We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Courteous Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darjeeling - Silver Oaks, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Darjeeling - Silver Oaks, A Sterling Holidays Resort to your Saves list
Darjeeling - Silver Oaks, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ghoom Monastery Road, Darjeeling 734102, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 79 Hotels in Darjeeling
Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Warm and Courteous Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

i stayed here for 3 days with my extended family of 4 children under 12 and two elders over 70 and except for the approach road to the resort, i had nothing else to complain for, we had taken the food package and so every meal was covered and the stay was enthralling, we could not see the Kanchenjunga mountain due to clouds, we will definitely come back

Room Tip: choose the independent villas, they have a terrific view and you can avoid the kitchen banter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
23
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was here with my girlfriend in the months of december.
Our first holiday were great here. In sterling holidays, we experienced the best living experience.
Next time, i'll prefer it again.
Room services, fooding, bars were at their best.
But it is far enough from main market of darjeeling.
Well, hiring SUVs are the best options for hangouts.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were put up in regular apartments (three families in three rooms). Accommodation wise, it was simply excellent. Very spacious at the same time neat and clean. This place is remotely located so you will have to visit it with your friends. Only problem is very high costs of food. cooking arrangement is there so you can prepare your own food.

Room Tip: Regular rooms are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hello,
The 1st impression for Silver Oaks fell flat, as it was a pain to get through to the telephone operator. The landline just kept ringing & On calling the alternate mobile for the hotel, i was advised that the person carrying this mobile is on leave and i should call another number which happened to be switched off!
Anyways, moving forward, we were glad when we reached the hotel, as the rooms were nice and the staff appeared friendly. Spa was too good and so was the view of Kanchenzonga.
Evenings were fun, due to arrangements like Bonfire, Live Disco etc.
Unfortunately, that ends the "good" factor list for this hotel.
Food was way too expensive and sadly was not at all worth the money, to make things worse, there are no other good resturants around so there is nothing much one can do.

Room Tip: Please carry Maggi Noodles as they appear your best bet here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Darjeeling - Silver Oaks, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays! We are concerned about your experience.We have carefully noted down your concerns regarding the F&B Service. We assure you that we have made a serious note of this and will look into it.

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback on our rooms and staff's behaviour.

We hope that you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to showcase our true standards of service. We deeply value your feedback and want to thank you for taking the time out to let us know your views.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This was our second visit to the hotel in the hope that things would have changed since 2005(our first visit). Its worse than before. The entrance is scary....you can't even walk it up because it is so steep. Very inconvenient for elderly people. The food at the buffet was disgusting...no value for money and insufficient food. It tastes terrible and extremely expensive. The rooms are not at allmaintained well. The doors are rickety and the carpets are dirty. The bathrooms are stinking and most of the gadgets don't function. The gysers are unoperational and the heaters dont work. The utensils are dirty and they charge you if they have to wash it.....yet they are dirty. The trips offered by them are usually more expensive than if you take one on your own. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I think sterling members get the wrost rooms.....so don't become a member. They always have room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Darjeeling - Silver Oaks, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

We have noted down your feedback on the maintenance, cleanliness and F&B service. Please be assured that we are making the changes that will showcase our property in a way that earns your appreciation. We have started an elaborate renovation process across our resorts and we are sure that your future experiences with us will be one that will meet your expectations.

We deeply value your feedback and want to thank you for taking the time out to let us know your views.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Darjeeling - Silver Oaks, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darjeeling - Silver Oaks, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: Ghoom Monastery Road, Darjeeling 734102, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 79 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Darjeeling - Silver Oaks, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Holidays Silver Oaks is situated at an elevation higher than Darjeeling with sloping roofs and curving stairways that define the mystical beauty of the resort. Modern comfort at the resort is steeped in the tranquility of the surrounding mountains enhancing the charm of this lovely town. The view of the Himalayas on a clear day is spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Darjeeling - Silver Oaks, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darjeeling - Silver Oaks, A Sterling Holidays Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.