We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World with a view of the Mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenary's

Glenary's
Nehru Road | Ganeshgram, Darjeeling 734101, India
03542258408
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 84 Restaurants in Darjeeling
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Gurgaon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Old World with a view of the Mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Ideal place to be at in Darjeeling - is a must go to every day!!
Enjoy the open ambience and the good view from the vast open windows that Glenary's has. The bakery items - be it the muffins, pastries, breads, puffs are all so well done and complement them with Darjeeling Tea and you are done!

Well served, and taken care of, you can just be with yourself and spend a long time here and yet not get done with the place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nita E, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your review on trip advisor . We are so happy to know that you have enjoyed our products and place. We congratulate our staff who work tirelessly everyday to serve our customers better. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    199
    70
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Too Good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Relax, let your hair down, have a cuppa of pure Darjeeling Tea and their own Apple Pie, enjoy. If you need to just uncoil yourself and let loose this is the place you don't want to miss.. Food is yummy, try their own pastries, cakes and hot cup of Tea. Breakfast is very good. Lives up to its name, unlike the other one. I would love to be here again and again...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nita E, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us. We are so glad that you have enjoyed your experience here with us and we hope to see you here again. With heartfelt appreciation and warm wishes from us all here at Glenary's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durgapur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old World Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is the one cafe I would love to visit again and again ! In fact I am doing that since last 13 years ! Its a charming little place with a lot of character. If you like to start your day with a scrumptious and hearty English breakfast, this is the place for you ! One can have a pot of piping hot tea or coffee with mouth watering cakes, pastries , scones and cheese cakes and not to forget the devine lemon tart !
Glenary is the reason, me n my family , specially my children love to visit Darjeeling over and over again !

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nita E, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review on us. We were delight to go through your review and this has simply made our day. We are fortunate to have customers as yourselves visit us and we hope that this relationship continues thought generations to come. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Goes by the name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Glenary's have been our dream destination in Darjeeling from our childhood. How we loved to have our breakfast there as a child. But now, the breads, the croissants, the pastries - they all seem to be tasteless. But yes they provided a great continental lunch.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nita E, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your review and also for re visiting us again. Yes a lot has changed over the past years with new technologies machinery replacing old with new but we do try and keep some old traditions and recipes alive. We are so glad that you have come again and enjoyed our lunch here.I do hope you will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Colonial Restaurant of Darjeeling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The cakes are good. The chocolates are horrible and they fleece customers. I bought some chocolate with nuts and to my surprise I found only peanuts in them. The price was also very steep and at that price you can get better Swiss chocolates. The service is even worse as they don't have credit card facilities for the diners at their restaurant. Just to have a Victorian feel you can visit once in your Darjeeling trip but regular visit is not suggested.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nita E, Owner at Glenary's, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
First of all I would like to apoligize that the credit card machine was not working although we have 3 different machine of different banks on each floor yet all the links were down for which we have called our banks and informed them and they have corrected the issue. May, is usually our busiest month in the year and yes we do get a bit tied down on service but, it is not on purpose but we still are sorry . We would suggest you next time if you do visit us to try our liquor chocolates , rum and resin .praline chocolates . We hope that you will visit us again and we will be able to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenary's also viewed

Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 
Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 

Been to Glenary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenary's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.