We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No twin rooms even though that's what was booked!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swagatam Inn

Swagatam Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Swagatam Inn to your Saves list
Swagatam Inn
8/2221 Kazi Nazrul Islam Avenue, Baguihati (V.I.P Road) | Beside Big Bazar, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700059, India   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“No twin rooms even though that's what was booked!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

stayed here in April 13. Friendly hotel but very basic. I arrived at 10am after a 24hr journey from my home and thankfully they were very helpful and let me get into my room straight away instead of having to wait till the printed 12pm checkin.
The A.C and fan was welcome in the 35deg heat of Kolkata. This is an ok hotel as a transit as it is only 10- 15 mins away from the airport, and the fare is only 100- 140 ruppees. but not good as a place to stay for holiday.
I had problems because their english was very limited, my Hindi was even more limited! We had booked two twin rooms, however firstly they said there was no twin rooms. later after much discussion as to why we needed at least one twin room, they then came up with a room where the double bed can be separated into two. This was done, but the room was very dirty, and the bathroom was gross. Probably because they hadnt planned in using this room for some reason, even though we had asked for it.
Apart from this, the hotel was reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
3
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was just my horrible experience on 18th april at Swagatam INN at Vip rod, hotel staff is not well good which was not behave well with the customer and room was not so clean so much as well as not decorated,I was never visit this type of hotel in kolkata as I trust clear trip thats why i had booked AC delux room but when I was want to know that please shift me at delux AC room hotel authority said that every room are same and there is no diferrence between standard AC room and AC delux room, so please escalate this thing to high authority so in future any visitor will not face this kind of issue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Perfect for a transit and good value for money! However do not expect too much, its a basic hotel and the main advantage is its proximity with the Kolkata airport.

Service, staff, rooms and cleanliness is decent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Quick and prompt service, Location is good centrally located, rooms are kept clean. Rate is reasonable you get value for money. Food though limited in variety was of good quality. It is a calm and quiet place. It is worth to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

i was staying in room no 302. AC was like an air cooler only and making lots of noise. Service was very good. Location of the hotel is very good its easily approachable to airport. hotel staff is also very co-operative.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The room design and all are just OK, probably compromisable for transit stay. The bathroom fittings were good for lefty, and less often maintained!
Of course, the guest house - like hotel isn't that bad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calangute, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Deluxe rooms clean. Staff very co-operative. Service excellent. Meals: Quailty food. Room service: prompt. Check-io or check -out within minutes even at wee hours. Recommend for dum-dum transit passengers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swagatam Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swagatam Inn

Address: 8/2221 Kazi Nazrul Islam Avenue, Baguihati (V.I.P Road) | Beside Big Bazar, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700059, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Swagatam Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swagatam Inn India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swagatam Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.