We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot snacks on a cold evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frank Ross Cafe

Frank Ross Cafe
Nehru Rd, Darjeeling, India
(0354) 2258194
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 84 Restaurants in Darjeeling
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Hot snacks on a cold evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

this is the destination for the veggies to have a decent snack as you roll on shopping in Darjeeling. The cost is almost like anyother restaurant you go and the service was fast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    22
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and prompt service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Some of the best dishes we had in our trip to darjeeling. Good aalloo parattas, Bombay sandwich, nachos, pizza etc. very good for the price they are charging. Ambience of the cafe is good, do try out the combos of the day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrible food, terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We went here on the basis of Lonely planet recommendation (fast becoming a watchword for avoidance). We ordered Tacos and Enchiladas for Rs100 each. The food arrived 20 minutes later and we couldn't believe how small the portions were. One tiny enchilada (cut in half presumably to fool us into thinking it was two) and an equally unimpressive taco. The enchilada was packed with chopped chili and little else so was inedible - we are used to spicy food but this was nothing like any Mexican we have ever encountered. The taco was cold so we asked the bemused staff to make it hotter and they begrudgingly pinged it int he microwave for a further minute. No apology. The contents were worse than the enchilada - cheese and baked beans.

Avoid this overpriced junk food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice place for vegetarian snacks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The place is nice for vegetarian people and serves decent food. Do not try to order bruschettas or things like that because I was disappointed by the chef in those areas.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Charming bistro with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

A small unobtrusive place which has really good vegatarian food. There is a wide variety to choose from including South Indian, North Indian, Pizzas, etc and they are all good. A few steps up from the popular and crowded Hasty tasty, this place is slow and tasty.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank Ross Cafe also viewed

Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 
Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 

Been to Frank Ross Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank Ross Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.