We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely flower garden to the enterance.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Himalayan Resort

Himalayan Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Himalayan Resort
Save
You added Himalayan Resort to your Saves list
26 Gandhi Road, Darjeeling 734101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 95 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a lovely flower garden to the enterance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Its a fairly nice hotel with wood finished old era rooms which are spacious and neat. A lovely sundeck which gives a great view to this misty green city but which is seldom open for enjoying.

Food is one area which has a room for improvement. Arrangement, layout and preparation all can be improved. The staff is quite friendly and is always eager to help.

Its close proximity to Mall road is an added advantage.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Himalayan Resort in Darjeeling for 1 night in mid-February 2013. Unfortunately, our flight from Guwahati to Bagdogra had been delayed due to bad weather so we didn’t arrive until after dark. However, we were given a really warm welcome on a cold and very wet night. After a cup of tea we were shown to our room which was really cosy and very clean. We were the only ones at dinner but the two staff on duty, Sagar and Binod, were really friendly and made us feel very comfortable. The food was excellent with freshly cooked, piping hot, typical Nepali cuisine. Unfortunately, the hotel, including the dining room, was quite cold but they did their best to warm us up – they put a heater next to our table and there was one in our room. We were provided with hot water bottles and there were plenty of blankets on the beds. We slept well despite the rain battering down. The weather hadn’t improved the following morning and our planned trip to Tiger Hill to see the sunrise was cancelled. Unfortunately, we didn’t manage to take advantage of the wonderful views which our room would have afforded had the weather been clear. We’ll just keep our fingers crossed for better weather the next time we go!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at the Himalayan resort twice - two nights at the beginning of a trek and another night at the end. It was late autumn/early winter which is cold in Darjeeling but it was actually colder in the hotel than it was outside. A telling action was that anyone coming into the lobby from the outside added an extra layer of clothing within a few minutes. The magnitude of the cold within a room varied depending on where the room was located. Those on the side which is where mine was located on the second stay were colder than those at the front. The heating is on a separate system to the lights, as is the hot water heater and these seem to be controlled by the staff. Although the room was positively frigid it wasn't possible to turn on the space heater which was the only means of warmth. Later in the evening the heater could be turned on but it didn't make too much difference to the temperature and I was forced to get into my sleeping bag after I woke in the night shivering and unable to get warm in spite of using all of the bedding provided.

On the positive side, the rooms I had were clean, the staff are helpful, the food in the restaurant is okay and they will provide a hot water bottle to take the initial chill off the bed. Unfortunately it goes cold and the deep freeze sets in pretty quickly. If ever in Darjeeling again I will not be going back to the Himalayan Resort and I will know what to look for in another hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take -04/05 (eg 204/304/404 etc) rooms which are on the side, get no sun and have uncarpet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This Hotel is well situated not far from Darjeeling Station and the main part of Town but is in a quiet off road area. It looks to be of 60s construction but might be more recent. The building is concrete with a lot of single glazed glass in Aluminium housings. As a result, rooms tend to get cold in the winter and suffer from condensation. To be fair to the owners though, they do take trouble to keep guests warm with hot water bottles supplied on request and heaters in every room. Staff were all very helpful when we stayed here and did a good job at breakfast which was cooked to order.
Rooms are clean with good bathroom facilities but a bit dated in terms of decor.
Roof views of Kanchenjunga are very high standard, even if a tree gets a bit in the way. There's probably no need to get up at ~4h00 to go to Tiger Hill for a view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Himalayan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himalayan Resort

Address: 26 Gandhi Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himalayan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.