We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay! It was fantastic!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of R.J. Resort

Save Saved
You added R.J. Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
R.J. Resort
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   The Mall | Opp Governor House, Darjeeling 734101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 78 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Loved our stay! It was fantastic!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was my first visit to Darjeeling, and after a lot of window shopping for a place to stay, I felt beckoned by the beautiful RJ Resorts. I was at first a bit apprehensive because of the price, but I saw the posted pictures on the web, and I decided that was it ! ... I was going to stay there.
I & my husband were guest at RJ Resort for seven days last October 2011.
I am sorry it took me one whole year to post my two pence. But as the adage goes.... "better late then never".
I keep visualizing our stay at R J Resorts, and every time I conclude, ours was a lovely stay.
First of all I found it as a unique setting, as it is an underground hotel. The reception Lobby was the the Fourth floor. And we had to take the lift a flight down to the third floor, to our room. which was across the Dining Hall named as The White Orchid, the ambience inside the hotel is just beautiful, We got a very good view from our very comfy room, which had all the amiities one could want. Well, even though the bathroom was a wee too small, yet it wasn't a very big deal... the managment always took special care to cater to all our needs. The Mall & shopping center was near, and the hotel took care of our outings & sight seeing, it was a pleasure.
I wish to extend our Thanks to the Director, Mr. Dinesh Singh and all his esteemed staff.
Our Heartiest Thanks to Unforgettable Mr. Tshering, "The Perfect Gentleman" who took special interest in all his guest and made them feel right at home. During meals he personally went from table to table to make sure that all the needs of his guests were satisfied. We will never forget his warm face & charming smile. He made our stay at the Hotel worthwhile.
We hope to see him again soon this year. We do miss him dearly,& all the boys who catered to us, Puran, Sunil, Viren, Ujjal, Anup & Chandan. We also miss Ms. Kaushalya Rai, Ms. Shanti Rai, Upasna, & other ladies who greeted us daily. They are all honest & hardworking people, I wish the hotel guest would treat them like humans, and not servants, they all hail from good family.
We extend our Thanks to Mr. Rajesh & Mr. Dorji, who always were very cordial & warm, in their dealing with us & everyone.
I Wish every one of them well & hope that God will shower them with Special Blessings & keep them from harms way. We wish to Thank our driver Mr. Roshan, who was with us from the start till departure.
Mr. Tshering, hope you get guests coming in droves all year round in this beautiful Resort.
Thanks Again for everything.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    16
    9
    7
    8
See reviews for
32
15
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have stayed in the resort for 3 days and the resort made our trip a really memorable one... Staff members are very pleasant, helpful and conscious about even the smallest requirements....Hotel rooms are clean, airy and beautifully decorated….We got the beautiful mountain view from every corner of the room.....Courtesy and hospitality of the resort is unforgettable…. Overall, if we again plan to visit Darjeeling, the first choice will always be “R.J. Resort”

Room Tip: Choose a room at the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on an all inclusive package with breakfast, lunch and dinner. I think it was the monsoon season and off peak period as during the time we were here, we did not encounter any other guests at all. During our meals time, we were the only people dining in.
So been the only guests, we were given all full attention by the staff, got rooms with view and a very friendly manager who kept making sure our needs are attended to at all times.
This hotel is quite new, the room is of good size, very comfy bed and with nice view over the valley. Downside is the shower cubicle is rather small. Location wise is close to chowrasta, the main shopping area which is a 5 minutes walk away.
As mentioned, we had all our meals in the hotel and the food was pretty good. As a non indian, we find the curry very tasty and so is the capatti and naan !
Overall, we had a very pleasant stay here. I guess sometimes holidaying during the off peak season can be a good thing too.

Room Tip: Room on the 4F is good, same level as the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed there for two nights in mid june.. after a disapponting stay in dekeling hotel.. Everything was good.. The location was good.. walking distance from chourasta..very peaceful and green..The place was adorned by huge brass statues..room size was decent.. service was good.. food(buffet) was good.. the managers were very warm and helpful..and the best part was that it was very reasonable( got off seasonn rates).. Only negative point was the claustophobic shower cabins..Otherwise overall excellant stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karnal, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

wonderful experience with this property. location is just wonderful, rite next to mall road. this is a newly constructed property and rooms are very good. the overall ambience of this place was really great and service is very good as well. we had buffet breakfast as a part of package and it was great. there were lot of delicacies and waiters were very courteous. i rate highly of this property and recommended travellers of the same.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The worst service ever. Hotel looks good but the goodness ends there! We were served lunch after 2 hours of ordering and still didn't get what we wanted!

There is no view in ANY of the rooms and they refused to change the rooms though the extra bed would not fit in!

We lost a watch in one of the 3 rooms that we booked - and housekeeping didn't find it!

The showerhead fell on my head while taking a shower!

And in the final bill they added some other room's bill to our bill!

The Manager as well as the owner was least interested in our problems and I saw at least 2 other guest upset about some or the other services during my 2 day stay!

After paying upfront we expected better service as well as rooms. It spoilt the entire mood of our holiday. This wasn't my version of a pleasant & comfortable stay

Room Tip: None of the rooms have a view. However corner rooms towards the back of the hotel (series 1 like 101...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unid, General Manager at R.J. Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Sir!
We apologise for your negative experience in our Resort. Our Director had personally met you in the lobby regarding the issues and complaint you had lodged. He had even offered you complimentary dinner as you were the only guest who were booked in our property during the said period on Bed and Breakfast basis. Regarding the rooms we had offered you two view side and on atrium facing room. The extra bed was in room No.102 and it was to be removed as per your instruction but later it was decided not to be removed by your family as room no 102 ( Size 22ft X 12ft) is a comfortable big size room.
We have a very strict policy of guest left overs and while check out also no watch was found in your three rooms. We apologise sincerely for one of the bills which was by mistake posted in your room by it was corrected immediately as a provisional bill was placed to you.
Any how we believe that you have left with sour memories and we could not keep up to your expectations. We will surely try to improve our services mainly F&B department and our humble request will be to see you again when ever you visit our Beautiful Darjeeling

Sorry for the inconvenience one again

Management
R.J. Resorts Ltd.
Darjeeling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vasad
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

my experience regarding the hotel was superb. right from the minute you enter the hotel reception till u leave back. Mr. dorji ,Anand at d reception were there for u all the time and the manager Mr.Shirin was soooo over whelming. My daughter had fallen sick all of a sudden, they arranged for a Dr. immediately and he was the best. all went well n it had become difficult for us to say a good bye to all of them there. as far as rooms n food is concerned.................all was too good.

Room Tip: rooms on fl one r quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to R.J. Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R.J. Resort

Address: The Mall | Opp Governor House, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — R.J. Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, MakeMyTrip, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your R.J. Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage R.J. Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.