We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLUB LIKE ATMOSPHERE IN A HERITAGE HOTEL!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swiss Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Swiss Hotel
Save
You added The Swiss Hotel to your Saves list
15/A Gandhi Road, Darjeeling 734101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Darjeeling
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“CLUB LIKE ATMOSPHERE IN A HERITAGE HOTEL!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed two days as a Doctors family and friends group of Nine persons in Swiss Hotel, Darjeeling, booked through ITDC,in January 2012. In our entire trip of Sikkim and Hills stations of W Bengal this was the last stop and surprisingly one of the very good and relaxing Place in Darjeeling. The Manager Mr Uttam , was extremely proactive, courteous and looked after all of us as a family. He made us comfortable and given me two room heaters( a large two room accommodation) to keep ourselves warm in the biting cold of winter.Electricity Load factor was tripping the MCB repeatedly in nights leaving us shivering before it is again switched on, Something electrical should be redone for this. The food was not only delicious, sumptuous and fresh , but always very hot and served with lot of personal touch by the dinning hall staff.I do recommend for a comfortable stay. The Icing on the cake was, we packed lunch for all of us on return journey to Bagdogra. The central location is another hall mark of this Hotel.

Room Tip: In Winter make sure Heaters are on in large ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    29
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
19
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Swiss hotel is just not merely a hotel or resort..it is the old flavour of Darjeeling dated back to 1913 which has been judiciously preserved by the authority.The rooms are quite specious,the crew could not be better and the food is surprisingly tasty.I had spent two days in this vintage property and i can say Thanks to my Wife who actually suggested this place for our Honeymoon.It has an Unbelievable view of the mighty Kanchendjongha which i feel itself can be the USP for any tourist attraction.
They have also developed an initiative to conserve old entities like Clock,photograph,a visitors diary during the 2nd World War etc to make your stay more than a stay.
Please visit this property and i can vouch that the crew of Mr Uttam Paul(the Manager) and himself will not let you down.

Room Tip: Jamling Norgay Room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

its a lovely hotel, nestled in a rocky ledge, about 5 mins walk from the clock tower. nice rooms, wooden floors, a fire place that kept us warm, and magnifcient views of kanchendzonga from the suite window...made our stay memorable. we stayed there for two nights, from 12 to 14 th january, when darjeeling was shivering in icy subzero, and a truant leopard was playing pranks!! but trust me, winter is the best time to visit the mountains, when u can enjoy the grandeur of himalayas in solitude. the staff was very nice and helpful..especially uttam the manager , who is always smiling and ready to help. he gave us a healthy winter discount, and made us feel at home...a perfect host!!! i will definitely come back, and recommend the swiss hotel to all my buddies!! its a rarity these days to be treated as guests, and not customers...

Room Tip: tenzing norgay suite...best one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We visit Darjeeling almost every year and this time we stayed at Swiss Hotel. It was a lovely experience. the location of the hotel is not far from the mall yet the surroundings are calm quite and serene. The small lawn adjacent to reception area and cottages are really a bonus as this is something rare in Darjeeling. If the weather is clear one can get a beautiful view of the Kanchenjunga from almost all the rooms/cottages of the hotel.
Rooms are clean, well furnished and specious. Service is excellent. Stuffs are extremely helpful and cordial. A special thanks to Mr Uttam Pal. His hospitality, careful attention and help made our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed along with my family in this Hotel (KABRU Cottage) from 26-12-2012 to 29-12-2012. The location of the cottages in this hotel is excellent.From cottage window we used to see Kaqnchanjangha clearly. I have to appreciate the Room, cleanness of the room and toilets,
room service and quality of foods. Mr. Uttam, Manager of the hotel is very much co-operative, helpful and always available with smiling face even in the odd hours. Our tour was excellent and very pleasant because of the stay at the Swiss Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed in Tenjing Norgey suite & Jamling Norgey room between 13/11/2012 and 15/11/2012. Very nice view of Kanchenjanga from both the rooms. Very nice, good & friendly people out there. Everybody is helping. All the tour needs are taken care of. And most important - food. They serve sumptuous, tasty food. Nice place stay. Also they are part of helptourism. - Indrajit Ray

Room Tip: Tenjing Norgey Suite, Jamling Norgey Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gangtok
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed in Swiss Hotel for 2 nights during Hermonites reunion of Mount Hermon School, Darjeeling and I no words to express my gratitude to Siddarth Pradhan, Uttamji and their team who served us hot food even at 2 am. The place was alive through out the night and there was not a sigh from the hardworking staff.
The rooms are good and comfortable. On request hot air blowers and iron were provided in all the rooms. The parking is ample for a couple of vehicles.
Just two requests :
Have a direction signboard on the main road from where we have to go down towards circuit house and another one where the road diverts towards the hotel and circuit house
Have more charging points in the rooms as in this era of technology everyone has laptops, mobiles and so on and so forth.
Over all it was a nostalgic stay there with the comfort of a heritage structures.

Room Tip: Take the cottage rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swiss Hotel

Address: 15/A Gandhi Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swiss Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.