We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Save Saved
You added Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 & 2, Little Russel Street, | Kolkata 700 071, India, Kolkata (Calcutta) 122001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 189 hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good to be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Most of the staff particularly bell hops have been here for years and its always good to be back and encounter their warm reception.

As expected the rooms are in good nick. I checked in only at 0200am having picked up my family who arrived from Hong Kong but everything went well without a hitch.

Breakfast has improved considerably over the years.

Still a lovely and comfortable place in the heart of town particularly for travelers looking for a touch of the Kolkata of yester-years.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata again and sharing your experience with us on this public platform.

At Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata we endeavor to make your dining experience mesmerizing with a wide variety of delicacies to choose from. It delights us to know that you had a satisfying experience while dining with us and the overall layout of the property was at par with your expectations.

We thank you again for your valuable feedback and look forward to your repeated patronage.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    148
    52
    6
    15
See reviews for
32
40
34
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for about a week on a biz trip (in march 2013). Feedback:
Room - neat, clean -like most biz hotels in the category are
Location - in the middle of the city, about 10-15 mins walk from Park Street. Good, but not great
Service - was not that great either at the restaurant or room service. Time taken to respond was too high
Gym - well maintained... Has a nice energy about the place with helpful assistants. Enjoyed my workouts there
Restaurants - the Big Ben was nice. Plays good music

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata and taking out the time to share your experience on this public platform.

Our luxury hotel in Kolkata is located in the heart of the city and is easily accessible from commercial hubs of the metropolis. Catering to both leisure and business travelers alike, we offer an array of options for accommodation, food, relaxation and recreational amenities. It delights us to know that you liked our dining avenue, The Big Ben which is the only authentic British Pub in town and the gymnasium where you enjoyed the workouts.

However, we regret that our service did not match your expectations and you did not have the perfect stay. Feedback like yours inspires us to go that extra mile so that all our guests are satisfied and they are happy when they check out.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was a good experience as my stay was comfortable. Along with rooms, Big Ben is also a cozy place to chill. The management really cared about me and showed a good level of hospitality. The food was fine but could have been better. The hotel has got so much potential to give a better service.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata and taking out the time to share your experience on this public platform. It is a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay with us.

We are glad that you found our hospitality at par with your expectations. It delights us to know that you liked our dining avenues. The Big Ben is the only authentic British Pub in town. We regret that the food was not up to the mark. The concerned changes are going to be taken care of as it was conveyed to the management. Feedback like yours inspires us to further strengthen our resolve.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is such a great hotel right in the middle of the nice part of Kolkata. It is recently renovated with a new wing of rooms. The staff is helpful sometimes a bit too enthusiastic. The entrance is being renovated so a bit of a hassle but overall a great place to stay and walk to places on Park Street and Chowringhee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your stay experience on the public platform. It is indeed a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel in Kolkata. We are located in the heart of the city and are easily accessible from major transport hubs of the city. The hotel has been renovated recently that gives it a new look. Your kind words for the efforts of the staff have been duly conveyed who looks forward to your visit again. We are happy to know that our services conformed to the standards expected by you.

Thank you for your custom.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My stay at the Hotel for one Night was comfortable on June 24 on a business trip.The hotel is having some minor repair work going on but this is not disturbing. The Rooms are Neat and Clean ,well stocked for Tea the Mini bar is also well stocked. The Room is very comfortable ensuring a very comfortable Night Sleep. The Spa at the Hotel is also good. In the middle of the city this Hotel has a small green lawn which is very comforting in the Morning. The Spread of the Breakfast is also ok ,but other Hotels Like HHI have a better Spread.I would say ok for the Price. The Hotel Staff is good.

Room Tip: Avoid the Rooms on the First floor with Room numbers starting with 201 etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata and reviewing it on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that you found the rooms, buffet and our hospitable services at par with your expectations. . We are a sought after business hotel in Kolkata and offer state-of-the-art amenities. Our location in the city center makes us a preferred option among travelers.

The team at Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata strives to provide a comfortable stay to guests who visit the city either for business or for leisure and we are happy to know that our services conformed to the standards expected by you.

Thank you for your custom, we look forward to hosting you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELHI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is very nicely done . Rooms are small as compared to HHI but very neat and comfortable . The rooms are neat and comfortable . The hotel does not have a pool , which is the only draw back . The spa is very good . Breakfast spread is very good .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Kolkata and for sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We endeavor to offer opulent comfort and utmost luxury to our guests through well-appointed rooms that feature modern amenities. We provide recreational facilities like spa to offer a wholesome experience to our patrons. It fills us with immense pleasure to note that you had a satisfying dining experience with us, and your appreciation for the efforts of the team has been duly conveyed.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We would deem it a privilege to serve you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My stay at the New Kenilwoth at Russel Street, Kolkata from 5th-9th June, 2013 was worth its price, to say the least. I got to spend a peaceful time at this hotel which is exactly what I wanted. The staff at the reception were very friendly and helpful. The guards and other hotel staff were all smiling which added to the hotel's value. Their Buffet breakfast was varied in cuisine and specially good in Indian food...poha, dhokla,sambhar,etc. The Buffet dinner was intersting too. The Marble Room,their Indian speciality restaurant served us some unique-style dishes made with raw mangoes. The hotel's location is very good as it is walking distance to Park Stret and some very good lifestyle stores(Pantaloons & Westside). Overall I would love to stay there again on my next visit to Kolkata.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and sharing your experience on this public platform. We are delighted to note that you were impressed by our hotel and had a pleasant stay with us.

Centrally located, Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata provides an easy access to the various landmarks of the city. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our location along with our service. The entire team at the hotel strives to make a guest’s stay enjoyable and your kind words have made them very happy. We also offer a wide range of cuisines at our multi-cuisine restaurants The Big Ben and The Marble. Your special mention of our food has made our chefs ecstatic and they are looking forward to tantalize your taste buds with more such offerings.

We thank you again for staying at our hotel and reviewing us. We would indeed deem it an honor to host you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Address: 1 & 2, Little Russel Street, | Kolkata 700 071, India, Kolkata (Calcutta) 122001, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#12 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Kolkata is a 4-star luxury hotel located in the heart of the city. This family managed hotel goes back to the grand days of British Raj and, to this day, has an unmistakable colonial look and feel to it. The hotel comprises of exclusively decorated rooms and suites fully equipped with modern amenities. The in-house restaurants and banquet services cater to all tastes with their delectable range of local and international cuisines. The Big Ben relives the colonial days of Kolkata and is the city's only authentic British bar. Enjoy princely ambiance at the Marble Room serving traditional Indian fare. While Aromas is the hotel's 24-hour indoor & outdoor multi-cuisine coffee shop. The hotel also has a host of energizing spa and salon facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.