We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decent ... good service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shangrila Regency

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shangrila Regency
Save
You added Shangrila Regency to your Saves list
21, Gandhi Road | Opp:Bethany School, Darjeeling 734101, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pretty decent ... good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed a couple of unplanned rainy (off-season) days here. We had asked for an attic room and a 10X room - unfortunately we did not get the attic room but did get the biggest 102 room.

First the not so good things:
The small road leading to the entrance of the hotel is in bad shape. When your vehicle stops there you would wish your hotel isn't nearby. The view from the rooms is terrible ... hotels/buildings/schools have come-up as tall as Shangrila. A few off-season issues that we faced - electricity and cable TV was erratic. Also we had some trouble with the light and bathroom fixtures. And yes, the WI-FI is broken - you can connect to it but it doesn't connect you to the internet :(

The good things:
Very nice, helpful and friendly staff. The 4th floor breakfast/dining area is very cozy and old world. Has a decent bar too... The breakfast portions and choices are just amazing.
This hotel also has its own taxi service which we used throughout our stay, pickup and drop - they use well maintained vehicles and the drivers are very efficient and courteous. Though no full-kitchen, they have a hotel in the mall and you can order the menu right from your room and will be delivered in your room or on the 4th floor dining area. So from food perspective, we had a good time. Oh, we got a good off-season discount.

I might stay here again only if I get the attic room and probably in-season.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    112
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
93
103
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

we were there in attic room with superb view. the staff was was good, etiquette and responsive. the hotel serves u in the best possible manner... the manager lady was co operative and though we didnt got a chance to meet mr ranjan . i specially wana say thanks to the management , staff and mr ranjan for making our stay there the best.

GO FOR IT FRNS ... this hotel is superb with homely feeling. That ws a rainy season and they arranged for dinner for us in late nite hours as we were unable to move out due to heavy rains .. that gives human touch to the services.
THANKS RANJAN, the lady manager (i forgot her name ) and all the other staff members.

WE ARE COMING AGAIN

VIjay Deyondi
Mumbai
duration of stay 15.06.11 to 20.06.2011
attic room no 502

Room Tip: attic rooms are the best... . i didnt saw other rooms but our room was having a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The staff and cleanliness of this hotel could not be better. They are courteous, accomodating, and just made our trip SO relaxing.

We got in to Darjeeling very late, and one of our shared taxi companions was nice enough to get us to the hotel. Keep in mind that there are two Shangri-La Hotels under the same ownership. The Regency does NOT have a restaurant, and is further south.

We had booked one of the attic rooms because we'd heard great things about the view. On checking in, we discovered a faint urine smell in the room, and the staff immediately changed us to a different room two floors down which still had a beautiful view and no smell.

The rooftop lounge is wonderful, and the breakfast served there is great. Due to our schedule, we were only able to enjoy it two of the four mornings we were there, because they only serve from 8:30-10:30. If I had one recommendation, it would be to start serving earlier. There were mornings I was up at six and was ravenous by 8:30.

The staff courteously managed a wide variety of needs for us while we were there: laundry, a ride to the airport, extra towels, mineral water, etc. They even had a leaky water heater fixed in a matter of hours! The only thing that didn't go beautifully was the wi-fi connection. We booked the hotel partially because of the free wi-fi, but either do to their internet service provider or the age of their router, the wi-fi was spotty or non-existant most of the time we were there. Fortunately, there's a great cyber cafe right across the street, and the staff discounted a portion of our bill when we complained.

The room itself was spacious and clean with big windows, lots of light, a sitting area, and desk. The bathroom was cleaned every day, and for those who understand about Indian bathrooms, I was very appreciative of the shower curtain!

Overall, fantastic value for money!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms in this hotel, but try to get something on the third floor or one of the atti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

There are only three rooms but room no 102 and 101 are the best. 102 is the biggest one. 101 is not small but smaller than 102. 101 has a nice view of the male road and the hills. but 102 doesn't have the direct view of the Male road.

I will still suggest room 102 as it's really big room. Approx 300-400 sq-ft room.

Each room has fire place, cane sofa set, TV, nice bath room with separate shower area with curtain.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I stayed at the Shangri-la Regency for eight days in June 2011. The scenery in Darjeeling is enough to make any trip exceptionally memorable, though my experience was even more so considering my accommodation.

I stayed in two rooms during my stay: a single deluxe and an attic room. Both were spacious and clean with nice bathroom facilites; though the hot water was a bit limited in the former. The service was fantastic: morning tea was brought to my door each morning and breakfast promptly served every morning when I arrived at the fourth floor lounge, complete with a beautiful view of the village and -- if it were clear -- the distant mountains. Room service from the affiliated Hotel Shangri-la Restaurant was offered as well; the food was relatively good and fair priced, though too often I found that what I wanted to order was unavailable for whatever reason. Food elsewhere in the town is limited in quality; Lunar was perhaps my favourite restaurant and I had good Indian food elsewhere, though I forget the restaurant's name. My sleep was comfortable and often early -- it gets dark in Darjeeling quite early -- however every morning the sound of barking dogs and car horns was quick to wake me up.

A wide selection of guided tours were offered as well: I took a memorable trip to Sandakphu, Nepal, though I must warn this is not for the faint of heart. Five of the six hours it takes to get there are on a jagged rock path and you must hold on tight inside your 1954 Land Rover lest you be thrown around like a ragdoll. Regardless, I'd do it again.

Overall, I had a great time and do plan on returning to Darjeeling. If the Shangri-la Regency is available, surely I will return.

-- Andrew

Room Tip: Try one of the attic rooms for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

“We could not have wished for a finer place to spend our Holiday in Darjeeling. The beauty of the Hills, the comfort of the rooms, and most of all, the kindnesses of everyone at Shangrlia made our stay a sheer delight. Many thanks to Mr. Lama and his staff at the Hotel, and we hope to return as soon as possible.”

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors provide a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in May 2011. We had a very large room with two comfortable beds, good reading lights, lots of hot water and what would have been a great view if the weather had co-operated. The breakfasts were delicious and we ate dinner both nights at their sister hotel - excellent Indian food. They even provided hot water bottles for my perennially cold feet. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately, we were never able to use the wireless internet as we couldn't connect even when standing right by the router. While our room was clean - the breakfast area could have done with a clean tablecloth and the waiters should have had cleaner uniforms, but all in all, a good value at $45 CAD/night for two persons.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangrila Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangrila Regency

Address: 21, Gandhi Road | Opp:Bethany School, Darjeeling 734101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#6 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#6 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the views of the Kanchenjunga from the rooftop lounge, reputation for friendly staff and quality accommodation Shangrila Regency represents good value for money. All the rooms have en-suite bathrooms. Rates are for two people sharing and include breakfast. We have our own high quality cars that can be booked in advance to pick you up from the airport/station as well as for tours and onward travel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shangrila Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Shangrila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangrila Regency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.