We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HERITAGE TOUR” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata to your Saves list
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1, 2 & 3, Old Court House Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700069, India (Formerly Great Eastern Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 191 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
“HERITAGE TOUR”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Few weeks back me and my friend Mitu went to see our very own Lalit Great Eastern, being a hotelier myself and with kolkata origin i was very excited to see the amazingly renovated Great Eastern Hotel.. Really felt nice to see Lalit Great Eastern.. And Specially want to mention Mr Arpan Bhattacharya's name for the excellent Hertigae Tour given to us.. His knowledge, passion and dedication towards his work and the property amazed both of us.Keep up the good work..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RakeshMitra, General Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you very much for visiting The Lalit Great Eastern. We really appreciate you taking time out to share your valuable feedback. Its heart warming to be appreciated and recognized for the legacy, We are pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the heritage tour around the hotel.
I would like to thank you again for your overwhelming feedback. Your review and appreciation for our services has been conveyed to all of our tram members. We at The Lalit Great Eastern are pleased to read your gracious compliments. We look forward to welcome you back at The Lalit Great Eastern soon!

Warm regards
Rakesh Mitra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    19
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
4
11
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kolkata
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

I went to the bakery and had fish n chips..it was awesome...I was curious to know how it was made, so I meet the chef, his name was dipak.he was vry gentle and nice.i lyked da way they treat their guests.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RakeshMitra, General Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you very much for visiting The Lalit Great Eastern. We really appreciate you taking time out to share your valuable feedback. Its heart warming to be appreciated and recognized for our services and food at The Bakery.
I would like to thank you again for your overwhelming feedback. Your review and appreciation for our services has been conveyed to all of our tram members. We at The Lalit Great Eastern are pleased to read your gracious compliments. We look forward to welcome you back at The Lalit Great Eastern soon!

Warm regards
Rakesh Mitra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Lalit Great Eastern - an example of quintessential worldly class.

Restored and renovated beautifully The Lalit Great Eastern stands tall in the hustle and bustle of kolkata wih gradeur and grace. The lobby projects state of the art luxury with the presence of the grand piano aged 150 years. The colonial architechture of the hotels gave us a feeling of the old world charm. The lunch at Alfresco offered a great view with world class buffet spread. The rooms are spacious and accomodating. The legacy tower rooms draws us back to the British Raj with 110 years old spriral staircase, 8 feet tall cup with iron pillars adds to the strong history of the property. The rejuve spa offers traditional therapy suits and a couple treatment room with a unique of a kind aqua bed- which was amazing. The Bakery takes you back to the olden days of 1840’s where the original bakery machine and the oven are restored.
The staffs are really helpful and very informative, the food taste is apt for a five star hotel, the service of the restuarants and bars are pleasant and helpful.
Overall The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata offers stately and accommodating rooms with pleasant service. It is a new hotel with the oldest hospitality and as they say ‘the name has changed not the tradition of hospitality.” A must visit for all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RakeshMitra, General Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with The Lalit Great Eastern. We really appreciate you taking time out to write such kind words. The Lalit Great Eastern has withstood 7 years of extensive restoration and renovation which is a labour of love and hard-work. Its heart-warming to be appreciated and recognized for the legacy, The Lalit Suri Hospitality Group has successfully reinstated in The Lalit Great Eastern.

Each element in this iconic property has its own history. We appreciate your eye for details and love of history. The Heritage Block I, where many a famous personalities, like, Queen Elizabeth II, Mark Twain, Mahatma Gandhi etc, stayed, will be ready by the end of this year. That’s another fascinating part of history we are in the process of restoring and would love to have you again to witness another era of history unfolding.

I would like to thank you again for your overwhelming feedback. Your review and appreciation for our Food and Beverage team has been conveyed to all, who are pleased to read your gracious compliments. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at The Lalit Great Eastern soon.

Warm regards
Rakesh Mitra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I was in kol for a very sort span of time just for 02 days & was not able to avail all the services at the hotel ,but been travelled world wide i feel that a hotel can only be completed with exceptional services along with the infrastructure.The moment i reached the main porch of the hotel felt that have reached home the smiling face of the main door person ,along with the secuirty personal ,was very well escorted toward the lobby/reception were i was over whelmed by the response from the ladies in saree & the escorted towards the room along with the detailed info about the hotel.Wow.Breakfast was too good & also i would like to thank you guys at the bakery .WoW u guys are great .

In a nut shell i can only say guys just keep up the good work & best of luck .

Cheers

Room Tip: Old is Gold & beatifull & WOW rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RakeshMitra, General Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay at The Lalit Great Eastern.. We are delighted to know that you were impressed with all aspects of your stay. Thank you very much for the kind, appreciative and motivating words written for us.Your positive, detailed and informative review is much appreciated.

Its heart warming to be appreciated and recognized for the legacy, The Lalit Suri Hospitality Group has successfully reinstated in The Lalit Great Eastern. It took 7 long years to restore the labour of love. Our staff is trained as per brand standard of The Lalit Suri Hospitality Group and are skilled to make guests comfortable and at ease instantly.

Thank once again for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Lalit Great Eastern soon!

