We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenburn Tea Estate

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenburn Tea Estate
Save
You added Glenburn Tea Estate to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dist. and Post Office Darjeeling, Darjeeling 734101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Why do people comment so much on the "difficult" car journey to Glenburn? While the drive from Bagdogra airport to the Tea Estate can be a bit chaotic at times it is rather typical for India and by no means "scary". It also offers spectacular scenery. Glenburn itself is very peaceful and very beautiful. Simply wonderful to go for walks, have lunch under the Pomelo tree or sit on the terrace with a book. And meeting other guests round a communal table is fun, even if one doesn't have too much in common with everyone. It is an important part of travelling. As is often the case, the people who work there give Glenburn its soul. For example Sidhu the cook who loves singing and won the Glenburn Talent Competition. Sanjay the estate manager who talks passionately about tea production and sometimes cooks breakfast eggs for the guests. Above all Jenni who looks after the guests and handles every conceivable request or problem with great competence and admirable serenity. To sum up: This visit has been pure joy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htglen, Owner at Glenburn Tea Estate, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, as the previous ones about Jenni and the road conditions have been a bit tough to respond to. I know how amazing Jenni has been for Glenburn these past 2 seasons and we will miss her dearly when she returns to her "normal" life after June. I hope people dig deeper to read all the glowing reviews she has received since she joined Glenburn. The roads remain a challenge for us to deal with, but as you mention, they are as good as one gets in a remote part of India, and as my husband puts it very aptly......"Glenburn.....once accessed only by horseback....now has a road!" This is also one of the reasons why we insist on including all transfers and unlimited transport in our rates despite the high costs of vehicle maintenance and rising fuel costs, as we find guests arrive much happier when they arrive in our own vehicles, with drivers who know the roads and drive carefully, stop for a picnic along the way, and we have cushions in the back seat to 'soften' the ride! Thanks again, and our cook will be thrilled to have had a mention in your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    19
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
33
91
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a beautiful place in a lovely setting. The long and difficult drive from the airport was made worse by our driver taking risks overtaking on a very scary and bumpy mountain road. I told him to be sensible in no uncertain terms on our return to the airport and he did respond positively.
Our room was stylish and extremely comfortable. Meals were very good and taken in 'house party' style with other guests.Couples were seated apart at dinner and guests were joined by senior staff. This did result in some guests feeling isolated at dinner if they were seated near the 'hostess' who seemed to only have time for her friend who was visiting during our stay.
I had been led to believe that Wifi was available but it did not work at all during our stay. I was advised that I could use the Glenburn computer which I did once but our 'hostess' made this quite difficult. In fact she was quite aloof and unhelpful until near the end of our stay after I had discussed the matter with other senior staff.
The other staff were excellent and I will attempt to name them. Young David proved to be the 'host' that our 'hostess' certainly was not. Guides Luna, Prakesh and Ranjan were first class. Parveez and Sonam also looked after us in some style. There was an undercurrent of some tension amongst the senior staff and clearly changes are happening soon. Many thanks to the other staff for ensuring our very expensive five days at Glenburn were not spoiled too much by the situation. We loved this place but it is not for everyone. The 'house party' style is only good when guests enjoy each others company.and that of the senior staff. Obviously this can be a problem but fortunately we were reasonably fortunate.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view....stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htglen, Owner at Glenburn Tea Estate, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent trip to Glenburn. I am happy to hear praise for some of our staff, and would like to mention that Jenni, our hostess at Glenburn for the past 2 years, has consistently received positive reviews from our guests, so I am surprised to hear your comments, and can only suggest that perhaps you caught her on an off day! We are working on a solution for our intermittent Wifi....we have even tried to have a dedicated cable laid out but when they came to do a survey they found our location far too remote for this option so we have to rely on remote internet services that are locally available. Blackberry and Iphone services seem to work fine, and next season I intend to have a dedicated computer for our guests with a permanent "dongle" they can use that doesn't interfere with daily administrative work. We do offer private dining as an alternative option to our communal meals, and some guests do take this option, so I apologise if this was not made clear when you got to Glenburn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barga, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I think I can understand now, having spent 4 nights here, the diversity of views expressed about this place. Are you expecting a hotel (as billed) or someone's second home for a country house weekend? Glenburn has some wonderful features - the air, the views, the working tea estate/garden, the ever helpful staff, the tranquility, the history, large rooms. But equally on the other side of the balance - the rooms are basic, there are loads of stairs, promised wifi didn't work and no explanation or remedy was offered, many times the food was tepid (especially breakfast, including porridge, yuk), packed lunches are something of an acquired taste, there is nothing to do beyond what the estate offers (mainly hiking) and these outings are very basic. Another illustration of the basic-ness is the cutlery: once EPNS but most of the silver was worn off and the underlying brass tasted horrible.

