We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in heart of south kolkata” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metropole to your Saves list
Hotel Metropole
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   174 Sarat Bose Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700029, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 195 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in heart of south kolkata”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Small yet good hotel on famous sarat bose road.
Rooms are clean n interior is good.
Food is a bit on expensive side.
Breakfast is complementary but variety is very less.
Wifi is chargable.
There is a lake market nearby where you can enjoy in evening.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest344, General Manager at Hotel Metropole, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest ,

We thank you from the core of our heart for showering appreciation with regards to our hotel being a good one for intelligent travelers like you . As suggested by you we have infused variety in our breakfast menu and will look into the aspect of taking a decision on not charging the wi fi very soon But we are pleased that you were here and took time out to pen a few encouraging lines for us to stay focused . Hope to see you soon at our hotel and looking forward for more positive feedback from your end.

Regards

Sabir Ali
General Manager
9748446000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
1
3
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

I stayed in this hotel for one night. A bit shabby room, poor beddings, bath and toilet were OK. The breakfast was very average. There are many good hotels around this area compared to the Metropole. I won't stay again.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest344, General Manager at Hotel Metropole, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Guest ,

We are deeply hurt by your experience . We provide imported spring mattress ( ergonomically designed) in each room , but your inconvenienced has woken us up and we have decided to address the issue immediately.

With regards to the breakfast being very average , I would like to assure you that during your stay with us we had a large Jain community group who preferred a complete vegetarian breakfast and we had to keep it to a simple spread. But usually we have a large buffet spread.

I can assure you that we will go the extra mile on your next visit.

Sabir Ali
General Manager
9748446000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I stayed at the Metropole for a day on a trip that started off as a work trip but extended into a leisure trip for an additional day :)

The Hotel was 'discovered' thanks for a decision based on reviews on tripadvisor...was looking at a decent budget accomodation in the heart of Kolkata near the Bhawanipore/Lansdown market area where the real old Calcutta still exists!

The hotel turned out to be a very convenient choice in terms of it's location bang on the main road near the Deshpriya Park on the Sarat Bose road. This place is pretty central when it comes to popular attractions like Victoria Memorial, Birla Planetarium, St. Paul Catherdral
(A short metro ride away)... Also close to the famous Park Street Area. For the adventurous kind like your's truly, local buses (too crowded) are also available literally across the road from the Hotel.

The rooms are pretty small and offer no 'view' since the hotel is jostling between a guest house on one side and a residential building on the other. But then, if you are a 'traveller' or a 'tourist', you will hardly use the room more than as a place to hit the sack at night..so the view part doesnt really matter.

It's a small four storey building with a very simple and basic reception area so do not expect anything fancy. It's a functional place with decent rooms that have a decent airconditioning, good beds, a nice LCD TV with cable etc.. and also a small study. the bathroom is pretty compact.

All in all, a value for money place without any unpleasant surprises.

One major compliment goes out to the lady at the reception ( Aah, missed out on asking her name). She was very sweet, charming and helpful. Also, a gentleman there at the reception was pretty helpful with lovely tips on seeing some nice places.

A big 'Thank you' to him for suggesting to me the lovely 'Boat route' between Dakshineshwari Temple and Belur Math. Also, for suggesting Bhojo Hori Manna as an amazing place for authentic bengali food in Kolkata.

The rooms are around 3,000/- odd for a single bed.

Would easily recommend this hotel as a smart value for money choice :)))

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest344, General Manager at Hotel Metropole, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Dear Guest ,

We appreciate your sincere assessment of our facilities and services . We are honored that you took time out from your busy schedule to provide booster comments so that we can continue to deliver services for which we are known globally.

All our front desk personnel are trained to attend to guest as part of the extended family and leave no stone un turned to see that we live up to your expectations.

Looking forward to your next visit , as with guest like you we come to know that we are moving in the right direction and without you we would be incomplete.

Regards

Sabir Ali
General Manager
9748446000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

conveniently placed - very easy to access on the main road, and in a very well connected part of the city. yet very peaceful inside. quite reasonably priced for the location and quality of hospitality. the room was smart, neat, and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest344, General Manager at Hotel Metropole, responded to this review, January 13, 2015
Dear Guest ,

You have made us start the New Year on an upbeat mood with your positive feedback with regards to our location , room and services.

Your comments will act as a tranquilizer and booster so that we can aspire to achieve new milestones in service delivery standards.

We always try to walk the extra mile for all our guest who stay with us so that they get the feel of home away from home and we act as the extended family whilst their stay at our hotel.

Looking forward to providing same service level to you on your next visit to Kolkata.

Regards

Sabir Ali
General Manager
9748446000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Hotel Metropole is the best place to stay in Kolkata specially for corporate people. It has a great location with respect to communication and availability of all modern amenities which is essential for corporate executives. Me and my colleagues have been staying this hotel regularly for more than a year. We always get the warm welcome and outstanding service from all level of staffs. Specially the GM of Metropole Mr. Ali is always there to help us start from the room booking to checking out. For us It is like a next to home in Kolkata. They have very nice restaurant and cafe which has quality in all aspects.

I would recommend one should try this place at least once and see the difference compared to other hotels of same category. Truly guest will find a value for money deal with Metropole.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest344, General Manager at Hotel Metropole, responded to this review, December 20, 2014
Dear Guest ,

We are delighted to have delivered services as per your needs and expectations. We will continue to provide whatever is best for you and your guests. We will always go the extra mile to serve your needs and aspirations so that you go back satisfied and refreshed with lasting memories.


Regards

Sabir Ali
General Manager
9748446000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

This property has the perfect blend of corporate and homely living. I had stayed in Hotel Metropole for a business trip. Front Desk people and other staff are very cordial, cooperative and very professional. Food in the restaurant is expensive but awesome. The rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable to stay. Hotel is located in the central area and access to cabs and other means of transport in the late night is not at all a problem. I would love to stay back again whenever I visit Kolkata. In Fact I would always prefer to stay in this hotel primarily due to excellent food, stay and comfort. I recommend guests to try this place at least once. Last but not the least "One of the best budget hotel to stay in Kolkata"

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

This property has the perfect blend of corporate yet homely living. The rooms are very cozy and comfortable. Food is delicious. Hotel staffs are very friendly and sociable. The hotel is run very professionally. The front desk executives are very cordial.

I have been staying here regularly and extremely happy to go back each time. I recommend guests to try this place at least once; I can assure you will never like to change...

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest344, General Manager at Hotel Metropole, responded to this review, December 16, 2014
Dear Guest ,

We are very delighted to have lived up to your expectations with regards to extending warm hospitality and services of international standards. Your coming back again and again is a sign that we are moving in the right direction with the policy " Athiti Deva Bhava".

We will continue to set higher benchmarks for ourselves so that we continue with the level of services and warmth we deliver to each and every guest who stay with us so they go back home recharged and refreshed.

With regards

Sabir Ali
General Manager
9748446000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: 174 Sarat Bose Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700029, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 195 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.