We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon at Tathagata Farm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tathagata Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tathagata Farm to your Saves list
Tathagata Farm
Mineral Spring Village, Darjeeling 734101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 84 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon at Tathagata Farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We started off our honeymoon at Tathagata farm with an adventurous journey from Darjeeling in the 4 x 4 down a very bumpy road! All part of the fun to reach this lovely valley and farm. It is a fantastic place to stay for a few nights and enjoy the beautiful natural surroundings. Navin and his team are excellent hosts and very much promote responsible tourism. We enjoyed very much meeting his family and the food was fantastic! We highly recommend this place to anyone. We just relaxed and enjoyed the peace and quiet in our lovely log cabin. Starting off your day with some Mineral Springs tea on your balcony watching the sunrise was magical. There are also many activities you can enjoy if you're a little more energetic than us and Navin will organise for you. (fishing, walking, mountain biking etc)

Thank you very much Navin for looking after us so well and for organising the rest of our trip to Darjeeling. We loved every minute.

Sunil & Angela Agarwal

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PravinDarjeeling, Manager at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Sunil and Angela,

We are delighted to know that you had such a wonderful time at our farm. It was a pleasure hosting you. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed our tea and liked our simple atmosphere. We are indeed grateful for your patience and for being such a wonderful couple.

Look forward to having you back again someday!

Navin for Tathagata Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
33
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

A more perfect honeymoon could not be desired by us. My wife and I are both nature lovers and we wanted a honeymoon in a quiet, green place. We found the perfect place in Mineral Spring Village, and a perfect host in Navin Tamang.
Let us first be clear - this is about an hour away from the city, and needs to be accessed via some very bad roads. However, the drive is an experience in itself ! You see some excellent views and vistas along the road down to the farm, and you wonder how much more wonderful it could be if a better road was there.
The local people are extremely good natured and welcome you with smiling faces. The food is excellent. Both of us are vegetarians, and we got the very best of farm fare - the local IshKush, potatoes of every variety, sarson plant, dal, the local cabbage soup, milk from the farm cow. We even tasted the local brew - very strong but good nevertheless.
The host is extremely caring of our every need and the farm workers are always ready to help with a big smile on their face. Money is not a big driver in this part of the world, and it shows in the way the farm functions.
Special mention to the farm walk with the excellent guide Duraj - the farm cordinator for the area. We walked a leisurely five kilometers, most of the time Duraj was talking to us regarding the farming techniques for the area and we were able to slowly enjoy the scenery around us without being hurried in any manner.

USP - Serenity and the excellent food.

Things that would make us appreciate even more - An optional totally organic food menu, We wanted to detox after our wedding and ended up bingeing on the lovely local fare everyday. Good though!!

Call Navin and book your stay now !!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PravinDarjeeling, Owner at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Siddharth,

We would like to thank you first on your excellent review of our farmstay at Mineral Spring, we appreciate this very much and would like to share that we are constantly trying our level best to deliver the best stay for our travellers. We are fortunate to have travellers like you who share our passion for performance and delivery.
Its is great to know that you enjoyed village walk with Duraj, we will pass this feedback to him.
Thank you again for your constructive feedback on the total organic food, this is possible and thank you for the input on this.
Best wishes to you and your wife from Darjeeling.

Regards.
Navin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

To be clear this is not a quick drive to the town of Darjeeling but instead is in a village called Mineral Springs. Once you arrive you won't want to leave so plan your time in Darjeeling city then come to Tathagata Farm for some serenity and a lovely time. We planned on staying 2 nights and ended up loving the area and the conversations with Navin and the guide Duraj so much we stayed an extra night. There are two newly built huts and they are working on building another building with an eating area, official registration and a kitchen. There was plenty of food, boiled water and tea to keep us satisfied. There were lots of conversation about the local tea exchange and getting the farmers on board to be organic. There is a lot of good work being done in this village and those around it. Duraj took us on a tour around the villages so we could see the local farming practices in action and we enjoyed a lovely lunch at local home. The huts have running water, western style flushing toilets and two twin beds that can be pushed together. Hot water can be obtained by buckets from the staff. We were greeted every morning with a pot of tea which was very relaxing to enjoy with a good book on the patio of the hut. In the evenings we had conversations by the fire and enjoyed local beer and local wine called Raksi.
If you stay several nights the pickup and drop off in Darjeeling is complementary. The journey takes about 1.5 hours by jeep and is an awesome ride. Navin arranges that and he is also an excellent resource if there are other trips or activities you want to do while in the Darjeeling area. If you want to relax for a few days and enjoy some peace and quiet, stay here. If you have the slightest interest in farming organically, organic produce, organic tea, permiculture, or biodiversity, stay here. This is an amazing community to experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PravinDarjeeling, Owner at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Ms. Stephany,

Thank you for the great review for our simple farmstay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the village and the simple yet fulfilling experience you had during your visit recently.
We just wish that the road conditions improve so that the travellers have a smooth transfer to the village. But for the time being we will rely on the nature to make it a beautiful ride.
Farmers are now more involved and engaged to talk to the travellers and the visitors to the village and it gives us an incredible encouragement to work harder towards the over all development of the village and people.

Thank you again for the great feedback, we will look forward to host you again in near furture.

