We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairmont Hotel
Save
You added Fairmont Hotel to your Saves list
10 Gandhi Road, Darjeeling 734101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 80 Hotels in Darjeeling
Arunachal Pradesh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel for 3 nights with my family and the stay was pleasant with clean room, washroom and functional geyser. The hotel is best for those travelling on budget. The mall is close by and also all the shopping areas and the Rink Mall.

The only minus problem was the food at the hotel as, they get the food from other restaurant. But on the brighter side, we got to eat dinner and lunch at all the different restaurant everyday.

Special mention for the manager Mr. Jeff. He was helpful and friendly. Hope everyone has as pleasant stay as ours.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for three days in April 2013. It is located close to the Mall and walking distance to good restaurants and shopping. The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms were big. Good for family and base for touring Darjeeling. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The guy in the reception is okey. He speaks good english and provide quick answers to questions. Big local knowledge. Room is nice everything was working. Nice view. I can recomend without doing the wave.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Rooms are good. Geezer are available here. You can take fresh air from your room. But I had a great problem there. Some of there employees are not good. They behave badly with us. The owner being very rude with us. When I asked him to return my passport early, he said as it is Bangladeshi passport, it is useless. He has some customers who gave him diplomatic passport. He threw my passport as like my passport is useless. So I'll never ever go there again.

Room Tip: Hill view rooms are the best for travelers so that they can view the morning scene and can take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed in this hotel from 9th to 13th March-2013. Overall it was a good experience. Quite pocket friendly yet good. 24 hours hot water is available. Owner & all the staffs were quite helpful and friendly. They guided us for a wonderful Darjeeling tour thro' good restaurants as well as local travel tips. Room and the hotel was kept super clean all the time. Location is very good, very near to Mall and all the famous outlets like Glenary's, Keventers, Nathmull's, Kunga etc.

Only at the last day, I had a bitter experience. During check-in, I negotiated with the Manager at a rate inclusive of tax and almost everyday I reminded him and son of the owner regarding the same. However, at the very last day,they insisted that I have to pay in cash or have to pay extra. This was not professional attitude at all and somehow felt bad after all those good experience.

Room Tip: Room no. 118 - Super Deluxe is a very good room and Kanchenjunga can clearly be seen on sunny days f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamnagar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We loved this conveniently located hotel. The owners/staff were helpful, english speaking. It is hardly 10 min walking distance from Mall road. So it was great to have frequent in and out for eatery, shopping etc. Owner was quite friendly and helpful. Rates are too moderate compared to service provided. Water and power was available for all time. I would recommend this place for all travellers to Darjeeling.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We loved this place because not only is it comfortable and conveniently located, but the owners/staff were incredibly sweet and helpful (and all spoke fluent English). They provided recommendations to ensure my wife and I had wonderful Darjeeling experience. For example, the owner drew a map for us to go on a challenging day hike, provided critical traveling tips, and offered great restaurant recommendations. The laundry service was also quick and of top quality. The owners are very kind to animals too, as they care for injured stray dogs (this was refreshing to see).

Overall, great place to stay on a budget in central Darjeeling.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel

Address: 10 Gandhi Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 80 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.