We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfectly acceptable hotel at an ok price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata to your Saves list
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 & 2, Little Russel Street, | Kolkata 700 071, India, Kolkata (Calcutta) 122001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“perfectly acceptable hotel at an ok price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you're looking for a good hotel at a decent price the Kenilworth will do but won't 'wow!'.

I found all the employees very helpful, the place has all the amenities you'll need and the rooms, as everywhere else, is clean.

Food and drink is surprisingly expensive and there are better and cheaper alternatives close by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback. The team at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata is delighted to have hosted your stay. We are among the most sought after hotels in Kolkata and are popular for our services standards. Your kind comments about the well appointed rooms, luxurious furnishings and amenities at the hotel are highly appreciated. At our property, guests can be in a rendezvous with global culinary culture through our offerings as we have an English Pub, Big Ben that brings alive the authentic Bristish culture along with The Marble Room which offers the best in Indian delicacies while our multi-cuisine restaurant, Aromas, ensures a mesmerizing dining experience with choicest beverages.

We have made a note of your concern regarding the pricing issue; however, we would like to inform you that our prices reflect our commitment towards unmatched services. Once again, we thank you for the review and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    156
    59
    7
    18
See reviews for
33
42
35
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Kenilworth is a nice enough hotel but while quite glamorous from the outside if you scratch beneath the surface and it is not quite as good as it likes to think it is – and definitely not in the luxury bracket it seeks to occupy.

We arrived on a booking made by a friend for two rooms, originally they had been booked to start on consecutive days but I had spoken to the hotel to change this to the same day and had email confirmation of the change. When we arrived the guy on reception, who was incompetent in most areas, had no record of the change. We asked to see someone senior and I showed her the email from the hotel to confirm details but while I was told “we believe you” I was made to feel like I was lying.

The utter chaos on reception meant it took some 20 minutes plus to check in and even then we were not given the “business class” room we had booked (and paid for). Our booking was for a kingsize bed but we had a standard double and exactly the same room as others who had paid 1000 rupees less than us per night.

We stayed during the India v England test match and on Day One the hotel was unable to cope with the numbers at breakfast. Then, and for the rest of the test, we cleared our own tables, found out where spare supplies of juice, cutlery and water were and helped ourselves and did the same for tea and coffee – not quite the level of service that you expect at the price. I know the numbers were unprecedented but after one day the hotel should have been able to work out a plan to cope (as our far cheaper hotel in Mumbai had done the previous week).

The food at breakfast was nice although I would not recommend eating at “Aromas’ in the evening – we tried and not only had dreadful service but also pretty nasty food. Food and drink is incredibly expensive too – a small beer costs more than at the Taj Bengal!

Rooms were clean and nicely decorated with a good range of TV channels. There was quite a lot of noise from about 4am in the room we stayed in but Kolkata is a busy city so I wasn’t surprised. The garden is nice to sit in but had functions on near enough every day when we were there – this is clearly where the hotel makes a lot of money (hence no conversion of the garden to a pool!)

Communal areas were also decent but I felt myself wishing that more effort had been put into service and providing value for money. I heard another guest getting very upset over the treatment a visiting family friend had received and I was not surprised. Laundry prices were very high too.

All in all an okay hotel but I would recommend staying elsewhere. It is not worth the high prices – and not a luxury hotel – and I ended up feeling ripped off as I didn’t get what I paid for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us. We regret that your experience with us was not as per the expectation. We appreciate that you identified some points of improvement in detail. We assure you that Kenilworth Hotels is among the top hotels in Kolkata. Incidences such as these are rare occurrences. Reviews praising our properties are a testament to our standards.

We understand that you had to face some serious inconveniences; it is always our earnest effort to make sure our guests are comfortable and happy during their stay with us. The management here has taken a note of the issues and is working towards resolving them to ensure a smooth service delivery. Once again, we thank you for the feedback.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you are looking for a comfortable stay during your trip to kolkata and if you are ready for pay around 5k per couple per night, then i would suggest to go for this hotel.

Good hotel with great location and with lots of open space. If you are lucky, then you might be able to see bollywood celebrity during your stay in hotel.

Open garden bar and resturant adds value to this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room near to exit on any floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank for your feedback. Kenilworth Kolkata is among the most sought after hotels in Kolkata, we are also counted among the best for our services standards. Another plus point is our vast open space that tends to create a relaxing atmosphere within the confines of the city. Also, our prices reflect our commitment to provide unmatched services and always keep customer before everything else. Once again, thank you for choosing us. We hope to welcome you again at Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I spent a night in the Kenilworth and found it adequate if nothing special.

The rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff friendly and the food acceptable, but I found the whole experience distinctly average. Given the relatively high prices you pay for rooms here, there are better value options in Kolkata.

I was not disappointed by the Kolkata, it was perfectly adequate, but at the price I think there is room for improvement.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that your stay with us was a comfortable one. However, we did note that you had a concern regarding high prices of the rooms. Our room tariffs are reflective of the services we provide, and amenities that are made available to our esteemed guests. We regret any inconvenience that might have been caused to you due to our tariff structure. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at our luxury hotel in Kolkata.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed on three separate nights during our stay in India. Rooms are comfortable, roomy and of a high standard. Restaurant has air conditioned indoor section and outside garden (under cover and under the stars sections). Food was reasonably priced but service was slow. Although cooked to order, there were only a couple of tables in use and it still took an age to be served. On our last night after a long road journey we were very disappointed to learn that it was a Muslim Festival and no alcohol was being served (though strangely they were happy to server pork chops!).
We did not have time to venture outside the hotel other than on our way out by car each day, but it seemed to be close to the main city centre attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback. We express our gratitude for identifying these areas of improvement. Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata is centrally located, caters to business travelers and tourists alike. Our services and restaurants cater to both local flavors and international cuisines. We have made a note of your concerns regarding slow service and would be conducting an investigation to identify the cause. Also, we would like you to know that our restaurants and bar do not serve alcohol on designated ‘dry-days’. Once again, thank you for choosing us. We hope to welcome you again at our property.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Had a written confirmation of my reservation. Just few hours when I was schedule to arrive into Kolkata was informed that they were unable to give me a room. When asked for a solution, the Manager - Sales and Marketing said "it was not the Hotel's fault", As a solution they offered a "Hotel" which on my personal enquiry from the locals found out to be a Guest House which has one caretaker. On arrival at the Hotel late in the night, i had to wait in the lobby and was then offered another hotel accommodation and when I was escorted there - it turned out to be shady, dingy outfit. After a day's work, unwell, tired and exhausted I took refuge in a colleagues hotel lobby, Please be very, very careful when dealing with this hotel, specially if you are a single woman travelling.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Sudha,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We regret the inconvenience caused to you and are disappointed to learn about the unpleasant experience. We have taken serious note of your concern and will thoroughly investigate it. The team at Kenilworth Kolkata, strives to make guest’s stay comfortable; however, we noticed that your experience with us was not as per the expectation, and we regret the same. Incidents such as the one experienced by you are extremely rare occurrence.

We assure you that a full-fledged investigation would be conducted to identify the points of concern. In order to address all your concerns, we request you to write to us via e-mail or call us on the numbers listed on our website and we will be happy to resolve your concerns.

Any lapse on part of the staff is regretted, we would like to sign-off with assurance that the staff would be educated on dealing such issues. Your feedback gives us a perspective to work towards the shortcomings, and provide better services to our guests. Once again, thank you for the review.


Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

review is long overdue .was there for the apicon 2012 at kolkatta. nice place very three and a half star ,clean , nice food .one major complaint ,i hope they corrected it by now. could never eat in peace at the lawns the crows hounded you in the mornings it was terrifying .they hadnt used the net.close to shopping areas by cab off course. not a bad place however .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We express our gratitude to you for staying at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata and for reviewing our luxury accommodation in Kolkata on TripAdvisor. The staff at our hotel takes every possible step to make guests satisfied. We are happy to learn that you found the rooms comfortable and hotel premises clean.

The food served in our restaurants, The Big Ben, Aromas and The Marble Room, add to the culinary experience of our guests with diverse cuisines. Our central location makes it easy for travelers to explore the major shopping and recreational hubs of Kolkata.

We would love to welcome you again with assurance of a pleasurable stay.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Address: 1 & 2, Little Russel Street, | Kolkata 700 071, India, Kolkata (Calcutta) 122001, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#9 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#11 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Kolkata is a 4-star luxury hotel located in the heart of the city. This family managed hotel goes back to the grand days of British Raj and, to this day, has an unmistakable colonial look and feel to it. The hotel comprises of exclusively decorated rooms and suites fully equipped with modern amenities. The in-house restaurants and banquet services cater to all tastes with their delectable range of local and international cuisines. The Big Ben relives the colonial days of Kolkata and is the city's only authentic British bar. Enjoy princely ambiance at the Marble Room serving traditional Indian fare. While Aromas is the hotel's 24-hour indoor & outdoor multi-cuisine coffee shop. The hotel also has a host of energizing spa and salon facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.