We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elgin Darjeeling

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Elgin Darjeeling to your Saves list
Elgin Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 HD Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Darjeeling
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

I find hotel good. Interior as well exterior are royal and rich. One get exclusive feel . Food is good but one should not expect five star like food quality. Room service is slightly sluggish. But overall its highly recommend. Chowrasta , which is a nice place to visit during night is very near.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Elgin Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Sr !

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel , services and ambiance . We have made a note of your comment of the sluggish service and satisfactory quality of food . We will brief the service and kitchen staff likewise .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    104
    32
    17
    11
See reviews for
93
106
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tenbury
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Outside of hotel was lovely with stunning views and the lounge/bar area with open fire very inviting. We were quite perplexed by checking in procedure, given seat in lounge and then told room was ready but no real welcome( saw other people arriving next day receiving drinks etc). Quite frankly the room needed cleanlng, I actually wrote the words "clean me" in the Dust on the TV stand. We were disappointed that the hotel advertised WI FI in all areas, it only worked in one small area near reception. On a similar note the menu for dinner was not as described on the website, no Chinese or continental choices available. However I had a poorly stomach and I was offered really good cheese omelettes. Bathrobes, towels and bedding were clean but grey and certainly need replacing. Best features of this hotel are the hardworking staff especially the hot water bottle man.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Elgin Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Madame !

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation and constructive criticism of the hotel and services. We apologize for the non availability of the chinese and continental menus during your stay as our chefs were on their annual leave at the time . We will however have replacement chef now trained on both cuisines to make up for this in case our chefs are off work for some reason. We also apologize for the delay and shortfalls in your check in and have taken up the matter with our front desk staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Elgin is a charming colonial hotel packed with well maintained original features. It is very clean, has loads of character and charm, and the 3 dogs are adorable! The hotel is right in the middle of town and is an easy walk to the town square, shopping and restaurants. If you are wanting a hotel in the middle of a tea plantation, or one with views of the Himalayas, this is not the one for you. The honking car horns can be a little intrusive, but Darjeeling is in India after all. Room for improvement: we booked a valley view room, and had noted this as a precondition of staying. Unfortunately upon arrival we were told there were no valley view rooms available, and it was not until we produced a print out of the original email that an appropriate room was 'found'. We took the dinner and breakfast package and found both meals to be consistently disappointing, and inconsistent with the overall hotel standards. In summary, fantastic ambiance, shame about the food.

Room Tip: Request valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Elgin Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Madame !

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel , the ambiance and services . We are sorry to hear that were not satisfied with the food . Though our food is prepared to the highest standards under the personal guidance and supervision of our owners we would love a more detailed feedback from you through the email so we can improve on the areas where you found our food to be inconsistent with our over all standards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at the Elgin as part of a private tour of India so it was booked for us, and as we had only requested standard accommodation we were surprised and delighted when we were shown to the Elgin. As you step through the door you are transported back in time, the lounge area looks as it might have in Victorian times and is utterly delightful, as we arrived in the afternoon we were shown to seats here and brought afternoon tea, and I'm sorry but nowhere that serves afternoon tea as standard can be bad in my book! Our room (room 58) was lovely although we thought we would be getting a double and it was a twin but it didn't bother us, it also had a sitting area with a sofa and fireplace and a small writing desk under the window. The room was cleaned daily, and like others we got hot water bottles at night. We really ate well during our stay, it was buffet but mostly a good selection of hot food and the waiting staff were really good and we enjoyed a good few chats with them. The grounds of the hotel were well kept and pretty although not extensive but given the area that's not a surprise. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and felt that it was really good value.

Room Tip: Room 58 is huge and has a sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Elgin Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Madame !

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel and services . We are sorry that we could not give you a double room as this was not requested in advance by your travel agent .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Having arrived in the hotel after a long flight, we were pleasantly surprised at the warm reception and the location of the hotel. With beautiful views from the garden ,despite being just below mall road( albeit a steep climb for city folks) and an old world charm this hotel spelt class.Good food spread,impeccable service and an eversmiling staff made it a memorable experience. Kudos Mr.Oberoi and the team for their high standards.Do not forget to play the the pet dogs in the premises!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Elgin Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Sir & Madame !

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel , services and the fluffy dogs .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at the Elgin for 4 nights and had a lovely time there. The rooms are great and very clean and comfortable , and there is the added bonus of a hot water in your bed at night! The staff are all very helpful and friendly. There are some lovely fluffy dogs that live there too!

Room Tip: We booked the suite for an extra Rs1000 a night (roughly) as travelling with a small child - very la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Elgin Darjeeling, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Sir & Madame !

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We look forward to serving you and the family once again in the near future, thank you once again for your appreciation of the hotel , services and the fluffy dogs .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The journey from Bagdogra was quite tortuous but we were made very welcome on arrival at the Elgin. The stove in the lobby was very welcome, as were the hot water bottles each night. We asked to change room as we were originally on the 2nd floor at the back, near the road, and could hear a constant noise of traffic. We were given a delightful room on the ground floor, which was much quieter. Our fellow travellers in the upstairs rooms hardly slept through the night due to the noise from traffic, monkeys, dogs, etc. The food in the hotel was excellent, and the bar area was very convivial. Be warned however - it was suggested that we asked for sandwiches to be made up for our journey. These turned out to be the most expensive sandwiches we've probably ever had and were extremely small and stale.

Room Tip: Don't have a room near the back road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Elgin Darjeeling, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Sir !

We thank you for choosing The Elgin Darjeeling as your preferred hotel of stay ! We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you by some of the external noise beyond the hotels perimeter and compound coming from passing cars . While we try our best to keep the environment within the hotel compound as clean and quiet as possible , external noise coming from distant areas of the town is almost impossible and beyond the hotel managements control as is the case with the rest of India . We have also made a note of your complaint that the morning sandwiches were not up to your liking .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elgin Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgin Darjeeling

Address: 18 HD Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#6 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#8 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elgin Darjeeling 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin is the oldest hotel in Darjeeling. Built in 1887, it is now a luxury heritage hotel hotel completely restored to its former grandeur.Originally owned by the the royal family of Cooch Behar, the property was leased and run by a succession of British families, the last being Madame Nancy Oakley.It was then bought by the late Kuldip Chand Oberoi of the Oberoi family of hoteliers fame and has been ever since run by his son Diamond Oberoi to the present day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elgin Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgin Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Elgin Hotel Darjeeling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elgin Darjeeling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.