We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well up to standard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Save Saved
You added Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 & 2, Little Russel Street, | Kolkata 700 071, India, Kolkata (Calcutta) 122001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Wolverhampton, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Well up to standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A good hotel well up to 4 star standard. I had booked through the Internet and on arrival was upgraded to "a better room". This took about ten minutes but the room, of medium size, was very nice and very well equipped. The young men at reception seemed to get a bit flustered but a young woman receptionist quickly sorted out anything and everything. The hotel runs well, the restaurant's food was very good and the staff are polite, friendly and helpful. It is well situated for the average tourist. It's not the cheapest place around but its good if you can afford it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us on this prestigious platform. We are happy to learn that you found our services efficient and friendly. It inspires us to learn that our amenities were at par with your expectations.

At Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, we focus on making the stay of our guests comfortable with a blend of modern amenities and traditional hospitality. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we will look forward to serving you on your next trip to Kolkata.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    136
    49
    2
    11
See reviews for
29
35
32
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for about a couple of days... overall a nice hotel. Up to the standards. Rooms are clean. Bed comfortable for a nice sleep. Service was also good. Was not that happy with the food (I'm a pure veggie) ... found a little expensive too

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on this public platform. We are happy to learn that we were able to provide you with influential accomodation and friendly customer service. Our property includes exclusively decorated rooms combined with well dedicated customer service and mesmerizing dining facilities.

We appreciate the details you have highlighted through this review. Your suggestions help us to make your vacation more interesting and enjoyable while you are at Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata.

We hope you’ll consider us on your next visit to Kolkata.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We bought a group of 7 with us this time. All members were most impressed with:all aspects of the hotel. The service from staff was outstanding. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome, including making provision for extended hours to fit in with flights at awkward times. Quick and efficient service was provided when the use of wi-fi needed assistance.
The rooms were well appointed and clean. We enjoyed having rooms that overlooked the garden. Rooms were free of noise.
The food was excellent with plenty of variety. As a visitor to India it was much appreciated to have food labeled so we could take advantage of the excellent flavours. A good selection of fruit was also provided. We made use of the travel advisory service which was well placed inside the front door. We loved being close to such good shopping venues.
One suggestion: free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the garden, for a pleasant outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank the entire group for visiting Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata. We are much elated to know that you enjoyed your stay. Our rooms and suites are targeted towards providing awe-inspiring luxury to our guests. Thank you once again for mentioning the food at our multi-cuisine restaurant. It has been recognized a prodigious number of times for expressing culture through cuisine.

We appreciate the details in your review. As a matter of fact, your words have incorporated a new zeal in us to exceed your expectations time and again.

Looking forward to hosting you on all your future visits to Kolkata.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

On seeing the outside facade of the hotel, I got a bit nervous on entering the hotel. I was wondering how actually it would turn out to be. To my surprise, the rooms were very good, neat and clean. The bed was very comfortable and perfect for a good rest.

The best part about the hotel was that the food in the Aromas Cafe. The Buffet Dinner was excellent. Good Soup, Good Starters and Perfect Meal.

Check out took a very long time however. To my surprise, they only had one person attending the reception as well as cash counter at 8:30 am (which is the busiest hour for a check out at any hotel). Keep some time on hand while you make a check out !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

At the very outset, we thank you for choosing us on your trip to Kolkata. At Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, we focus on making the stay of our guests with our bespoke amenities. It was really wonderful to learn that the arrangements, personalized service and style of our accommodation were able render an awe-inspiring character to your stay. However, we deeply regret the delay in your checkout and assure you that it has been noted.

No matter whether you come for business or pleasure, we would like to host you on all your future visits to Kolkata and make your every moment with this preferred abode memorable.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Rooms are a little basic, could do with that extra spark but they're fine.

Staff were good, very attentive and polite.

Food was OK but a little pricey.

Good value hotel in the middle of town. Business center was good, we booked a small last minute meeting in the 'boardroom' and had a good sandwich selection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience at Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata on this public platform. We offer a luxurious blend of modern amenities and traditional hospitality.

Your feedback about our living spaces has been noted. We are more than happy to know that our business center and the services related to it lived up to your expectations.

Looking forward to welcome you once again as a treasured patron in the near future.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel after a long gap of 2-3 years for one day, one night on 12th Oct 2012. But the hotel, despite my protest, charged two days' tariff claiming that the room was retained from previous day against booking. This was a shocking incident never experienced before as earlier on I was a regular to this hotel during my business trips to Kolkata. All said, hotel has well appointed spacious rooms with good quality linen, toiletries & tea maker. The food & breakfast spread of hotel restaurant are of excellent quality with some very delectable items. Hotel is located at a convenient location in Central Kolkata. Hotel tariff, even corporate rates, are steep, as is common in all hotels of equivalent standard in Kolkata.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for being a regular guest at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata and sharing your review about our property. Besides, being at a very convenient location in Central Kolkata, we are a sought after hotel for our quality service and amenities par excellence. We are extremely delighted to learn that you found the food truly delectable and in-room facilities also lived up to your expectations. Reviews like yours always boost the morale of the team and we strive to offer even better hospitality.

The days are calculated based on the check-in and check-out time, as is the practice in the hospitality industry. Although it is never our intent to make our guests’ stay unpleasant, however we regret the discomfort caused.

We are grateful for your kind words and look forward to host you with a perfect stay experience.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had been to Kenilworth some 20 years ago. It was very quaint then. Now a new building has been built with all modern facilities. We found the staff very helpful and the food in one of their restaurant, 'Aromas' had reasonable amount of choices on their buffet breakfast and dinner.
The location too was good, near centre of the city

Room Tip: They have rooms where I understand that WiFi is free, otherwise you will have to pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review.

Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata is one of the premier hotels in the city of Kolkata. We maintain a high standard of personalized service and guest loyalty is our key driver. We pride ourselves with our superior quality and customer satisfaction rating. The property provides an experience of elegance as you encounter luxury like never before.

Once again, we appreciate the time and effort you have invested in this review. We hope to welcome you again at Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata Hotel
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia
Address: 1 & 2, Little Russel Street, | Kolkata 700 071, India, Kolkata (Calcutta) 122001, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#9 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Kolkata is a 4-star luxury hotel located in the heart of the city. This family managed hotel goes back to the grand days of British Raj and, to this day, has an unmistakable colonial look and feel to it. The hotel comprises of exclusively decorated rooms and suites fully equipped with modern amenities. The in-house restaurants and banquet services cater to all tastes with their delectable range of local and international cuisines. The Big Ben relives the colonial days of Kolkata and is the city's only authentic British bar. Enjoy princely ambiance at the Marble Room serving traditional Indian fare. While Aromas is the hotel's 24-hour indoor & outdoor multi-cuisine coffee shop. The hotel also has a host of energizing spa and salon facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.