We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Padmaja Naidu Himalayan Zoological Park

Padmaja Naidu Himalayan Zoological Park
Jawahar Parbat, Darjeeling, India
0354-54250,53709
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Padmaja Naidu Himalayan Zoological Park like an insider
Private Tour
$701*
and up
4-Day Private Tour to Darjeeling from Kolkata...
Ranked #2 of 83 things to do in Darjeeling
Attraction details
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Its worth a go for some of the mountain species you can see here. Kids would enjoy, and so did we. Its a part of the same campus which houses the Himalayan Mountaineering Institute. I recommend a nice long uphill walk from the park to the chowrasta, specially around evenings with the setting sun. Its a beautiful walk. This is from outside the main gate, walking up past some of those fancy expensive hotels and the governors bunglow. You get good view of the town as well

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    227
    74
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Small but nice zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The zoo is small but beautifully planned. You get a good workout walking around the place as you go up and down on either side of the animal enclosures. Dont miss the Snow leopard and the Red panda. Especially dont miss the Himalayan Mountaineering Institute located inside the zoo.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Display of Himalayan Wildlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Though we started early in the morning for sightseeing and entered the zoo at 10:00 am, it took us more than 3 hours to go through the whole place. The zoo is well maintained, has good and innovative exhibits (constructed on slopes but still provide comfort & recreation to the animals in it) and has a canteen and souvenir shops as well.

The animals in the zoo range from Himalayan Deer, Bharal (blue mountain goat), Snow Leopards, a black panther, and black bears. The zoo also has a variety of birds (though most are exotic breeds), monkeys that do all sorts of tricks and many other, smaller cats.

Of course, one can also find the cuddly red pandas in the zoo, and there are about 3-4 exhibits showcasing red pandas.

If one wants to photograph such animals, then the zoois a great place to come to. I took almost 350-370
pictures of all the cats and birds, and unfortunately for me, my cam's battery ran out by the time I got to the pandas.
A good place to visit if you're on a sightseeing tour in Darjeeling.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Didn't expect too much coming to the zoo here and was blown away. Great array of big cats (leopards, tiger panther) and other interesting animals (bear, red pandas, wild cats). Himalayan Mountaineering Institute is inside the complex which adds to the experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good Zoo, But poor animals are almost in a jail”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

It was a nice climate when we visited the zoo. We were more fascinated by the birds pooping and flying on trees in natural environment rather than those kept in the cages. Even the Royal Bengal Tiger, Black panther and Chittah were looking at the visitors helplessly from the cages. One thing for sure that few of the Indian visitors are really stupid!! A family from Kolkata was trying to tease the Chittah with a stick. The child was tickling the Chittah. Ultimately we had to complain to the security. But the silly father argued that they had paid for the tickets!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padmaja Naidu Himalayan Zoological Park also viewed

Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 
Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 

Been to Padmaja Naidu Himalayan Zoological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Padmaja Naidu Himalayan Zoological Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.