Warm regards
Rakesh Mitra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

As a little girl ,I had always heard my father praise, The Great Eastern Hotel and how all his foreign buyers who stayed there would be very impressed with the City because , where and how one stays in a new city makes or breaks your impression of the same. Then of course the Hotel with all its grandeur deteriorated and whenever I would pass by I would be surprised at the utter waste of space on one of the busiest roads of Kolkata, so I was very happy with the news that the Hotel was taken over by The Lalit group to be redone to reclaim its past glory.
We stayed at the hotel for one night and found it to be a experience of living in history, because although the hotel has been revamped to its Modern look, there are glimpses of the old charm like the spiral staircase and the huge iron pillars along with the some of the old ornate furniture. The highlight of the lobby is the piano which is one of the oldest in the world as informed to us by the hotel staff, who was very passionately showing us around the Hotel. The location is excellent, as it is easily connected to the entire city.The food at the Alfresco n was to die for! Overall the experience was elevating, exciting and I would love to go back again...!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are big and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RakeshMitra, General Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with The Lalit Great Eastern. We really appreciate you taking time out to write such kind words. The Lalit Great Eastern has withstood 7 years of extensive restoration and renovation which is a labour of love and hard-work. Its heart-warming to be appreciated and recognized for the legacy, The Lalit Suri Hospitality Group has successfully reinstated in The Lalit Great Eastern.

Each element in this iconic property has its own history. We appreciate your eye for details and love of history. The Heritage Block I, where many a famous personalities, like, Queen Elizabeth II, Mark Twain, Mahatma Gandhi etc, stayed, will be ready by the end of this year. That’s another fascinating part of history we are in the process of restoring and would love to have you again to witness another era of history unfolding.

I would like to thank you again for your overwhelming feedback. Your review and appreciation for our Food and Beverage team has been conveyed to all, who are pleased to read your gracious compliments. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at The Lalit Great Eastern soon.

Warm regards
Rakesh Mitra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

The Drinks @ the Wilson's bar are reasonably priced and have a variety of cocktails. The Dinner @ the Alfressco was very well portioned and the service is quick .
Their signature fresh lime & mushroom cappuccino -A MUST TRY !!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RakeshMitra, General Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,


Namaskar!

Thank you for visiting The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata. We appreciate you taking time out to review your experience at The Lalit Great Eastern. We at The Lalit Great Eastern are delighted with your words of appreciation. Your valuable feedback is of utmost importance to us. It is these motivating words from our esteemed and valued guests like you that gives us an opportunity to go extra miles and enhance and refine our processes to achieve customer delight. The Lalit Suri Hospitality is known for its high brand standards especially in Food and Beverage. At The Lalit Great Eastern with 4 F& B outlets ( Alfresco – 24 hours coffee shop, Tea Lounge, Wilson’s and the iconic- The Bakery) we have tried to reflect our highest brand standard just not in food but also in service. We would soon be coming up with our signature restaurant – Baluchi, Maxim’s – the legendary bar and the nightclub – Kitty Su.
I would like to thank you again for your overwhelming feedback. Your review and appreciation for our services has been conveyed to all. We at The Lalit Great Eastern are pleased to read your gracious compliments. We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Rakesh Mitra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

me and my friends went to the lalit great eastern kolkata , for a sunday dinner,we were very impressed with the food quality,not only taste but portioning was very good,service was just apt as per five star standards,ambience was great with modern and contemporary furnishings,the wilson bar was a great place to start the evening for drinks,the kolkata property surely matches its sister concerns in other cities .thank you for the hospitality @lalit great eastern :)

Room Tip: hotel location is great just like its delhi branch ,, a good number of eating joints are right outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RakeshMitra, General Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank you for choosing The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata. We really appreciate you taking time to write a review on your experience at our property. Its only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests. We are happy to know that you and your friends had a great evening at The Lalit Great Eastern. We are grateful that you found our services measuring up to your satisfaction. Such motivating words from our esteemed and valued guests like you, that give us an opportunity to go extra miles and enhance and refine our processes to achieve customer delight.
The Lalit Suri Hospitality is known for its high brand standards especially in Food and Beverage. At The Lalit Great Eastern with 4 F& B outlets ( Alfresco – 24 hours coffee shop, Tea Lounge, Wilson’s and the iconic- The Bakery) we have tried to reflect our highest brand standard just not in food but also in service. We would soon be coming up with our signature restaurant – Baluchi, Maxim’s – the legendary bar and the nightclub – Kitty Su.
I would like to thank you again for your overwhelming feedback. Your review and appreciation for our services has been conveyed to all. We at The Lalit Great Eastern are pleased to read your gracious compliments. We look forward to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata

Address: 1, 2 & 3, Old Court House Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700069, India (Formerly Great Eastern Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#6 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asia's first luxury hotel, The Lalit Great Eastern is a heritage landmark located in the main business and shopping district of Kolkata. Restored and renovated over a period of seven years, the hotel holds the distinction of being the longest continuously operating hotel for 165 years. Built in 1841 as Auckland Hotel, it has been referred to as the 'Jewel of the East' and the 'Best Hotel East of the Suez'. Over the years, the hotel has been the favourite haunt of royalty and celebrities from across the world. The Lalit Great Eastern, now restored to its original glory, is an amalgamation of the styles of 3 different eras of history - Victorian, Edwardian and Contemporary, reflected in Heritage Block 1, Heritage Block 2 and the New Block respectively. The original Heritage Block radiates the charm of the British Colonial Era, while the Modern Block incorporates a contemporary look and feel. These blocks have been seamlessly connected despite their distinct character and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.