We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful done up hotel with warm hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Revolver

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Revolver
Save
You added Revolver to your Saves list
110, Gandhi Road | Behind Union Chapel, Darjeeling 734101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful done up hotel with warm hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights at the start of my north east ride. Great little place with nice views, heated water in bathroom and splendid service.
Would definitely return back here again. Keventers etc are a 5 min walk away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    34
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
43
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We statyed at the Hotel in December for 2 nights. The booking procedure was very smooth and Vikash teh owner was very helpful. The rooma are nice and cozy and special care is taken to clean teh room daily. Thanks Vikash for teh wonderful trip and stayy in Darjeeling

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights at Revolver and in that time I found the service to be outstanding, the conversations memorable and the vibe relaxing.

Their Naga food was cool and listening to the Beatles always puts you in a good mood.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was here during March 2012. Thoug location is a bit away from the famous Mall, still it is worth to stay here. On a clear day you can see the Snow peaks from room.
No words is more for the staying experience here, though the entrance is a bit shabby, but believe me, you will love every inches of the hotel when you are in. This is the hotel I recomended 3 friends of mine without hesitation for their family trip at Darjeeling, and everybody was just amazed like me.

The owner was friendly, they did not even asked for a booking advance when we booked it.

Only thing we did not like, is the option of food. Do not try the thalis here unless you are used to eat foods which you are not used to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I am Abhi from Bangalore. We booked George Room for 3 of us for two days. When we reached, we were welcomed by Vikash and in no time we were felling at home. Rooms was very clean and tidy. We were all feeling very cold but we had was electric bed so we did not require any additional heater. There was no problem for hot water as there was gas heaters and we could get hot water at any point of time. there was WiFi facility with good connectivity so browsing or uploading photos were not at all a problem. You can also spend some time watching TV and a pen drive with full of songs from Beatles.. Revolver also has good collections of books, you can take a look if your voracious reader and like exploring books:). Vikash arranged one day Darjeeling trip for us though his personal cars were already booked. We even took tips from Vikash on what to buy and where to buy :). Shopping centers are also at walk-able distance. He also gave us the right guidance and contact details so that we could travel ahead towards Gangtok. Not to forget Sarvan who helped us with our luggage and our breakfast was very helpful to us.
People in Darjeeling are very calm, down to earth, humble, very kind and always helpful.. so you wont have any kind of trouble with people.

Over all it was a wonderful personal experience. I would strongly recommend travelers to have a revolver experience if they happen to plan a trip in Darjeeling.

Thanks to Vikas and Asenla who are running this Home-stay and catering to travelers needs with almost care :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is not a hotel, but a family run bungaow.
They have divided the 1st floor into 5 rooms, after 4 Beatles & their manager.
Each room is diff, & the John room (1st on the left) appears the biggest.
John & Paul are corner rooms with double windows, so they are brighter. They face west, so early sunrays will not wake U.
The George room is also a corner room with double windows; as big as John, but facing east, so it is not for late risers.

PROS
Very clean, so well liked by foreigners
Vikas & Asenla, the owners, take a personal interest & go out of their way to help U plan your sightseeing & Itenary.
They also work too hard in running this bungalow all by themselves, with only 1 temporary cook & 1 helper for room service & porterage.
Yes, they provide free porterage too, which most Europeans are not used to.
They have invested in an extremely comfy 12 inch electrically heated mattress. Heating is fully adjustable--temp & duration, etc
Besides cable TV channels, they have Beatles songs & videos pre-programmed on the LED TV
They have a unique gas heater, to have uninterrupted hot water, even during power failure, (which is Very common in Darjeeling, though we didn't experience any)
A lovely playstation 3 to have a Beatles Karaoke psingalong or play games like tennis, etc. This is available free for all guests in the lounge / hall cum restaurant
The Continental platter @ Rs180 is delicious, The Naga platter @Rs80 is healthy & cheap
Only Cappuchino @Rs60 is expy by darjeeling standards (where momos cost Rs 10 for 4)
The rooms are v.reasonably priced.
Brian room @Rs 800 is very cheap--Acc. to Vikas, this is bcos the water pressure here is worse then the others (acc to Vikas)

CONS
Since the water heater runs on gas, the window of the bathroom has to be left open (with a small curtain). Also, an exhaust fan must be kept on for air to circulate; for oxygen to feed the flames. This gives U a draft while bathing & is a bit chilly. We didnt get any smell of gas while bathing.
The water pressure is too low, not suitable for a shower. So, u need to have a bucket bath!
No tray below the bathroom mirror, to keep toiletries. I told Vikas this & he said he would fix trays soon.
The entrance is not impressive. It is through the Open School carpark, then down a muddy lane (But this is not a problem, & there is nothing they can do about it)

All in all a lovely experience. My entire family enjoyed staying here, more than all the other regular 2* hotels on our long 17N tour

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

In this town full of exchangable, anonymous hotels, this family-run place is a true lucky strike. Revolver is a very friendly, personal, heartful and stylish hotel where you immediately feel at home.

We spent about two weeks here and really fell in love with this place: it's well situated in the centre of town but still quiet. The place is very clean, the service brilliant - you get everything from wifi and books to travel tipps.

Moreover, Asenla and Vikash were helpful in every way, caring when my boyfriend got sick and gave us a great insight into history and culture of India's northeast.
They even supply you with selected novels by regional authors, perfect for a cozy evening in the heated beds.
In their restaurants they serve unique Naga dishes, outstanding in taste and all freshly prepared.

Revolver is different from most hotels on many levels and perfectly works as a rolemodel for modern tourism in India.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Revolver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Revolver

Address: 110, Gandhi Road | Behind Union Chapel, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revolver, Darjeeling is a small, cosy hotel with five rooms. When the owners decided to start a small hotel, being fond of music, particularly the Beatles, the owners decided to base the decor on the Beatles memorabilia that they had collected over the years. Accordingly, the hotel was named after the most critically acclaimed album of the Beatles.Based on guest feedback, since the latter half of 2012, all the rooms have been made non-smoking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Revolver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.