We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise close to Darjeeling !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tathagata Farm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tathagata Farm to your Saves list
Tathagata Farm
Mineral Spring Village, Darjeeling 734101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 84 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Chennai, Inde
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Paradise close to Darjeeling !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

If you like and search for calm, nature, good foods, and especially discussions and good relationship with local people, this place is for you ! Navin will be at your service indicated you the best options to discover villages and nice landscapes around. If you wish something, ask and quite sure you will have. Once again thank you Navin and your team for hospitality and for the potato mom for our daughter ;-)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PravinDarjeeling, Owner at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Stephane,

Thank you very much for taking time to write your excellent review for the farm.

We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with your family at our farm, enjoyed the food and the activities around. It was indeed our pleasure to have you here with us & interact with you. And also we are very happy that Elea enjoyed making & eating the Potato Momos.

Everything that we do will only be successful if and when our visitors enjoy and find value in it.

We hope to see you again someday!!

Thanking you on behalf of Tathagata Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
33
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Nothing makes me happier than to write rave reviews for those rare businesses that truly deserve praise. Tathagata Farm is one of them. I spent 6 nights there and it was definitely a highlight of my 6 weeks in India. First of all, Navin is wonderful. He is quick to respond to inquires, a great conversationalist, and eager to work with you to do whatever it takes to ensure your holiday is a success. I was pleasantly surprised to see how much personal attention and time he gives each guest. The rest of the staff is also very sweet and helpful.

The farm itself is beautiful and serene. It's about a 45 minute drive from Darjeeling which means it's away from the hustle and bustle of the city. I spent my days planting potatoes with a couple of the staff, milking the cow, reading my book, and going for strolls and bike rides through the nearby tea plantation. The whole place is nicely landscaped and my hut was simple but lovely. One of the things I liked the most was the food which is all cooked by the staff using local ingredients (some ingredients come from the farm itself).

If you are looking for a quiet holiday on a working farm, I highly recommend Tathagata Farm!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PravinDarjeeling, Owner at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Listzy,
Thank for completing the review for Tathagata Farm. It is incredibly good to know that you enjoyed your stay at the farm, enjoyed the food and the activities. We were happy to see you take part in potato sowing/planting and staff did enjoy the interaction with you too.
It is such a morale boost and humbling at the same time for us to see our visitors talk so highly of the farm. It is excellent to hear you mention that your stay with us was the highlight of your trip to India. It was a pleasure to have you here with us, interact with you and to share our handmade tea with you. Everything that we do will only be successful if and when our visitors enjoy and find value in it.
We hope to see you again someday!
Thanking you on behalf of Tathagata Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Tathagata with two friends and had a fantastic time: relaxing, fun, good food, nice beer, and Navin (the owner) is a lovely guy and a great host. We did a walk the first day through some villages near the farm and spent the second day exploring waterfalls at the bottom of the valley, both of which I'd recommend. If you;ve got a few days spare in Darjeeing then this a a great way to spend them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PravinDarjeeling, Owner at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Benjamin,
Firstly, thank you for the kind words for the farmstay. It is really great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the farm and the activities. To see travellers like yourself praise and write good things about the farm gives us great enthusiasm and drive to push for better delivery of not just the accommodation, but also the activities in and around the area. We are exploring more and trying to innovative therefore, we will soon be able to provide many other activities.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and experience the side off Darjeeling that most travellers do not know. And once again, thank you for the great review.

On behalf of Tathagata Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I and to friends were staying at Tathagata Farm for three days in the end og October. We had a really nice time, drinking homemade tea and learning about the process.
The people working there was kind, and they delivered tea in the morning, evening and night.
I really recommend you to try a homestay at a tea farm. And Tathagata is nice.
The food was very good and the rooms, or tents, had everything we needed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PravinDarjeeling, Owner at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Hege,
Thank you for completing the review for the farmstay. It gives us immense pleasure to read good words for the farm. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the simple hospitality. There is a constant push to deliver high quality experiential holidays to the trevellers and promote rural tourism in Darjeeling. Tathagata Farm and the staff is glad to have achieved this so far and reading your review gives us confidence that we are on a level delivering satisfying stays and activities at the remote corner of the world called Mineral Spring. We hope to see you again sometime and sip that hand made Darjeeling tea with you again.

