We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price/ Chinese or Indian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barbeque

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Barbeque
34B, Taj Bengal Belvedere Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700027, India
033 - 22233939
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 1,356 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Arcadia, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Reasonable price/ Chinese or Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Situated in the heart fo Park St, Kolkata's equivalent of NY's Times Sq. A full bar and a choice of both Indian (Mughlai/North India) and Indian-style Chinese food, makes this an ideal place to eat. Good for both lunch and dinner.
The food is above average, the price reasonable, and the service is good, though the tables are set very close to each other. Good for groups, but not so good for romantic couples.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Favorite place in Calcutta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

The Indian food is honestly some of the best I have ever had. The location on Park Lane is great. In one week we ate there three times :)

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude waiters with a culture JUST not acceptable for the service industry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I have had a terrible experience very recently at this restaurant and it had nothing to do with the food but only with the basic culture and behavior of the stewards. They do not care about guests and are impolite to the extent of driving guests away. I am sorry but this place is not that special that it warrants to tolerate the attitude of the stewards (Especially Mr.Peter and Mr.Chow)

I do not wish to go into details of the unpleasant experience but would only like to say that I will never recommend this restaurant to any one , ensure as much as I can that people do not visit this place and as a member of the F.H.R.A.I. (Federation of Hotels & Restaurants Association of India) seriously question their membership status !!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Dont Care Attitude of Stewards”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We visited Barbecue on 15th January, 2012. Being a weekend there was a waiting and we waited for 30 Minutes which wa acceptable. On our turn we were given a table on the first mezanine floor (Table 54) which was like an ante room with poor ambience. Above all the Sofa was torn.

We also noticed that guest who arrived after us were given a table on the main floor. We were 3 and the table was for 5. I spoke to Mr Peter the steward (Rude and Impolite) who was handling our table for us and was in for the most shocking experience. I requested for a better table as the guests who came in later were given preference over us and we were waiting for over 30 minutes. He refused to agree that the sofa was torn and did not want to see the table in person, did not want to change our table and upon persisitence termed the entire event as our fault on having selected the first floor table. Upon suggesting that we would write a complaint, he had a "do not care" attitude and suggested that we could go up to the owner if at all he cared. We left Barbecue upon being treated as though we were in a refugee camp with a "take it or leave it" attitude. We shall never visit this place again and suggest others to be careful with the risk of being treated in a shoddy and totally unacceptable manner. There are various other options on Park Street.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Located on Park street, it's pretty central to Kolkata. Great Chinese food. Portion are big. Plan on sharing. You don't have to get one dish per person. Definitely too much food. Service is good too. If you are tired of eating Indian food, this is a great place to go.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbeque also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 

Been to Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.