We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service, Wonderful people at Dekeling Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dekeling Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dekeling Hotel to your Saves list
Dekeling Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Gandhi Rd, Darjeeling 734101, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Darjeeling
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, Wonderful people at Dekeling Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I was in Darjeeling from 23 to 27/7/2013 with my wife. On 23rd I reached late in the afternoon and I had settled down for a hotel shown by a tout. The next day morning I located Dekeling Hotel just by chance. My happy, comfortable stay started from that moment. The room had a wide window and with full view of the mountains. The cleanliness was extra-ordinary. I am still not able to forget the smiling faces of the courteous staff of the hotel. The owner of the hotel also stays in the same hotel. She was extremely polite, pleasant and was a good host. The hospitality extended by the owner was so good, I feel like travelling to D'jeeling to stay in this hotel. I found that the hotel tariff was also reasonable. There is a small restaurant down below, but the staff there were helpful and I got the food from outside through the staff. In a nut shell, excellent hotel to stay because it is closest to the Mall, taxi service and market. and beautiful view of the mountains from your bed.

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe room with "mountain view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    134
    48
    17
    6
See reviews for
73
154
67
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parbatipur, Bangladesh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Arrived to fine a clean, quiet, comfortable room with a nice view (I had specified view was not essential). The attentive, caring staff offered assistance in every way [finding places and items, hiring a car, eating in (take in okay for room or breakfast table, also from their own restaurant), quiet time when I wanted that]. Love the big lounge for meeting other travelers and many books to borrow. Do need to walk up 5 flights of stairs.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you need and want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We were put up in dekeling hotel through our tour company (so canny properly comment on value for money) but it has been the best place we stayed in so far. We had a room at the top with a view over the town (quite foggy at this time of year), and though the ceiling was slightly low, the room had beautiful wooden panels and comfortable beds. We had breakfast included and we were fed until full- omelettes, local cheese and marmalade (after weeks of mixed fruit 'jam' this was especially delicious). The staff were genuinely helpful and kind, and organised our trip to 'Tiger Hill' for us. There is a computer in a sofa space where you can relax and good wifi too. Also there's a delicious Tibetan restaurant below the hotel which is worth checking out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great hospitality! We had a standard room and it was only 1200 rs a night, it includes hot water and is a comfortable room. The location is great, you reach most things by foot and the view from the lounge over the mountains is beautiful. A very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for three days here and enjoyed it immensely. Well located and with some spectacular views from the upper levels. The hotel had a real alpine village feel to it with extensive wood panelling. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

It was memorable experience staying at Dekeling hotel from 15th June 2013 to 17th June 2013.
location of the Hotel is really good only 3 mins walking distance to mall area Taxi stand is just in front of the Hotel. as this hotel is in 3rd, 4th and 5th floor of the building you will get a marvelous view of Kanchenjunga range from this hotel room . rooms are well furnished and Clean .
Staffs are really humble and always ready to help. they always prioritize customer service and customer satisfaction .

there is no such room service available but they have a restaurant in Ground floor .. if you place order they send the food in room without extra payment.
Food is just lip smacking ... weather its simple momo or thupka or Chicken Fried rice .but only Chinese food ....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at Dekeling Resort (Hawk's Nest) in June 2013 with my family and had one of the most memorable experiences of watching the snow clad Kanchenjonga in all its resplendent glory, reflecting the early morning sunlight. It is a villa with well-furnished comfortable suites (including working fireplaces). The service is excellent and the food delicious. Located at a scenic spot on A.J.C. Bose Road, with the Bose Institute and the Japanese Buddhist Pagoda within walking distance. Would strongly recommend the place to all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norbu D, Manager at Dekeling Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam,
Thank you for posting your kind review on the Trip Advisor.
It was indeed great pleasure to serve and host you and your family members . We would all like to" Thank you" for your kind appreciation of our hospitality during your stay with us . For us, guest satisfaction is our prime concern and we shall persevere to work towards it.
We hope we will have the pleasure to serve you again !.
Wishing you and your family many pleasant holidays!
Kind Regards Always,
Norbu Dekeva,all his team at Dekeling Resort .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dekeling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekeling Hotel

Address: 51 Gandhi Rd, Darjeeling 734101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#2 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dekeling Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Dekeling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dekeling Hotel Darjeeling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dekeling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.