We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable pricing with yummy food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of shangri-la

shangri-la
5 Nehru Road, Darjeeling, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 88 Restaurants in Darjeeling
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Reasonable pricing with yummy food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Visited Shangri-la for its closeness to my hotel. Ordered non-veg food and was happy to have a yummy food. Pricing is very much reasonable and the non-veg food ordered was awesome

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    25
    14
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“TIBETAN BREAD IS AMAZING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Great place to try tibetan food :) Chicken Gyathuk was so good, fresh and warm :) also had a fire which was lovely :) waiter had dirty finger nails tho...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good ambience, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Accessible and eager to serve. Service is good but food is regular fare. They serve beer but only kingfisher. Would've preferred some local flavour but then there was none.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Pathetic Veg Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Its located on the mall road. Attached with a bar, the restaurant has a nice quiet ambiance. We ordered soups and some starters. The waiter informed of us that some of the basic starters were not available as it "takes time". I don't understand then why the hell the same isn't mentioned on the menu (that it takes time, so don't order !!!!!).

Fortunately the soup was good. The two starters which were served were bland. It was extremely disappointing , since I had read some decent reviews of the place in various forums.

May be the non veg food is good. Unlikely though !!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband is a non vegetarian while I am a vegetarian so to find a restaurant particularly in Darjeeling (where most of the population eats meat) that would satisfy us both was a tough task. And then we discovered Shangrila on our very first evening. My husband was very pleased with his pork Thukpa and I with its vegetarian version. it was bone chilling cold that evening but a real blazing wood fire in the fireplace took us by surprise-a very very pleasant one indeed! The waiters were prompt in their service. So the next three evenings were also pleasantly spent there only but with a different experimentation in menu everyday. My husband loved their roast pork very much and I liked their spring rolls! The experience wouldn't have been half as nice but for the overall efficiency and warmth displayed by their very charming and competent hostess Ms Sonam Lama who was constantly on her toes on all our visits there..

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed shangri-la also viewed

Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 
Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 

Been to shangri-la? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage shangri-la, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.