We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERSONAL TOUCH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dekeling Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dekeling Hotel to your Saves list
Dekeling Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Gandhi Rd, Darjeeling 734101, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Darjeeling
SHAKTINAGAR, UP
1 review
“PERSONAL TOUCH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

we have spent nice holiday from 26.12.09 to 29.12.09 in this hotel. It is centrally located, nice view of Kanchanjangha from the room itself. Room heating not good, However their hospitality is remarkable specially Mrs norobu. She very personal care to all her guests.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    134
    48
    17
    6
See reviews for
73
154
67
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

We booked a deluxe room - figuring that we would splurge. When we arrived things seemed good - it was a sunny day, the view was fabulous. Then comes the bad. As soon as the sun went away you could see your breath, despite the higher cost it would cost us extra to get a heater, there was only hot water available in a trickle at night. We froze for days. Definitely better options for your money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

Was rated as a midrange hotel in guidebooks, turned out to be really bad. Granted its cold in January, but the hotel didnt provide portable heaters (radiant or blower) or hot-water bottles, both of which are the norm (as we later learnt). This is despite our request in advance before getting to the hotel. The rooms did have great views, but were very uncomfortably cold and cramped. Furthermore, reeked of diesel fumes and noise from the generator downstairs as we were plagued with power cuts. And guess what, no hot water (power cuts) in the morning either, but getting water in buckets seemed a chore and a half! Service and attitude to redress the issues were pretty much non-existent, which led me and my family to move to another hotel down the road, which made the experience turn 180 degrees!

The only redeeming factor is the in-house restaurant, which is actually quite good, but did little to mitigate all the issues mentioned above.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed here in December 09 and had two different rooms.

The first room was a good size and felt cosy and clean. However, we soon realised the following day that the bedroom was infested with ants. They were all over the bed, the bathroom etc. When i told the manager he said that he knew and that he had tried to get rid of them but because the hotel was wooden they wouldn't go away - so he remade the bed and the next unsuspecting customer got them.

Then our next room was a real treat. A floor lower down it was facing out onto the front, a little smaller than the last room. Upon stepping around the room it suddenly became obvious that the floor was a little unsteady. When we pulled the carpet back we realised why. There were broken floorboards and gaps where floorboards were missing - they had just covered the whole thing with the carpet. So, you had to watch where you stood etc. and hoped that the bed was secure enough.

I wouldn't mind if this was a hotel at RS600 a night but it was RS1700 and came highly recommended in the Lonely Planet ?

In my opinion there are nicer hotels in Darjeeling - don't stay here unless you get the room a lot cheaper

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxwood, West Sussex, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

We had one of the top floor rooms. It was spacious, loads of places to sit and stare out of the windows (and the weather was clear so lots to stare at) and very clean. Bathroom was also large and functional.
The owners are friendly and very helpful, the common areas are spacious, comfortable and look like they'd be very cosy in Winter. The hotel is in a great position in the centre of town.
The tiny restaurant at street level serves great food at good prices in large portions but it is cramped.
I mentioned the stairs - the first three flights to reception are the real killers, even the locals seemed to have trouble with them. If your room is at the top there are another 4 flights to climb. However as Darjeeling is built on the side of a mountain most places will, presumably, have a similar issue.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siliguri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Dekeling Hotel, and its owner-family, have for the past nine years been my home in Darjeeling. Wonderful, warm and caring staff and lovely accommodations. Shocked to find that it is almost impossible to book through TravelAdvisor. Fact is, I've never had a problem getting a room there, even on my first arrival, when I discovered it by simply walking in. I've check many of the other local facilities--Dekeling is the best. One suspects a bit of chicanery in the hotel listings--Dekeling simply never disappoints. I've talked to a great many other guests over the years and heard nothing but the most positive reactions.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dekeling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekeling Hotel

Address: 51 Gandhi Rd, Darjeeling 734101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#2 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dekeling Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dekeling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dekeling Hotel Darjeeling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dekeling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.