We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aftab made our stay very enjoyable -thank you!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Esplanade Chambers

Save Saved
You added Hotel Esplanade Chambers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Esplanade Chambers
2, Chandni Chowk St | 2nd Floor, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700072, India   |  
Hotel amenities
cowra
1 review
“Aftab made our stay very enjoyable -thank you!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had a lovely time at this hotel, mainly because Aftab the manager was so so helpful. He is very friendly and made us feel very welcome, He went out of his way to help us by giving us directions, ideas on what to see and how to get there and where to buy necessities such as adapters and playing cards!! He even let us come back after check out time to have a shower before our train trip. Very kind of him! Nice clean rooms- just what you need after a day walking around Kolkata.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    41
    22
    2
    6
See reviews for
11
26
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bengal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed in this hotel 7 days attending a seminar. The first impression upon arrival was not good. It's on a very busy street and doesn't look very nice. It's a pretty ordinary hotel but has character. The staff is very helpful and understanding. Mr. Aftab is amazing. He takes very good care of the guests and makes sure you are comfortable and have whatever you need. The staff was really helpful too.

The room was clean but basic. There is no restaurant but just downstairs is Gypsy restaurant, a great place to eat. The food is delicious and the cost very reasonable. If you don't want to eat there then the staff will go out to pick up food for you.

There was only one real problem with the hotel. Evidently it is on the city water line and several days the water wasn't available until after 7:30 or 8 a.m. This was a bit inconvenient when I had to be at my seminar at 9 a.m.

Overall I would stay there again. There are so few places where you can get such friendly, personal service. The staff did a great job and you could easily see that they were trying their best.

Room Tip: The best rooms are #32 and #23. 32 is a large, comfortable room and #23 while smaller has an amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naushina j, Manager at Hotel Esplanade Chambers, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Sir
thank you for staying with us ,we are happy that your overall experience was good.
We are constantly trying to meet our guests needs ,It would certainly be very helpful if you can take a precioous few minutes and jot down what more we can add /improve to make your stay even more comfortable .The Resturant on the ground floor also belongs to the same group of hotels/lodges.and dinneris available till11 pm.whereas light snacks and tea is available round the clock for the weary traveller from our small pantry.
WE are constantly increasing out storage water and hopefully this problem will be fixed within 10 days or so as we are nearly doubling our storage capacity for the comfort
of our guests.
Once again i apologise for any discomfort you faced and hope to make your next stay hasslefree.
regards- owner-esplanade Chambers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Without the right staff, any hotel could be full of problems, but this place has a fantastic staff. Sabir in particular works very hard and always has a smile on his face, even when he greets arriving guests at 3am. Not only that, he has even offered to run errands for guests at very late hours. Aftab is great at making sure the guests get everything they need and even comes in on his own time to make sure guests are able to check in or check out without problems. And, the location is perfect because it is so close to a metro station that sits at the middle of the metro line, making trips to work/shopping/entertainment areas quite easy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naushina j, Owner at Hotel Esplanade Chambers, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
HeLLo sir
I thank you for the wonderful rewiev ,indeed a hotel is made a home with good service and friendly staff.we are lucky to have been able to put together a wonderful group of people
Here in Explanade Chambers We all are a big family indeed.
We hope we continue to have you as our esteemed guest whenever you visit Kolkata

best regards
Naushina
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

In my life I never visited kolkata before, so that was my first time, I found out this hotel on net, I was really amazed to see the services, the staff was amazing and friendly, they were so supporting, I'm really thankful to Mr.Aftab , he made my two days there, I would really love to go there again, and yes I'm going this september, thatwas a home away from home experience for me, I was highly obliged from the services I got, I really can't explain, thanks from the core of my heart to aftab and all the staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent,u can choose anyone according to ur budget.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Compared to other budget options available in Kolkata, this is expensive for what is on offer (which isn't much). The website shows nice pictures, but I think this is just one or two rooms, because the room we stayed in was very basic, and not worth the price. There was lots of construction work going on at the time too. However, the guy at the front desk was really helpful and even came to meet us when we couldn't find the hotel. The entrance is quite hidden, so give them a call before you arrive.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Esplanade Chambers hotel may not be the high end hotel, but they have extremely friendly and helpful staff, always ready to bring you anything you need, day or night.
we could also enjoy free and reliable wifi (we had it in the room), spacious room and stylish bathroom.
I was really satisifed with our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parc Seymour, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We have just enjoyed our third stay (8 nights) at the EC. This is a very good value budget hotel in a central location right next to metro station in an interesting vibrant location off the beaten track. The hotel is clean and well managed by young, enthusiastic and obliging staff. The manager (Mr Aftab Alam) speaks very good English and will provide useful information on local and further reaching aspects of Kolkata. We thoroughly recommend the EC and look forward to returning when next in Kolkata.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Esplanade Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade Chambers

Address: 2, Chandni Chowk St | 2nd Floor, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700072, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 203 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central kolkata ,Esplanade Chambers is a neat and clean BUDGET hotel .Offering complimentary breakfast and high speed internet connection .All the rooms are aircondditioned and bathrooms have running hot water.We are two minutes walk from Chandney Metro Station and very near to the various tourist spots of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Esplanade Chambers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Esplanade Chambers India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Esplanade Chambers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.