We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place to stay in Kolkata” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bawa Walson

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Bawa Walson
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5A Sudder Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India (Formerly Shilton Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ok place to stay in Kolkata”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The good points:
- very convenient location in
Sudder st
- set back from road is pretty quiet
- wifi in room 24/7 for free
- breakfast incl in tariff
- clean room, good bed, good shower/bathroom

Other points
- no real atmosphere
- relatively disinterested staff
- wouldn't pay for the breakfast

Would probably categorize as good (ie between Trip Advisor categories Average and Very Good)
- feel you pay a fair price for what you get.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOST31, Director of Sales at Bawa Walson, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hotel Bawa hotels ! Thank You for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the time you have taken to review our Hotel & the Tip you have given to Business Traveller's. Looking Forward for a chance to serve you again in the future.

Regards
Aniket Nadkarni
Corp Manager sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    61
    37
    23
    12
See reviews for
23
30
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I actually stayed in two rooms in this hotel as I went to the Sundarbans in the middle. The rooms on the ground floor are dark and pokey - avoid - but they soon moved me upstairs to a much nicer room with comfortable bed and excellent bathroom. I had the standard 'deluxe' room which had everything I needed with great shower. It was clean for India, maybe the floor needed a really good wash but otherwise up to scratch.
Breakfast buffet was good and varied, staff were fine and not overbearing. They also let me check in early which was hugely appreciated. The Sudder Street location is perfect and as it's set back slightly off the road, it isn't noisy. WiFi works very well but needs to be installed in ALL the rooms to make it more convenient. Despite this will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms as they're very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOST31, Director of Sales at Bawa Walson, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Thank you so much for your feedback on Trip adviser , i would surly pass your comments to my Team , looking forward to well-come you again in Bawa walson


Warm Regards
Aniket Nadkarni
Corp Manager sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is expensive considering the location with slightly small rooms even though we stayed in a deluxe room. The bathroom was good, clean, good design and with a quality shower.
The food in the restaurant is good for dinner but the breakfast is awful. The restaurant staff are not great, slow to serve and more interested in watching tv - I did make reception aware of this. The spa is not included on the price and has to be accessed via the restaurant. There is no pool. Location wise it is a short walk to Park Street and the museum (which is awful and a waste of time) On the whole, average and overpriced hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOST31, Director of Sales at Bawa Walson, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out to write Review for Bawa Walson on Trip Adviser, Bawa walson Rooms even Executive Rooms are even bigger 150 sq ft as per stranded Hotel requires only 130 sq ft , we have noted about Breakfast and you will surly see improvement your next visit
We have spa packages next time on your visit do ask front office or reservation to book on spa package , swimming pool are in f star hotels our hotel Boutique spa o tel ,

Regards
Aniket Nadkarni
Corp Manager sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tezpur, Assam
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for a night in May 2012. Overall a good experience as the room was nice. Bathroom was clean and had good fittings. Most importantly it is in a very good location. The new market, park street etc are within minutes. It has a nice restaurant also. The food is OK.
Will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOST31, Director of Sales at Bawa Walson, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest ,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback about Bawa Walson , we are glad you liked everything about our Property and service and location ,

Looking forward to well-come you again

Regards
Aniket Nadkarni
Corp Manger sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are so small that I got claustrophobic n had to check out the next day. It's disgusting n I would never recommend anyone to stay here. The staff is nice but what can they do about the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOST31, Director of Sales at Bawa Walson, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Bawa Waslon rooms are bigger rooms Hotel in Kolkatta our Executive Room which is base category room is even 120 sq ft + Bawa Walson is Centralisd Aircondition Hotel if you was feeling Claustrophobic in our room if you inform out Front desk they would have shift you in other room immeditaly ,

Bawa Group of Hotels are wellknown for our Hospitality in india and abrod

do vist again

Regards
Aniket Nadkarni
Corp manager sales & Marketing
Bawa Group Of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is our 5th stay at this hotel. The first time we came here 2 years ago, they had just started a few months back. They just had the restaurant, lobby and rooms finished. No elevator or other facilities were there.

Our last visit in February was tje worst, as they were doing a paint job and also installing the elevator, which made the whole common area very messy.

However, returning this time round, we are definitely impressed! Even the Spa is finished! Awesome! Keep it up guys, and hope to see you again when we come to Kolkata again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOST31, Director of Sales at Bawa Walson, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest
Thanks a million for your favorable review for Bawa Walson ,
Will pass on your comments and regards to Bawa Walson Team ,
Looking forward to welcome you again
Regards
Aniket Nadkarni
Corp Manger sales & marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

the reasons why to choose Bawa Walson for Kolkata stay-
1. Almost all tourist attractions are nearby... victoria, maidan, park street
2.Easy access to metro.. Rabindra sadan, kalighat temple, shyam bazar/baghbazar(for shopping of calcutta spl cotton Tant sarees)
3. new market is at walkable distance where shopping is a loving experience..
4. Sealdah railway station, dam dam airport accessible by taxies which u get just outside the gate of hotel.
5. Excellent food quality with wide variety
6. absolutely spotless clean rooms and washrooms with all modern amenities
7. And vry imp, when you get into your room you can have utmost privacy and nice leisure time
what else can we expect?? its my personal opinion that this hotel proves to be best choice when compared to other 3stat hotels in that area.
It was a lovely visit to kolkata with my wife.. Bawa Walson made it even more memorable..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOST31, Director of Sales at Bawa Walson, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Mr Ajay ,
We are overwhelmed with your such a positive feedback you have posted on Trip advisor, you have described our Hotel and Kolkatta in actual true way ,
Thanks a million and looking forward to welcome you again
Regards
Aniket Nadkarni
Corp Manager Sales & Marketing
Bawa Group Of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bawa Walson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bawa Walson

Also Known As:
Bawa Walson Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Bawa Walson Hotel
Bawa Walson India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia
Address: 5A Sudder Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India (Formerly Shilton Hotel)
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 185 hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bawa Walson 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bawa Walson known as erstwhile Walson Hotel, the newly refurbished Bawa Walson Spa o Tel, Opened its doors to the indulgence seeking populace on 1st Sept 2010 in the citys central districts such as park street and the new market, make it a sought after location to be in.The Vibrance & The exuberance of the city are at an arms reach as mojor shopping markets, cinema hall , the Victoria Memorial and uderground Metro network and Famous Hawarah station and Corporate sector in Park Street all situated in the vicinityThis Makes the hotel an ideal place of Convenience and indulgence both for business travelers and tourist.The Rooms are equipped with all the modern amenities and are luxuriously furnished o allow the patrons to sink into Leisurely & Delightful stay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Fastbooking, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, MakeMyTrip, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Bawa Walson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bawa Walson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bawa Walson to your Saves list