We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a good time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shivangan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shivangan to your Saves list
Shivangan
Nazrul Islam Avenue(VIP Road) | Jora Mandir, Baguiati, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700059, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Chennai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“had a good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

hotel shivangan is located near to Airport, with bus stop near by. So it was easy to reach the place. Neat rooms, good room service. food was tasty and economic. courteous staff. my son & me had a good time. Thank u.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
5
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Patna, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is only 15 - 20 minutes drive to the airport. Checking in was quick. We stayed there for a night to catch our flight next morning. The reception is on the 2nd floor. The lift was very old and small, with not having enough space for three persons and some luggages. The room was good with air conditioner running and hot and cold water in the bathroom. There was a small balcony attached to the room. They don't have a running restaurant but arrange foods and snacks from nearby restaurant. The front office and other service persons were really helpful. The breakfast served was good. Overall a good budget airport hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at Shivangan for three nights as part of a wedding party, and therefore the entire logistics of out stay was handled by our hosts. The lift leading to the upper floors dates to the Raj days and is in dire need of replacement. The rooms were quite clean and well maintained, perhaps due to a recent renovation, but the use of vitrified tiles here can be quite dangerous due to the slipperiness. Also, the water pressure in the top floor is abysmally low and one has to wait for tens of minutes for a bucket of water to fill, let alone take a shower. At least for me, this was a major turn-off.
The service, however, was excellent. Although there is no attached restaurant, the hotel organizes food and beverages from a nearby hotel and very quickly at that. The quality of the food served - both with room service and at the banquet was fantastic. Very close to the Airport, City Center mall and Salk lake area, I'd recommend this hotel for short stays, although I must warn that the expectations better be a bit low.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side of busy VIP road may provide some relief from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We arrived at Kolkata at 11:00 pm and there was our driver organised by the hotel with a sign so it was easy to find him. A short drive (10 minutes) and we were at the hotel.
Entrance is a bit interesting, as the hotel is actually on the second floor of the building above a banquet centre.
A small lift takes you to reception and the paperwork commences.
We had some issues getting the night reception staff to understand us, but soon got to our room.
Clean and comfortable, but still woke up too early due to the timezone change (4.5 hours in our case).
Breakfast served in our room was the standard omelet etc, but all freshly cooked and nice.
Then we got dropped off back at the airport for next flight to Bagdogra.
All in all, a good place to stay if you are basically just connecting overnight and don't want to pay top rates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hotel Shivangan is conveniently located on the VIP road, about 10-15 min drive from the airport. Although from the outside the hotel may not appear very alluring, however the rooms are comfortable and ABSOLUTE value for money. Rooms are clean, comfortable, bathrooms are well furnished, the staff pretty helpful. The restaurant is average, however Kolkatta provides u enough choices on the street so that shudn scare anyone off... I recommend it to u all.... Hope u enjoy Kolkatta....!!!

Room Tip: The cheapest room is comfortable enough so dont spend any more money.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I had booked the hotel as we needed to spend just a few hours in the night in Kolkata while we were travelling between our international and domestic flight.
Rupees 1850 for the Room and breakfast was a good price. The hotel is about 10 to 15 minutes only from the Kolkata airport. It is right on the main road but the hotel lobby is a few floors up. This means if you arrive like us in the middle of the night you have to wake the reception people up. Yes the security guard on the road level will help but he also had trouble waking the reception people up!
But once we were in out room it was not bad. It was clean and the Air condition was working well along with the fan. The Tv although did not work in our room. The toilet was big and clean.
In the morning got woken up by the person taking the breakfast order. we tried the indian and western choice. Both were good and service prompt but the tea was a bit dissapointing! I think it was due to the milk that they used. Instead of fresh milk they had used powder milk. Still over all a good few hours rest. If I was travelling by myself and arriving in the middle of the night I would not be comfortable here. If I have my husband with me then I would use this hotel again because of the good price and location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed 1 night each trip. Arrived late night, kitchen was closed, Reception suggested nearby restaurant 10mins walk. Hotel's facing main road, very very DUSTY and noisy. Shopping or strolling anywhere is OUT. Renovation's ongoing so quite messy & dirty at entrance. Lift takes 3pax max (old-fashioned lift where you have to close the metal grating before lift goes up/down) or you walk up 3 flights of stairs with your luggage. Rooms clean, bathroom quite cramped but room service was fast. I must say their staff were very patient in accommodating our requests at the breakfast table!! Airport about 15mins drive, provided traffic's "clear". Good enough for those on transit stops or short lay-overs.

Room Tip: Bring face-masks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shivangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivangan

Address: Nazrul Islam Avenue(VIP Road) | Jora Mandir, Baguiati, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700059, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shivangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shivangan India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shivangan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.