We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location.. Awesome hospitality !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata to your Saves list
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 & 2, Little Russel Street, | Kolkata 700 071, India, Kolkata (Calcutta) 122001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 196 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect location.. Awesome hospitality !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

An excellent hotel where every guest is treated Special The hotel maintains a very high standard of proficiency, cleanliness and hospitality If you are looking for some real authentic Indian cusine then try the "Marble room". Hotel’s hygiene is maintained & rooms are simply too good. Restaurants have good quality tasty food. However I did not like the items in the menu because they are higly priced and are not worth of the money printed alongside in the menu.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, General Manager at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata. Ensuring comfort to our guests is of top priority to us. Receiving such wonderful feedback only reinforces our efforts to provide the very best in hospitality.

Once again, we greatly value your feedback and look forward to having you with us during your next visit to Kolkata.

Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    174
    62
    9
    18
See reviews for
38
44
36
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

An excellent hotel where every guest is treated Special

The hotel maintains a very high standard of proficiency, cleanliness and hospitality

If you are looking for some real authentic Indian cusine then try the "Marble room".

If you are looking for a luxirious stay in the old charm of the British Raj then opt for the Premium Club

The food is expensive but sumptious and quantities are large enough for two

The lobby and reception areas are comparitively small but are adequately made up by the friendly and helpfull attitute of the front desk staff.

The hotel boasts of a spa which consists of a fairly good gym and other facilities but these are expensive after the recent tie up with "Sohum".

In all a highly recommended property

Room Tip: Opt for one of the lawn facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, General Manager at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to receive your encouraging feedback and earnestly appreciate you taking out time to share on this public forum your pleasant stay experience with us. It is inspiring to note your positive opinion of our amenities and well crafted food menu.

We look forward to welcoming you in future and offering you a perfect stay again.

Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I have stayed in Kennilwoorth, Kolkata quite a no. of times. The Hotel is very clean, rooms are well furnished. The good thing about this Hotel is its buffet menu . It is reasonably priced and the spread is really good and with my experience of staying in other premier hotels in Kolkata, I have no hesitation in saying that it scores over others on this count. However
I did not like the items in the menu because they are higly priced and are not worth of the money printed alongside in the menu. The stay on all ocassions were comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, General Manager at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata!

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We are very grateful that you took the time to share your experience at our hotel on Tripadvisor. It is very heartening to know that you found our services to your satisfaction. We like to make sure that our guests are treated to the best of comfort during their time with us. In fact we like to take the concept of comfort to another level to include not only a homely style of service but also exclusively decorated rooms, delectable cuisines and a host of rejuvenating spa and salon facilities.

We once again thank you for your patronage and would love to serve you again on your next visit to the city.

Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Kenilworth is exceptional hotel to stay in Kolkata.
The services are too good & ambience is simply superb.
Hotel’s hygiene is maintained & rooms are simply too good.
Restaurants have good quality tasty food. OVerall goo.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are simply superb, irrespective of which side they are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, General Manager at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Kenilworth Hotels, Kolkata. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your kind comments regarding our rooms and food are appreciated. The hotel’s staff goes that extra mile to ensure that guests are treated to a smooth and hassle-free stay, thank you for acknowledging our efforts!

It would be delightful to host you again, rest assured of the very best in hospitality at all times!

Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I have been using this hotel for years now - whenever I'm in Kolkata - India. The staff especially the ones who have been there for a while, remember you. A couple of them at front desk have not forgotten me over the years!! I told one of them on my visit late last month that I wish there was a "Kenilworth" in all the Indian cities I visit for my business!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, General Manager at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We believe in offering all our cherished guests a ‘home away home’ experience and a feedback like yours only strengthens our endeavors.

We once express our heartfelt gratitude for your kind comments and look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Kolkata.

Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

With a most deceptive entrance, the lobby just opens up another world that makes any business traveler completely warm and welcome in an instance.

The hotel has a great staff and the reservation desk gives you very good deals. Considering that I was staying for 3 nights over the weekend they gave me almost a 30% off on the regular prices, and said that it wouldn't change if it were a double occupancy.

The quality of food from room service is surprisingly good, considering that I even tried a couple of Continental Dishes.

The restaurants and pub on premise are also a great way to relax, although park street is just around the corner.

The location, as mentioned being just off Park street, is another great boon.

Even if you wish to stay in Kolkata as part of your vacation, I would highly recommend this place.

This is considering my past experience of hotels who attract you with tariffs of 3.5 to 4K but are very shabby in appearance and service.

Room Tip: The regular deluxe room is itself comfortable enough for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, General Manager at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. It is encouraging to know we were able to meet your expectations and could assist in making your stay experience as enjoyable as possible. Your generous feedback about the ambience and quality of service is sincerely appreciated; the team here has received your kind comments with gratitude.

Once again, we thank you for taking out time to write about your satisfaction with our service and staff. We look forward to hosting you again during your next trip to Kolkata and assure you of an equally refreshing and thoroughly enjoyable stay experience.

Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The Hotel is in the city centre that is the only advantage , Internet was not working but they charged me for it . NO Bengali cusine avalable . Very costly not moneys worth.
Rooms are wel furnished. Service average, though the staff tries to be of help but is not in a position to help reason not know

Room Tip: If get a chance find another hotel , the rate and the facility of the hotel do not match not advised...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, General Manager at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata. It is disappointing to note your discontent with our food and beverage services.

We regret that you had a less than pleasant stay experience with us. We are keen to make amendments for the shortcomings you faced and assure you of a much improved experience in the future.

Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Address: 1 & 2, Little Russel Street, | Kolkata 700 071, India, Kolkata (Calcutta) 122001, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#7 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#10 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Kolkata is a 4-star luxury hotel located in the heart of the city. This family managed hotel goes back to the grand days of British Raj and, to this day, has an unmistakable colonial look and feel to it. The hotel comprises of exclusively decorated rooms and suites fully equipped with modern amenities. The in-house restaurants and banquet services cater to all tastes with their delectable range of local and international cuisines. The Big Ben relives the colonial days of Kolkata and is the city's only authentic British bar. Enjoy princely ambiance at the Marble Room serving traditional Indian fare. While Aromas is the hotel's 24-hour indoor & outdoor multi-cuisine coffee shop. The hotel also has a host of energizing spa and salon facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.