We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learning the tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Valley Tea Estate

Happy Valley Tea Estate
Pamphawati Gurungni Rd, Darjeeling, India
+91 80 17 700700
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Activities in Darjeeling
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As the mist fades away, it unfolds a panoramic view of the quaint town of Darjeeling. At 6800 ft, in the Darjeeling West region of the Himalayas, Happy Valley is an exhilarating experience. The only tea garden in Darjeeling town, Happy Valley grows some of the finest quality tea produced in the region. A unique geographical combination of altitude, soil and gradient gives the tea from this estate a distinct bouquet flavour.Happy Valley offers visitors a unique opportunity of experiencing tea manufacturing. The affable and well informed personnel walk the guests through the tea making process. The Finest quality tea, fresh from the garden, is available for purchase at the Happy Valley factory.
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Learning the tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A good place to learn about tea and how they transform it. The visit is short but I learn something. Avoid the pushing sales at the end of the visit. Walk you way back in the narrow lane in the fields instead of the road.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATG_Team, Manager at Happy Valley Tea Estate, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your feedback and for taking time out to visit our tea estate. We are glad that you had a good experience overall.

We would also like to apologies in case you felt that you were pushed for buying tea. Our constant endeavor is to provide a complete Darjeeling tea experience to our visitors with the tour of the tea factory, understanding of the production process and the opportunity to buy authentic and quality Darjeeling tea fresh from the factory. We also completely understand that each visitor has the discretion to choose whether to buy or not.

We assure you that we will use your feedback to improve the visitors experience in the future.

Thanking you
Happy Valley Tea Estate Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    19
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unmissable in Darjeeling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had an absolutely delightful afternoon at the Estate. We found it quite easily (a pleasant 20 minute walk from the centre of town, with very helpful people giving us directions along the way).

We were met there by a lovely lady who explained many different varieties of teas (e.g fist flush, second flush, green, white, etc.). The lady also talked us through the process of tea production, as the factory was not in production at that time. We were also given a cup of the Estate's finest tea, which was amazing, and a tour through the plantation.

Overall, we believe a visit to Darjeeling is incomplete without seeing Happy Valley Tea Estate.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Close walk from The Mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is the closest tea estate from The Mall, the main drag in Darjeeling. I went off season and did not get to see the factory or picking. The woman who gives the tasting is very enthusiastic and clearly passionate about tea. If you want a quick stop for a tea tour, this is the place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Closest Tea Estate to Darjeeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Goat track of a road to get to this old estate. Some interesting old machinery if you like that kind of thing. Tea shop at the end of the tour which was welcome as not all tea estates sell on site. Interesting tour and pleasing to see the estate revived and profitable. Just don't ask to use the bathroom.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The moment to take the very best pictures !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We walked in the tea gardens for more than 3 hours.
You will understand why I loved it so much only if you do the same !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Valley Tea Estate also viewed

 
Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 

Been to Happy Valley Tea Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Valley Tea Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.