We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay at HHI” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata to your Saves list
Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   235 / 1 AJC Bose Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay at HHI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at HHI for a business trip for 2 nights. The room was rear facing so the view was not good but the room itself was spacious and clean, as was the toilet. Breakfast spread is large and very good. I also made use of the steam and sauna where the staff is very helpful. I had the buffet dinner which again had a lot of variety and was excellent. Staff is friendly. Would go again.

Room Tip: Choose a front facing room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhihotels, Manager at Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Sir

Greetings from HHI Kolkata!!!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable suggestions. Sir, i can assure you that we can meet up to your expectations on your next visit to the hotel.

We look forward in welcoming you back!!!

Regards
Bhaskar Mallick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    147
    103
    50
    29
See reviews for
58
30
59
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was a visit with freinds over 2 nights three days to Kolkatta for the Invitation weekend.
the HHI is located in the city center and basically very approachable from all corners of the city.

the hotel offers excellent rooms as per your budget and interlinked facility like buffet breakfast , lots of food varieties to choose from , lounge , bar, restaurant, disco & pub.

overall a fun place to be in for leisure.

Room Tip: Rooms across all categories are pretty good so please choose the best as per your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhihotels, Manager at Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Sir

Greetings from HHI Kolkata!!!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable suggestions. Sir, i can assure you that we can meet up to your expectations on your next visit to the hotel.

We look forward in welcoming you back!!!

Regards
Bhaskar Mallick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalter, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Overall evaluation: good hotel, with all necessary facilities
Minus: room look old fasioned and there is need for restyling, swimming pool less clean than expected
Positive: friendly personnel, food very good

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhihotels, Manager at Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Sir

Greetings from HHI Kolkata!!!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable suggestions. Sir, i can assure you that we can meet up to your expectations on your next visit to the hotel.

We look forward in welcoming you back!!!

Regards
Bhaskar Mallick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

It is rightly said "for every customer who complains there are another 100 who do not". Although I do not want to sound like a cry baby, I think by sharing my experience, others can take a discerning decision before they choose to stay at the HHI

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and would.like.to.share the good, bad and the ugly. Lets begin with the good:
1.extremely responsive staff
2.good wifi connectivity inside the room
3.nice breakfast spread
4.hot water in abundance

The bad:
1. The buffet dinner at the Mytth restsurant
2. Linen & towels have passed their 'best before' dates
3. Filthy lamp shades
4.Empty mini bar

The Ugly:
1.There is no wardrobe in the room. HHI has actually converted a window in one corner of the room into a window sized wardrobe.
2.on the first day the air conditioning was not functioning. The maintenance staff detected it as a clogged filter. The filter looked as though it had not been cleaned for years. So much for preventive maintenance.
3.the clothes hanger in the batroom had become very loose. So if you would hang your clothes, it would fall on to the wet floor.
4.the AC switches were filthy and have turned black
5.No room slippers were provided
6.The flush lever seemed a bit weird to operate as you needed to press it into the wall.
7.unbranded chinese LCD TV had very poor reception
8.metal edges sticking out of breakfast tables at the Mytth.


Well I could go on and on, but the idea of writing this piece is not to run down HHI but to be optimistic that they take the required actions so that customers ecperience delight....5 star delight.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhihotels, Manager at Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Greetings from HHI Kolkata!!!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable suggestions. Sir, i can assure you that the management has taken this up seriously and your inputs have been shared with F&B,House keeping & Front Office department to ensure that we can meet up to your expectations on your next visit to the hotel.

We look forward in welcoming you back!!!

Regards
Bhaskar Mallick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Positive points: Centrally located, though takes about an hour or more drive from the airport consiering the traffic. Leave well in time to beat the traffic. Check in is smooth and check out is very smooth. Rooms are well maintained, though it feels old. Linen is changed every day. Water bottles are available sufficiently.
Minus points: Small items could have been taken care of - like fruits provided but no fruit knife. Material for polishing the shoes, bathroom wear slippers could have been provided (bath robe is provided). The mini bar was empty.
For a short business stay this is a good place. Food is also good.

Room Tip: Nothing special to add here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhihotels, Manager at Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Sir

Greetings from HHI Kolkata!!!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable suggestions. Sir, i can assure you that we can meet up to your expectations on your next visit to the hotel.

We look forward in welcoming you back!!!

Regards
Bhaskar Mallick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My stay at The Hindusthan was described best in three words, Convenience, Comfortable and Charming. For starters my office was in the Lansdowne area which is very close to the hotel, the office car would get me picked up and in the mornings I would reach my work place in a jiffy. In the evening it would take a little longer as the AJC Bose road is one of the busiest roads. I ve stayed in other properties around the city but thanks to the legendary Kolkata traffic this hotel is the most convenient to me.

My stay was comfortable as the room was decent size and the bed was comfortable. I could enjoy sound sleep and the rooms were equiped with all the creature comforts that a business traveller would expect. Though i felt that they could have placed a shoe horn and a channel list for the television. The latter i got once i called up the help desk quite promptly. the staff were helpful and friendly.

The hotel has a lot of charm about it, the rooms are clean and comfortable, not the newest but still well maintained. I rather prefer a slightly traditional decur compared to the straight line cookie cutters that most new hotels have.

Room Tip: The 8th floor colony rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We always use The HHI regularly for our guests to stay. The rooms are good matched by equally good services. The hotels location is its biggest plus for us as its close to our residence and office. The staff always give us a homely feeling and since being a regular here we have grown to like them a lot. We are particularly fond of its night club the Underground. Saturdays are really happening with really good house and Bollywood music. Nothing like a good meal after partying at the Mythh coffee shop round about midnight, or post. I feel the hotel is not too heavy on the wallet for what it has to offer and for us is one of our favorites in the city. Too many good times attached to this property. would certainly recommend anyone from staying here.

Room Tip: rooms on weekends are a little cheaper ask for a discount when booking over the phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata

Address: 235 / 1 AJC Bose Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HHI Kolkata needs no introduction, yet a walk into the place might make you wonder if you have reached a wrong destination. An overhauled new property, a premium fascia and a new-look lobby, welcome you into a whole new world. At every turn you discover a new face of your well-versed hotel. From the well-groomed staff to the friendly new outlets like the health-club or the swimming pool, everything throws a vibe of warmth around and reflects a sense of trendy living that enchants guests from world over. Ideally located in the center of the city, the hotel offers more than just good lodging. No wonder it is the preferred choice for fairy-tale weddings as much as for corporate power-talks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hindustan International Kolkata
Hotel Hindustan International
Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.