On behalf of Tathagata Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The highlight of my India trip, idyllic tent nestled in the mountain. Waking up to mountain views and perfectly brewed home-rolled Darjeeling tea. The stay is what you make it, we spent the first day appreciating the views, reading books and drinking tea. On other days we went for long walks down to the river which led to the waterfalls. Navin and his staff were always helpful, accommodating and cooked delicious meals!

Room Tip: Tent was nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PravinDarjeeling, Owner at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Thanh,
Firstly, thank you for posting your review for Tathagata Farm. Secondly, for writing that your stay was the highlight of your India trip. This makes us incredibly proud yet we are humbled by your words for the farm. It is a pleasure to have our guests review the farm like this, and above all it makes us enthusiastic to do more to promote the village and the surrounding areas, work towards making the place better in the future.
We believe we are slowly getting there however a long way to go, till then we will enjoy our interaction with travelers like yourself, giving them with unforgettable experiences and memories to take home.

Thank you again for the kind words and an excellent review. We appreciate it here!

Pravin & Navin on behalf of Tathagata Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We did an eight-day trek in Sikkim, which at times was beyond challenging and actually really quite unpleasant. We kept ourselves going through the last couple of days with talk about where we were going to go next, fantasising about good food, comfortable beds, hot water and escaping the cold. Apart from the fact that it was still cold at night, I feel like we made a good choice staying here.

The views were great - you can see all across the valley to Darjeeling, and from the top of the farm you can see the Kanchenjunga range, the food was good and changed according what the guests wanted, and the accommodation was simple but more than comfortable enough. Navin was an outstanding host, making sure that everything was organised without us having to worry about transportation - we just turned up in Darjeeling and there was someone there to meet us, he showed us around the farm and all the guests were kept entertained in the evenings sitting round the fire with tea from the farm and a locally brewed wine drink that was a bit of an acquired taste.

The whole valley is an experiment in permaculture, organic farming and Fair Trade, if that's something of interest, there was a tour around the community and the neighbouring farms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PravinDarjeeling, Owner at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear James,
We hope you have reached home safely and that you are on high spirits.
Thank you for your kind words and the review for the farm. It was indeed a pleasure to host you and provide you with the experiences you enjoyed while staying with us.
We aim to not just promote the farm, but the entire village in itself where we grew and spend much of our time. We love to hear that travellers like yourself enjoy our simple stay and that they go back with good memories.
We're aiming for a sustainable growth of the farm and involve locals to facilitate rural tourism in the area, long way to go for us, but we are taking steps towards it slowly but steadily. We hope to deliver high quality experiences to travellers and it is great to know that you enjoyed your time with us at the farm.

Thanking you again.
Pravin & Navin on behalf of Tathagata Farm staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

What an incredible experience. If you go to Darjeeling, it is essential you at least visit this place. It gives tourist an opportunity to really experience what Darjeeling is. The setting here is simply stunning. The food amazing. What Navin (the owner) has set up is something to respect and appreciate as places like this are hard to find.

Get the REAL experience - see it for yourself!

Room Tip: We stayed in the tents which I would highly recommend, but all the accommodation is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PravinDarjeeling, Owner at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Jack,
Thank you very much for reviewing Tathagata Farm. We are so glad to hear that your experience staying with us was great. This encourages us to do more, strive to make the place better. There are plans in place to make the ambiance of the place even better. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to host you again in our simple farm. It is travellers like you, that makes the effort of promoting something like this all the worth in the world. So thank you again.

Kind regards
Navin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tathagata Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tathagata Farm

Address: Mineral Spring Village, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tathagata Farm is located in a rural village setting in a scenic part of Darjeeling, India. The place offers simple food, comfortable stay and hospitable staff and owner. It's a small and quaint little place to relax and unwind. There is great potential for short walks, treks, nature walks, tea garden visits and also take on mountain biking as an activity around the place or interact with the local village farmers who are proud of their village and their organic produce. Come and experience simplicity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tathagata Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tathagata Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.