Kind regards
Navin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights and became good friends with the owner. It was one of my favourite places to stay. Beautiful surroundings! Beautiful and comfortable cabins overlooking a tropical valley of diverse permaculture. The food was excellent and evenings drinking 'roxy' next to the fire talking passionately about local knowledge and experiences. Navin, the owner, is the most hospitable man you're likely to meet. I really didn't want to leave. Infact, I returned to a month later with my girlfriend. I highly recommend this to anyone visiting near Darjeeling! Best wishes, Tom

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PravinDarjeeling, Owner at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Thomas,

Thank you very much for your review of Tathagata Farm. We are glad that you enjoyed the stay and our local stories during your visit to Mineral Spring. we will be happy to host you again and share our passion for rural tourism and community village stays. We are sure there will be plenty to talk about and share.

Thank you again and best regards
Navin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostrevor, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Our three night stay at Tathagata Farm was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to India.
We were two sisters and our two grown up sons travelling from UK, in our grandfather's footsteps (he is buried in Singtam Cemetery.
Navin is a wonderful host and an impeccable organiser. He pulls out all the stops to ensure that his visitors have a wonderful experience. He is passionate about the land and the local people and we learned so much from him and his team.
When you book this farmstay, you are not just booking comfy accommodation and delicious meals in a peaceful and scenic environment, but, in addition, a wonderful daily programme of activities carefully tailored to your wishes. Navin also offers a personalised service as a tour operator and he arranged a fabulous 5 day trek in the mountains for my son. He answers emails by return and takes care of all the arrangements which certainly takes the hassle out of planning a trip to a remote area.
Some of our favourite experiences were:
* celebrating Durga Puja with local families
* walkabout on the hillside with Deraj (farm manager) to learn about permaculture and meet the farming community
*joining in everyday activites such as feeding the cow, cooking on the wood fire, farming
*long, sociable meals by the side of the delightful pool
*swimming in the nearby river
*sitting on the verandah, enjoying the peace and quiet, outside our hut

A visit to Tathagata Farm is Indian hospitality and eco tourism at its best!

Room Tip: Huts have cosy verandah with lovely view of forested valley and twinkling lights of Darjeeling far a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PravinDarjeeling, Owner at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear Mrs. Bryony,

Thank you so much for your visit to Tathagata Farmstay. It gives us great pleasure to hear that your stay with us was the highlight of the trip. You and your family (friends) were great company and the stories you shared with us about your lives were incredible. We're trying our best to make our guests feel comfortable during their stay and i am glad you appreciate our hospitality. We would like to see more development on the side of community and their involvement in travel and tourism and believe that it is possible and equitable to involve local community and families in this area. We have already started our work with 3 local homestays in the area (one where you had a lunch during your village visit).
I will pass on your positive comments to Dheeraj (your local village guide). Thank you so much for your visit and we look forward to seeing you again someday.

Thank you.
Navin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This was a fantastic adventure for my four friends and myself.

First of all, this was quite possibly the EASIEST trip I have had the pleasure of participating in. My friend Grace did the booking through Navin with Mineral Spring Village / Tathagata Farms. He coordinated everything from the auto from the airport to our toy-train tickets to our walk through the hillside...everything. Simply amazing. I have worked in hospitality before and as a former employee from that industry I can soundly say I was blown away.

Mineral Springs is a great place to slow down, relax, learn some history about the region and its rich culture. Enjoy an evening with other guests (dinner is family style by the pool) and learn about organic tea farming.

Visit Tathagata Farm if you looking for an inexpensive getaway and an memorable experience completely different than that of the touristy Darjeeling Town.

Room Tip: IF the huts are available they have an attached shower while the guesthouses may not have attached s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear Deborah,
Thank you so much for the visit to our simple farmstay and staying with us for 3 nights. We were delighted to have you as our guest and hope that we did not fail to deliver. Thank you again for the great feedback. We will be constructing (very soon) some more rooms with attached bath and shower and make sure that all our guests have comfortable stay at our farmstay and community homestays at Mineral Spring. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We had booked our whole trip "Kalimpong-Sikkim-Darjeeling" through Tathagata Journeys and It was wise decision becoz it was well planned & organised. The best part was "followup with the client" on each day in order to customer satisfaction. Highlight of our trip was Farmstay- "amazing property"...close to nature and far away from hustle-bustle of city...attitude of staff members was very warming...My son had a great time over there becoz there is no such open place available in Delhi to play...Food was excellent...had first time experienced of Bar-be-que on bonfire at night. We all enjoyed a lot.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Tathagata Farm, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you Rama and family for being such a great and flexible guest. We indeed enjoyed much to host you at this simple farmstay. We'll make this place better as we go about adding value to it through creating great ambience and atmosphere. We would love to host you again in the future and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tathagata Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tathagata Farm

Address: Mineral Spring Village, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tathagata Farm is located in a rural village setting in a scenic part of Darjeeling, India. The place offers simple food, comfortable stay and hospitable staff and owner. It's a small and quaint little place to relax and unwind. There is great potential for short walks, treks, nature walks, tea garden visits and also take on mountain biking as an activity around the place or interact with the local village farmers who are proud of their village and their organic produce. Come and experience simplicity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tathagata Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tathagata Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.