We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money Accommodation in a central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sunflower Guest House to your Saves list
Sunflower Guest House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   7 Royd Street,, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Value for Money Accommodation in a central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on a recommendation from a friend …Very strategically located in Kolkata in park street with very nice eateries around…place is clean and nice…

The entire building is not a hotel…it is shared with some long term residents…If staying in a nice, clean place, with an old world charm to it, is your thing, look no further.

Very good value for money, I must say…

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    87
    54
    21
    17
See reviews for
25
63
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Highly recommended hotel..Hotel staff are very coperative....room is well maintained and location of the hotel is as described on the net......i recommend this hotel and hope i will check in again shortly...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorhat/Kolkata
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The building was huge with only a part of it being used as a guest house.
We stayed on the third floor and a big hall led to the rooms which also served as a meeting corner/dining place. The rooms were clean and spacious with large beds.

sound sleep and excellent location.

The only let down was that the people were not serving food.

Rest everything was perfect!

Will come there soon.

Room Tip: Do check the bills when you order food outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel is situated at good location. The rooms are good and price is affordable. Only thing is the bathroom is very small and there is no food service available in the hotel. Over all good price for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have been advised by friend to stay there...Really good value for money bed and breakfast in good location…roof top garden is nice…I would for sure recommend this small place to stay if you want to avoid over spending and noice from transport. Service was surprisely good and people are very friendly. They do care.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

It was our first stop in India, we stayed for 2 nights. The room was pleasant and it was off the main street so was decently quiet. we wanted a safe, well reviewed hotel for our first nights and it worked out well. Not sure of other prices in Kolkata but it was slightly less value for the rooms. The location im my opinion was great. All in all, I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

i can not agree wat the other guests haf witten. my room was very clean also the sheets. and the staff was always very helpful. i like this building with the old elevator and the rooftop garden is such a nice and quiet place. that the reception is in the 5 floor is a little bit bad.
the staff aske me every day to clean the room. but realy it is not necessary. and after good morning sir they aske me: yo need a new towel
so certainly i will be back!

Room Tip: al rooms are very good some fresh renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunflower Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Guest House

Address: 7 Royd Street,, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunflower Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Solomon Mansion House, Sunflower Guesthouse offers a unique experience of modern living with a dash of heritage. Located in the heart of Kolkata's Park Street area it is very convenient to reach out to most places of interest. Despite the prime location Sunflower Guesthouse offers a pleasantly peaceful ambience. This 20 room property comes with 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom options. Serviced apartment facilities for group bookings are also available for longer stay durations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Sunflower Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Guest House Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Sunflower Guest House India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunflower Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.