We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Himalayan inspiration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kanchenjunga Mountain

Kanchenjunga Mountain
North Sikkim, Darjeeling, India
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$701*
and up
4-Day Private Tour to Darjeeling from Kolkata...
Ranked #1 of 70 Attractions in Darjeeling
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Himalayan inspiration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

had some good views but missed the extra-ordinary Tiger Hills morning view due to fog. But caught up with the views while travelling from Gangtok to Kalimpong.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    30
    5
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KOLKATA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beauty at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Winter is the best time to get glimpse of this peak. You do not require to visit Tiger Hill to get a good view. It is best visible from Chowrasta.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patna, India
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
846 helpful votes 846 helpful votes
“India 's highest point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I saw this giant from the Sikkimese capital Gangtok, actually i saw it in the 3rd day.on the first day i tried it at 4 am in the morning but couldn't get a bit of the view due to clouds next day it was again a disappointment.
On the 3rd day i 'd actually see the over 8500 meters snow covered giant.ITS ALSO WORLD'S THIRD LARGEST ONLY 300M SHORTER THAN mt.EVEREST.
It changes color all time during day from BLUISH WHITE[early morning] to Pale yellow to golden to beige.it keeps on changing until the sun sets. it is definitely the finest view of the EASTERN HIMALAYAS.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

It is a life time experience to see beautiful range of Kanchenjunga from Darjeeling. Darjeeling , certainly queen of hills !!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suratgarh, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Mesmerising......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This mountain is close to my heart. I could able to see this mountain thrice in my lifetime. It is visible from Tiger Hill. Especially at sunrise, it has special event to mark with. There is no other place in Darjeeling where big crowd is pulled. Just look to it and the majestic glow is in front of you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanchenjunga Mountain also viewed

Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 
Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 

Been to Kanchenjunga Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanchenjunga Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.