We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah, Viceroy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Viceroy Hotel to your Saves list
Viceroy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17, Gandhi Road, Darjeeling 734101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 79 Hotels in Darjeeling
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ah, Viceroy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Ah, Viceroy, perhaps one of the finest hotels in Darjeeling. There are many charming features of this hotel and the food is excellent (it is very difficult to find good Indian food in Darjeeling). But one unfortunate thing is that they follow the odious trend of playing Muzak in the lobby (for those unfamiliar with the term Muzak, it means that insipid pseudo music one usually encounters in such places as elevators, dentist waiting rooms, etc.). Many of the 'higher end' hotels in India follow this custom, undoubtedly they've been taught this in hotel management school, and they even all have exactly the same CD of this horrid stuff (you'll hear the Muzak version of the theme from Titanic again and again and again). In the case of Viceroy they play this stuff at such a volume that it can even be heard in the room and will invade your dreams even. Also, one has to go to the lobby to use wifi, unlike the horrible soundtrack the wifi signal will not reach the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    53
    31
    15
    16
See reviews for
64
46
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nether Heyford
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have just stayed here for 3 nights and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was cleaned daily and all toiletries replenished daily.

We had a package that included breakfast and dinner. We have to say the food was excellent.

Our biggest gripes were: 1. Hotel is cold throughout, and we ran the small electric heater full blast as well as requesting the fire to be lit nightly 2. Outside noise of barking dogs and pigeons are a nightmare but little the hotel can do to resolve 3. WIFI only available in reception area not in-room & when this area is freezing it's not ideal

Don't let these gripes put you off, just be mindful of them.

Our room was on the fifth floor (505) and included a balcony, where you can watch the sunset and the Himalayas turn pink and orange.

You also have the sun terrace on the 6th floor, lovely.

Room Tip: Look at rooms on the 5th floor which include balcony. Be mindful that you also have happy pigeons at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed in Viceroy for 3 days and 2 nights and the best thing about the hotel was the great mountain view from the rooms. Food was the second best as we could enjoy several varieties of food and the hotel ambience was classic. on the whole it was a very good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with mount Kanchanjunga view specifically. we stayed in room no 303 which had a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed in Viceroy for 3 days and 2 nights and the best thing about the hotel was the great mountain view from the rooms. Food was the second best as we could enjoy several varieties of food and the hotel ambience was classic. on the whole it was a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with mountain Kanchanjunga view which is very beautiful. we stayed on room no 303...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed in the Attic Room which has an enclosed balcony with a tea table and chairs, which overlooks the Kangchenjunga Mountain range. Along with basic amenities like double bed, kettle shower (hot water), heater, the room as a fire place which makes the attic room exclusive. The hotel staff were only too kind to light the fire place for us post dinner. It was an amazing experience having tea near the fire place.
Buffet dinner and breakfast was complimentary. We did not enjoy the dinner as the food was very bland with no spices nor taste. It was just eatable (average). Also the pricing was too high compared to other hotels like Shangrila regency which offer the same view but at a very attractive price. Its only the fireplace, balcony and lift in the building which was an add on compared to Shangrila Regency. However I felt the price charged for just this add on was very very high as from a view and service perspective, Shangrila offers it at a much cheaper rate.
Also the hotel has a Spa etc but not in a working condition. A further disappointment compared to the rate charged by the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose an attic room as it has an attached balcony, fireplace. The only 2 things which distinguish i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location but unless you get the 5th floor your room is very average, we had a great view but the bathroom was not acceptable every time we took a bath the floor was flooded and the shower did not work so we were given a bucket and cup.
The drive takes over three hours from the airport, roads are very narrow and very rough and it is climbing up the mountain all the way very scary drive.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was moved to this hotel by my travel agent when the one into which I had initially been booked proved to be unacceptable.

I stayed in a regular room the first night. Very small and an extremely limited supply of hot water but basically all right.

For the second and third nights, I was moved to the "Queen" suite. I didn't ask for this - it was offered, so I appreciated that. It was definitely superior to the first room in which I stayed. And there was more hot water and there was a small heater in the room which was appreciated at this time of year.

As soon as i went into the room, I was worried because pigeons were making a huge racket on the other side of the wall, but they were quiet at night so it wasn't a problem.

The food in the restaurant was fine (nothing special).

A good thing about this hotel is that there is complimentary WiFi. It is only in the lobby but it works quite well and there is no extra charge, so you can't complain.

A strange thing about this hotel is the old-fashioned elevator. You open and close the door by hand, and if this isn't done properly when you get out, it won't budge. So it was constantly getting stuck between floors. . . .

Overall, this hotel worked all right for me, though it wasn't exeptional . . . . . One thing worth mentioning, in closing, is the location. Easy walking distance from the pedestrianized upper mall, etc. Very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Hotel

Address: 17, Gandhi Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 79 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viceroy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viceroy Hotel is situated in the heart of the town, just next to the clock tower & all the rooms give a clear view of the mighty kanchanjunja's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Viceroy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.