We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Fairmont is not just a hotel, it's an experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairmont Hotel
10 Gandhi Road, Darjeeling 734101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 78 hotels in Darjeeling
Kolkata
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Fairmont is not just a hotel, it's an experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my 4 nights staying with my family here at Fairmont in the month of April 2013. The view from the window was fascinating and so also the room atmosphere. The owner and the staffs were very cooperative and responsive..they always took real care of our need and requirements with smiling faces..It's precisely located in between the Mall and the Big Bazar area where most of the shops and quality restaurants are around in plenty..I visited many hotels in the Hills so far but very few of those took a space in remembrance along with the place..I strongly recommend Darjeeling as 'A Must Visit' place and Fairmont as 'A Must Stay' once and get addicted for ever.

Room Tip: Try to take the rooms facing the hills and not close to the adjacent roads for a quieter experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arunachal Pradesh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel for 3 nights with my family and the stay was pleasant with clean room, washroom and functional geyser. The hotel is best for those travelling on budget. The mall is close by and also all the shopping areas and the Rink Mall.

The only minus problem was the food at the hotel as, they get the food from other restaurant. But on the brighter side, we got to eat dinner and lunch at all the different restaurant everyday.

Special mention for the manager Mr. Jeff. He was helpful and friendly. Hope everyone has as pleasant stay as ours.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for three days in April 2013. It is located close to the Mall and walking distance to good restaurants and shopping. The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms were big. Good for family and base for touring Darjeeling. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The guy in the reception is okey. He speaks good english and provide quick answers to questions. Big local knowledge. Room is nice everything was working. Nice view. I can recomend without doing the wave.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Rooms are good. Geezer are available here. You can take fresh air from your room. But I had a great problem there. Some of there employees are not good. They behave badly with us. The owner being very rude with us. When I asked him to return my passport early, he said as it is Bangladeshi passport, it is useless. He has some customers who gave him diplomatic passport. He threw my passport as like my passport is useless. So I'll never ever go there again.

Room Tip: Hill view rooms are the best for travelers so that they can view the morning scene and can take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed in this hotel from 9th to 13th March-2013. Overall it was a good experience. Quite pocket friendly yet good. 24 hours hot water is available. Owner & all the staffs were quite helpful and friendly. They guided us for a wonderful Darjeeling tour thro' good restaurants as well as local travel tips. Room and the hotel was kept super clean all the time. Location is very good, very near to Mall and all the famous outlets like Glenary's, Keventers, Nathmull's, Kunga etc.

Only at the last day, I had a bitter experience. During check-in, I negotiated with the Manager at a rate inclusive of tax and almost everyday I reminded him and son of the owner regarding the same. However, at the very last day,they insisted that I have to pay in cash or have to pay extra. This was not professional attitude at all and somehow felt bad after all those good experience.

Room Tip: Room no. 118 - Super Deluxe is a very good room and Kanchenjunga can clearly be seen on sunny days f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamnagar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We loved this conveniently located hotel. The owners/staff were helpful, english speaking. It is hardly 10 min walking distance from Mall road. So it was great to have frequent in and out for eatery, shopping etc. Owner was quite friendly and helpful. Rates are too moderate compared to service provided. Water and power was available for all time. I would recommend this place for all travellers to Darjeeling.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel

Address: 10 Gandhi Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 78 hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fairmont Hotel to your Saves list