We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poorly maintained and poorly managed property, better to avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dekeling Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dekeling Hotel to your Saves list
Dekeling Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Gandhi Rd, Darjeeling 734101, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Darjeeling
kolkata
1 review
“poorly maintained and poorly managed property, better to avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had stayed in a honey moon suite in Dekeling Hotel from 29th May till 2nd June 2013. The room was damp, poorly maintained, corner room with no outside view and also water leakage from the roof. Not sure how this can be called as honeymoon suite with highest level of rent.... There was no service at all, not to mention about room service. Telephone was dead for all 4 days. Power supply was very abrupt. There was hardly any hot water supply in the bathroom. You will hardly find anyone in the reception for any help. We thought of changing the hotel but could not do so as we had small kids and it was raining most of the time. I would suggest to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norbu D, Owner at Dekeling Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for staying with us. We would all like to thank you for your valuable feedback. We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience you faced during your stay with us
During your visit, Darjeeling weather was at its worst with continuous rainfall day & night leading to massive power cuts and sudden voltage fluctuations due to which our intercom phone lines became disturbed. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.
Our Honeymoon suites are charming, tastefully decorated popular rooms located in a quiet corner. They do not have direct Mountain View which we clearly mentioned to you when you booked.
Dekeling hotel is a family run hotel where we try our level best to ensure proper service and look into the details of maintenance of our property. If we have failed to live up to your expectations, kindly accept our sincere apologies.
Darjeeling reels under acute water shortage but despite the immense water problem we persevere to ensure steady running water supply.
Your visit coincided with the peak tourist season during which considering the increased demand, very often hotel rates shoot up .The tariff rate printed on our tariff card and specified in our website was clearly mentioned to you at the time of your booking and we charged you accordingly and not a penny more.
We are very sorry about the water leakage! That was a complete new problem for us .Immediately after you checked out, we fixed the small leakage problem near the window. The very heavy stormy rainfall must have slashed towards the window. Once again we are sorry for the problem you faced.
We have seriously taken into consideration all aspects of your complaints and we deem it our duty to address the matter very seriously.
Wishing you many PLEASANT HOLIDAYS
Norbu Dekeva and all the team at Dekeling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    132
    48
    17
    6
See reviews for
73
153
66
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modasa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A beautiful wooden rooms. I stayed there for 4 days and I loved each days. Very kind and polite staff with Helping attitude in every effort. I would love to stay again here. I chose this on the basis of Trip advisor reviews.

Location: Right just at the start of Mall road. Couldn't be better for young. Have to steps four stairs so obviously not for elderly.

Rooms: Wooden feel, Good furniture, and 24*7 hot water supply. Washrooms are clean, neat and enough space within.

Food: I had taken one dinner and loved the food. On choice, they made dhosa for us for breakfast, to my surprise they were delicious.

Manager and staff: Supportive and helpful. we didn't face any problems. staff working with smiles on their face.

Plus: Wifi equipped to all rooms. Having computer at gallery is plus point.
They have Library.. Yeah those who liked the mood of Darjeeling can read in their sitting rooms and have rich collection of books to read.

I definitely would recommend this Hotel for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here with my son for one night and have nothing but good comments. We stayed in a room at the top floor which was big but with some low ceilings that were not the most convenient for my 6'1" son but was nevertheless very comfortable for sleeping and large and quiet. The breakfast was good and the service very polite.
The best thing about this hotel is their sitting room which is where breakfast is served. You can have an unobstructed view of Kanchenjanga in a warm room with your tea in hand! We went to Tiger hill the previous morning and were rewarded with a beautiful sunrise but the next morning I just sat in the hotel and watched it from a couch with my tea in hand!
There is a nice 'traveler' ambiance to the hotel which was a plus for me.
The only drawback for this hotel is that you need to climb 3 flights of stairs so if this is a problem then this is not for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We are a family with 2 young children, 10 and 8 yrs.

The favourable points - 1) Good location. You can walk to the city centre and shops in a few minutes. 2) The lounge is a nice relaxing place with 24 hours access to internet and WiFi. 3) Mrs Norbu is a good host

Not so favourable points 1) The approach staircase - This has been highlighted in previous posts too. Its a steep climb and extremely narrow. One cant walk past another person at some points without bumping each other. There are more than 60 steps. The steps are outside the main building in the alley with a plastic sheet cover. That is the only (common) exit / entry for the Dekeling hotel and Lunar restaurant (one floor below Dekeling hotel). People who are very fit and seasoned trekkers will not mind this climb. But families with small children / elderly will find the going tough, especially after a long day out or when you have to carry baggage up. My main worry was the stair was a fire trap. In case of a fire, there is no other way out other than this staircase. 2) The cheaper rooms (called deluxe), which are mountain facing are not spacious enough for a family 3) no room heater provided. Travellers from hot regions will find the nights cold and uncomfortable. Room heater is provided with a extra charge of Rs 400 per night.

Room Tip: Rooms that are not mountain facing are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel is well taken care as it is serviced by the owner herself who ensures that every customer is given attention. However our experience during the stay was not good.
The stair case has 80 steps and the way it is constructed by the time you reach the reception area you become breathless. No Tea will be provided till 7:30 as the kitchen staff don't turn up before that. Rooms will not be cleaned, toileteries will not be provided until asked. Bathroom stinks. View from room 202 is horrible. Everyday morning we found some stray dog spoiling the staircase. We found our room door open when we returned back..maybe the person who finally cleaned the room didnt close it properly. If the hotel is fully occupied then you have to wait for hours to get the breakfast served. Omelete and bread toast will be brought in ones and twos. You can say you get homely traetment but not professional treatment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Cons :

Rooms are too small for the charges they demand.Room service is average.Also the rooms are not maintained at their best.It has a very steep stair which is very difficult to climb.

Pro :

Its in the Mid area mid of the Market

There is one more restaurant on th first floor of this buliding which serves quality food.

Kanchenjunga view from the Lounge is good

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

A homely, relaxing and professionally run guesthouse, with great attention to service.
I would highly recommend staying here during a visit to Darjeeling.
The Tibetan patrons are extremely helpful and friendly.
The lounge area offers a wonderful landscape view over the Darjeeling rooftops and mountain ranges beyond (as long as there is no mist!).

Matt (UK)
Jacob (Den)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dekeling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekeling Hotel

Address: 51 Gandhi Rd, Darjeeling 734101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#2 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dekeling Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dekeling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dekeling Hotel Darjeeling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dekeling Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.