Other aspects are a mater of personal taste. If 'country house weekend' meals with fellow guests at one big table are your thing, fine; but they can be a bit of a drain if you are not inclined to make small talk with strangers. The 4-hour drive to the airport is gruelling and at times scary. At times it is almost 'off-road'. For a long period after it, any room would be a God-send. Darjeeling itself is now a dump. It may have been grand in the first half of the century. Now it is a giant traffic jam and, apart from the zoo and the altitude, has nothing to offer. We were so thankful not to have booked a hotel there.

Finally, the prices. This was by far the most expensive place we stayed anywhere in India and we stayed in top places elsewhere. It was not up to these standards by a good margin. Adding drinks without making this clear up-front was also a bit rich. And the four nights we were encouraged to stay was excessive in all respects except that it allowed time to recover from the drive from the airport.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htglen, Owner at Glenburn Tea Estate, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of Glenburn and sincere apologies for any aspects that fell short of your expectations. We are working on a reliable wifi solution and I have addressed our attempts at solving this in another response so will not detail it again here! The silver plated cutlery is re-plated every year during our low season in August, but in recent years the plating does not seem to last beyond January, so I will replace it this Summer. I have been searching for a worthy replacement for a few months but have not found anything appropriate so far. I will look into the tepid food, and cold porridge, and improve this for future guests. Lastly, our prices may seem steep, but given we have about 60 staff members working for 16 guests, with unlimited transport and activities included in the package, our working costs do justify what we charge. Our intent is to pamper our guests in every way, and include things like laundry, food and the flexibility of planning an activity once you get to Glenburn rather than pre-booking it and then arriving it and not being able to change one's mind because you have paid for it in advance. Many guests appreciate this "all inclusiveness" and flexibility, but my sincere apologies once again that we fell short of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay if you are in the region and I very nearly gave it five stars, but felt it was slightly let down by minor shortfalls in the quality if the room maintenance and the servicing of the rooms. It is situated about 1000m lower than Darjeeling, so when we were there the weather was milder and more pleasant. The drive to the site is awful, as are most roads in this part of West Bengal and I really would have thought that the two big tea plantations on it would have found it worthwhile investing some money in maintaining it so that vehicles can do more than 10 kph max along it.

But these gripes apart, manager Jenni, ably assisted by student David, make their guests feel very at home. The food is plentiful and very tasty and they lay on trips, locally around the plantation and to Darjeeling. It is a great place to stay if you want a break from all the noise and congestion to be found in most Indian cities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We were grateful to be able to unpack our bags for three whole nights at the end of our three week tour of Nepal, Sikkim Province and West Bengal.Yes, the journey up to Glenburn was a little on the scary side, but no more so than our travels of the previous few days. But it was well worth it to eventually arrive at Glenburn, with Darjeeling perched on the hillside across the valley.
We were welcomed and shown to our room by David, and within ten minutes, a very welcome light lunch was set for us. The atmosphere throughout was ambient, the staff attentive, the property and gardens stunning and there was just the right level of activity to keep us busy, yet plenty of time for relaxation after such a busy schedule. We particularly enjoyed the ride to see the tea actually being picked on the steep hillsides. The food was consistently fresh and delicious, and dinner around the table with fellow guests was great fun.
We would love to return one day as we have so much more of India to see.
Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

After a hellish 3 hour drive, you arrive in heaven. Glenburn is close to being perfection, where attention to detail is everything. The food is excellent, the setting unbeatable, and you are spoilt for choice as to how you spend your time there. It is quite atmospheric in the hills so do expect some mists and cool evenings........which are of course part of the attraction of such a place.

Thoroughly recommended as a delightful change of pace in this part of India.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

One of the few places that actually ends up being even better than the website makes it look. The location, with the views of the Kanchenjunga, is hard to beat. Many places offer clean mountain air, but the whole setting here is stunning with its colonial feel, super efficient staff, and unimaginable attention to detail.
The hostess jenni and Sanjay Sharma (estate manager) are gracious hosts and wonderful company while you have drinks with them and the other guests in the evening. Sanjay has some wonderful stories of the place.
If you are looking to cut off in a luxurious setting, this is the place to go to.
We are going back for sure, this time in the spring.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenburn Tea Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenburn Tea Estate

Address: Dist. and Post Office Darjeeling, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#1 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenburn Tea Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Glenburn Tea Estate Hotel Darjeeling
Glenburn Tea Estate West Bengal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenburn Tea Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.