We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Restaurant

The Park Restaurant
Laden La Road | Near State Bank Of India, Darjeeling 734101, India
(0354) 2255270
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 84 Restaurants in Darjeeling
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Very good Indian food even though the board outside shows Thai cuisine only. Quick service. But please note that they do not accept credit cards.Centrally located. Convenient for tourists as it is very close to Mall.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    41
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Two excellent dinners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Looking for a restaurant where I could invite some friends, I found the Park had excellent food and a pleasant ambience.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Thai???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We visited the restaurant recently during our visit to Darjeeling after seeing the reviews on this page. Well, the food was nothing much to write home about. We ordered for thai meal and the first thing we ordered was Tom Yam Kum. We were politely informed by the waiter that prawn was not available so we asked for Chicken Tom Yam. What was served was anything but Tom Yam. Looked more like a souped up curry but with lemon grass - ha ha! It was hilarious. However the rest of the meal was not that bad. Chicken Cashewnut and Som Tam was nice.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Best in town?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Great food, good value. Quite similar to Shangri-La.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“delicious and value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This was a gem, especially in darjeeling. Suggested by a friend who lives there. Five of us went there and I was not really expecting much untill the I reached the place and it said THAI FOOD, now thats my weak point and most favourite food having spent 3 years in bangkok. Then again I wasn't really expecting the real thai in darjeeling. But boy I was amazed, when I looked at the menu they had quite a few choices available for thai dishes and I choose som tam(the papaya salad, my favourite), chicken in basil leaves and pad thai. And believe me I ate most of it, the other four weren't really fan os thai food. And I managed to finish most of it. The papaya salad was authentic thai and I ate all of it. Pad thai wasn't quite like thailand but nothing to complain.
I can't say much about the indian food there but my friends had it and they said it was fine. And the I loved it even more when the bill came in. All my thai food and the Indian food for my friends and we paid just Rs. 1000 for all of it. Tats like Rs.200 per person. And if I take out my thai food we only paid like 100 Rs. each. So totally worth it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Park Restaurant also viewed

Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 
Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 

Been to The Park Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.