We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real coffee in Darjeeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonam's Kitchen

Sonam's Kitchen
142, Dr Zakir Hussain Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
9775960187
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 88 Restaurants in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Real coffee in Darjeeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We visited Sonam's Kitchen twice during our trip. It's very close to Andy' Guesthouse. Go there if you are craving decent bread and non-Nescafe coffee. It is a very small restaurant run by a sweet family. The food is mostly Western fare. While the restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, it does tend to close in between so check the hours, at least during low season.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    38
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have been wanting to try this lovely little restaurant for ages!! Finally we managed to try their breakfast this month. We started with lovely fresh brewed coffee, milk tea and hot chocolate. We ordered three set breakfast and banana/chocolate pancake. The set breakfast came with two eggs, tomatoes, cheese, toast and very interesting hash brown. The food is lovingly cooked by the owner..Sonam. The food was great but the company and service was excellent. The location is very convenient as you just need to walk past the horse stable at Chowrasta and take the first uphill road. Just ask and you will be there. Enjoy..

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Omlettes with Noodles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very Economical Restaurant with nice view. Loved their hospitality. We were damn hungry when we entered there..we ate ample amount of noodles with omlette ..I would recommend everyone to visit it if you go to darjeeling

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tiny restaurant, simple fare.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This tiny restaurant provided a freshly prepared ometette, yummy pancake and delicious coffee just when we were in need of it. The atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. Ideal when you need a break from Indian cuisine.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonam's Kitchen also viewed

Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 
Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 

Been to Sonam's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonam's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.