We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly, lovely people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Darjeeling

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mayfair Darjeeling to your Saves list
Mayfair Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Opposite Governor House, Darjeeling 734101, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly, lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We went as couple in the month of February. And, Roshan arranged the room and late night dinner for us.. which was very uncommon because they close the cafe early. I really like to thank him for his warm hospitality. The food experience was fabulous.. be it breakfast or dinner.And, the staff was so humble and kind, that they would come at 11pm also to lit the fireplace. We stayed in Lloyd's and it was small and sweet, just as we wanted. The rooms are lovely and decor is brit indian. And the hotel offers you lovely views not only of Darjeeling but also the inside. I wish we had more days in hand to enjoy the stay

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    136
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
162
133
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Prompt Pick & Drop Service,

Exotic heritage property at the queen of Hills, cooperative staff, prompt service.

Ram at the restaurant serving Breakfast & Dinner is too good at hospitality, did everything he can to make us feel at home.

Ram, ''The Dal you made for us out of the buffet will be remembered forever''

His team is trained well to assist guest to best of there ability, hope this prevails.

Room Tip: Go for Valley View Rooms, you may have to climb few stairs but you will not mind the same for the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
black isle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Although it may not be difficult to claim the title of best hotel in Darjeeling considering the flagging competition, the Mayfair was really lovely- good food, attentive staff, spa facilities and a lovely library.

Our room did get very cold and there wasn't much in the way of heating it up during the day. They can light a fire in your bedroom in the evening which helped and made it cosy. There was a limited supply of hot water but I think this is indicative of Darjeeling in general not the hotel.

A really nice stay. I would definitely stay again and recommend the Mayfair.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The 3 hour climb up the mountain towards this impressive colonial home now resort is awesome not to be beat by a charming and chic hotel. I was lucky to have stayed in room 201 with a huge dressing room sitting parlour and kingside bed with fireplace. Every night housekeeping lit a blazing charcoal fire for me and added hot water bottles to my bed. Absolute heaven following a chilly day of walking. I have to expand on the mayfair restaurant. The dinners I had there are probably one of the best in my two months of travelling ! Outstanding chef who visits your table to make sure you're dinner was good. Something for everyone. Loved Darjeeling and loved this hotel they went out of their way to help me as a single woman traveller. Can't wait to return

Room Tip: Ask for room 201!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel few months back in Nov. The first impression of the hotel was "WOW" what a good place. I must stay from the first step to the last every moment spend in this hotel was amazing. everything Property,staff,food,view and Room top class.
I can't forget the Darjeeling Tea I had here it was just superb... the valley view from sit out area and just few step walk to fantastic view of Himalaya - Kanchenjunga
It was memorable, relaxing and great staying at this hotel - A must visit place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The 3 hour road travel to Darjeeling Hill Station is a fantastic experience, so many different sights from Bagdogra street scenes to the first sight of snow clad mountains in the distance as you climb, and climb highly congested twisty, narrow roads - most without barriers up the mountain side.The journey brings your senses to life, in sheer awe of those early pioneers that built the town just for great tea ! ( and cooler climate)

Rather disappointing then to arrive having experienced all that and then encounter the grumpiest unhelpful welcome after such a wonderful journey, so full of expectation !

The place (town) is fantastic, a must see. The hotel well placed, great buildings and views. The food is really great, the Chef personally comes and talks you through all the menu. The driver was great. Only let down by the grumpiest most unhelpful receptionist they could have recruited. Though it's true one person doesn't make a hotel, they can sure sour the experience. We'd go back though because these issues also cure themselves over time.

Take warm clothes ! Just because it's in India, doesn't mean you won't need a wholly hat and gloves. It's colder than London in February. You need a fire in your room each night, the bar, lounge are freezing - the hotel reception team makes no effort to light fires to warm them. The only warm place is the restaurant (mobile gas fire)

Overall the experience of Darjeeling is unforgettable - if you go all that way for a vacation, maybe pick another choice of hotels if you are a discerning traveller and like truly great service.

Room Tip: Ask for a view and a heater
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Mayfair Darjeeling is located at the best location...you could walk down to the mall road...evening and morning stroll to the mall were the best part of staying there. The rooms are small, but nicely done. Best part of the hotel is the library and the lounge. I gave three stars- as the hotel staff attitude and view from the windows are downside..

Room Tip: Best if you could room in the cottage...or with the valley view..However, the valley sight isnt that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayfair Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Darjeeling

Address: Opposite Governor House, Darjeeling 734101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#1 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#4 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Darjeeling 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAYFAIR Darjeeling - located in the lap of Mother Nature, is a star category deluxe heritage hotel that was once the summerhouse of Maharaja of Nazargunj. Located at prime location (opposite Governor's House) in Darjeeling, MAYFAIR Darjeeling is known for world-class facilities, state-of-the-art services, superb amenities, and a home like surrounding that pleases ever tourist. With 43 well-decorated and fully furnished rooms,the leading luxury hotel in Darjeeling provide you accommodation with the motive of "Stay with Us, Stay with Nature". Being over a century old, it still maintains the charm of the old world while having modern amenities and a young and vibrant staff. Warm fires in each room, spectacular sunsets, the stellar Spa, an exclusive Tea boutique and extensive dining options are just some of the reasons guests come back here time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mayfair Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Mayfair Hotel Darjeeling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Darjeeling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.