We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and excellent staff!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Grace Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Summit Grace Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Summit Grace Resort & Spa
Dr. Zakir Hussain Road, Jalapahar, Darjeeling 374101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 84 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel and excellent staff!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Awesome view of Kanchunjunga on a clear day. The hotel is for lazy people like me who likes to sit and relax when on vacations. Room service was good and staff was extremely courteous. One of the better vacations I had.

Room Tip: Don't go for suites, unless you want more than two people to stay in one room. They are pretty u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    35
    22
    9
    13
See reviews for
46
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

stayed in this property in for two days 22 n 23 feb on honey moon pacakge..Actually we booked Suite as we came from Gangtok..we had checked in evening of 22nd we have put into deluxe room instead of suite..as we were not knowing we had spent that night in the room..in the morning just having discussion with other guest on breakfast said they are staying suit n there was some electric problem happened in suite section..these guys dint even inform us that we are stay put in deluxe room..on complaining they dint even had the courtesy to apologies..& asked us that we can shift now to Suite..moreover there is person front desk guy by name RUDRA never seen such a rude & arrogant guy in my life time in of the tourist places..they have just gave a discount of 800 rs for staying deluxe room that also we need to fight..felt like cheating as we had honey moon package for a luxurious value & any of person dint carry any kind of remorse on their faces on complaining..even felt some kind of smell in their baths..

some good things were we had body massage as complimentary & the massage was really superb n worth..Food the restaurant guy Marcus was modest & food was really good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel in mid Feb 2014 when it was still very cold.
I had stayed in the suite rooms which are big enough to accommodate a family of four. But i feel that the space is not used optimally. Weird room planning. Washroom, siting space and luggage area is at ground level whereas bed is on first level. Very inconvenient. Washrooms are OK. Damp and foul smell was there on all three days of our stay. Fireplace is there in the room but they charge extra for the wood ( which were waste wooden planks obtained from a carpenter). On one day they didn't serve our request for lighting the fireplace. I had requested an extra pair of sleepers since the floor was extremely cold, but they refused to give saying "we only provide one pair per room". Room heaters are of no use, they provide heat only if you are less than one feet away from it. Rooms are not sound proof, one can easily hear what the neighbouring room guests are talking about. Main door is not secured enough. Location is not good, market is half an hour walk away. There is nothing nearby, except the view of Kanchenjunga, which is available in many other hotels in the vicinity of main market area. Had asked hotel to arrange for the sightseeing which they did as per the requirement, but i was disappointed to know that they had charged their commission extra, got to know this from the taxi driver. Breakfast is ok. On one day the manager himself promised to serve us a particular dish the next day (we didn't even ask) we never got that. I had no problems but why to promise something which you cant deliver later on.
In short, i wont recommend this hotel to anyone, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

One will be get confused with Summit Yashshree Suites and Spa. This is different and not in Summit group standard. Very much concessional rates are offered. But location is most inconvenient unless you have your own vehicle. It is not walkable from mall or no vehicle available. Though it is boasted a lot it’s an old house located in narrow lane with renovation. Reasonable Bhutani massage facility available. Only Japan temple is walkable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

View was awesome. Suite room was good. Small heater though was a low. Not a resort by any means. A bit far from main city but this was positive for us. Breakfast was awesome. Staff was good although more promptness is required. Heating needs to be improved considerably.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Pros:
1. Friendly staff.
2. great food in the restaurant.
3. many facilities - wifi, coffee maker etc.

Cons:
1. Ineffective water heater. (at least in the suite room in which i stayed)
2. located quite far away from the main town and not easily approachable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Hotel (I would not really call it a resort) is situated among the tallest reaches of Darjeeling, and offers splended views of the Kanchenjunga. It has an awesome balcony, which offers splendid views of the Town below as well.

The Hotel is clean, and has very friendly staff who always had a smiling countenance.

The inconveniences were too many to count, though

1. The location is quite a hassle, as it is up a steep incline where even cars like the Indica will find difficult to go up, reverse and come back down. But then, of course, this is a hill-station and not a metro city we are talking about. So, it is okay.

2. The rooms are extremely small and cramped. At least ours was. There was a bed which took 85% of the space in the room (excluding the bathroom), and did not give us room to move around much.

3. The heating facility in the room was left hugely wanting. They had a small heater which is the size of a Set Top Box which has to make do with the huge task of heating up the room when the outside temperature is around 5 degree celcius. If you complain, they will send you one more heater.

4. The bathroom was strictly utilitarian, but we could literally hear everything that was being talked from the room above us from within the bathroom. This was an extremely inconvenient thing.

5. The hotel arranges the Tiger Hill visit for the sunrise. However, we were left shouting at the top of our voices from inside the locked hotel, our cab waiting outside at 3:00 AM because there was no one who was "Guard on Duty" at the desk. Finally, we managed to wake someone up who knew someone else who had the keys and got us out in about 45 minutes.

6. The food is good, but they did not have - hold your breath - Darjeeling Tea! At Darjeeling! Also, the service could be improved a bit. We ordered pakodas and coffee and asked to be delivered at the balcony. They delivered in about 45 minutes, by which time the coffee had gone cold and the pakodas were hot and crisy once.

However, the place offers a nice experience... maybe because we did not experience anything else from other hotels in Darjeeling. We would visit again only if they give us better rooms and better bathrooms!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summit Grace Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Grace Resort & Spa

Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Road, Jalapahar, Darjeeling 374101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The one land that all men desire to see, and having seen once-by even a glimpse would not give that glimpse for the shows of the rest of the world combined" - Mark Twain. Nestled among the rolling mountains with the glistening Mt Kanchenjunga towering over the azure sky, Darjeeling fondly called "Queen of the Hills", provides a perfect gateway for those seeking to be in harmony with nature. This is the land of the muscatel flavoured Darjeeling tea revered by connoisseurs across the globe. This is the land of the world heritage Darjeeling Himalayan Railway where the century old miniature steam engine still chugs uphill vying for space with the fast disappearing Land Rovers. Graeme Westlake in his book 'An introduction to hill stations on India' refers to Darjeeling as having "A view Scarcely Unrivalled on Earth" and at Summit Grace we ensure you receive this in plenty. We welcome you to the land of the thunderbolt...the home to the finest tea in the world...Darjeeling! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Summit Grace Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Grace Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.