AC tram runs four rides daily to the north and south of the city. Each ticket costs includes snacks. A lot is often heard about Kolkata's dwindling traffic system and how its age-old trams, means of transport that are still existing only in this part of India, are adding to the commuters' woes. There have even been talks of doing away with old tram cars for good and redesign the city's traffic network. However, trams are still plying in Kolkata and measures are being taken to resuscitate the 133-year-old Calcutta Tramways Company. Take a ride in one of these AC or Non AC trams early morning this week and get a taste of old Kolkata's magical heritage. Call or email Trips & Tours to book your seats. You can book the whole tram if you wish.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“It is in the interest of the general public that the TRAMS are decommissioned”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

What a sad state to see the famous Trams of Kolkata being run the way it is. From outside it looks like the trams on a daily basis is scrapped from outside by two metal objects. It is in shambles and I wonder how it still runs. I wonder if the administrator who can see the same does not realise this or they must be busy with something else. From the very look, we did not feel like getting into this wreck of a tram. People of Kolkatta should force the necessary authority to invest funds and make the tram more lookable. I do not recommend anyone to enter into this junk.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    58
    44
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Tram - non pollution vehicle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I always travel by tram. When it moves through maidan- the Kolkata's lungs it creats a rethym of life. This is the only vehicle in Kolkata which has fans to cool in summer. So, it's the best.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I'm obsessed with trains - from the toy kind to the kind that run on the road in cities, so I'm not being facetious when I say the trams in Kolkata are as much fun as the ones in Geneva, perhaps even more, since the view from the window varies so much. The coaches are more than a bit run down, but how does that matter when you know you're riding something that maybe more than a century old (the first tram cars were introduced in 1902)! This is a great way to see the city - slow enough to read all the signs in shop windows, slow enough to get in and get out whenever you feel like (how amazing it is to ride a train that will stop whenever, wherever you want?!) The people riding them are more locals who want to save more money than time, which makes for some great people watching and friend making.

For a tourist who just wants to ride trams without any clear agenda, the route can be a little hard to choose. I recommend the Calcutta tramways website (http://www.calcuttatramways.com/schedules.aspx) - I used this and chose the longest possible tram ride possible and rode up and down the route until I got bored.This was the Gariahat - HowrahBridge Via A. J. C. Bose Road , Sealdah & M. G. Road route, and I really recommend it if you enjoy seeing bustling markets. The tram takes an hour to cover about 10 km. The route that goes via maidan should be one of the most scenic ones, and I intend to try that one when I'm in the city next.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Colonial Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The trams used to be an important mode of transport for the people of Kolkata even in the 90's but not any more. Other modes of transport have taken over but the charm of the trams plying slowly along some of the still preserved lines are a treat that takes us back to the colonial times.
I had heard a lot about the AC trams but unfortunately haven't seen it. I did hop on to a regular one though in the Dharmatala area and it sure took me back to my childhood. It is a must ride if you want to see Kolkata at a leisurely pace and be nostalgic. Unfortunately, the condition of the tram car was bad with paints peeling on the outside and there were sure signs of it not been taken care of. Inside of course was just as I had seen it in the 80's and in a much better condition.
Take a ride and relive the past while enjoying the present.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Old and unique!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This tram is much like the San Francisco cable car, but this one has more 99% non-tourists passengers. While it doesn't seems to take you to many major destinations within the town, it has served the Kolkata public for generations, and become a page of its history (I even doubt that any parts of the car has ever been replaced). Still a fun ride.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kolkata Trams also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 

Been to Kolkata Trams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolkata Trams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.