We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was an disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sanderling

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sanderling to your Saves list
Hotel Sanderling
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   H.D. Lama Road, | Darjeeling, Darjeeling 734101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 95 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It was an disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We booked it for 3 days and it was an disappointment. The entrance is the worst possible entrance for a hotel in a tourist spot. Lots of stairs towards to entrance and then lots of stairs up to the room. Employees are friendly but the service was not so good. The food was ok. For winter, they charge very high for the room heater. As an overall experience, I will not recommend it, there are lots of other hotels nearby with a better price and a better location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLRDarjeeling, General Manager at Hotel Sanderling, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

We are try to improve ourselves. I hope that on next time visit you will surely send us positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    1
    6
    17
See reviews for
27
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Its very near the main taxi stand. You will have to walk through a few very narrow lanes and climb a few steps to get to this hotel. Its a dark and dungy place and for once you will be surprised to know you have already entered a hotel (reception seems more like a garage which has carpets and couch). Its totally different than the pictures they have posted online. I am sure the pictures are from some other property or have been fabricated. In the hotel you will have to take further steps to go to your rooms. Staff is extremely arrogant and for every complaint you will hear you have booked via MakeMyTrip so talk to them. They have justification for every complaint. Called up their GM in Kolkata and it was even more frustrating - he said he cannot handle complaints as he is not at the hotel and there is no point talking to him. He was also totally illogical - he said single occupancy and double occupancy have same charges. So if there is a kid staying with one adult in one room, customer has to pay room charges plus extra for the kid. Luckily, MMT understood this as a false practice and followed up with the hotel for refund. Also, hotel apparently lied to MMT (as told by MMT) that we had taken an extra bed which we hadn't. Window on 4th floor had a good view of sunset and valley down, but there was also a view of an open water tank atop adjacent building with all kinds of filth in it. Food is worst I have ever had. We ordered tea and we got cups that were already used by someone - just disgusting!!!

Room Tip: just dont take a room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLRDarjeeling, General Manager at Hotel Sanderling, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

You have booked the room on double sharing basis through makemytrip but you have one child which age is not in complementary stage. So we just tell them to pay the extra amount to the hotel end but he is totally refuse the part. For that reason he is sending this type of reviews.

Our Hotel Sanderling, Darjeeling is very good in respect of my staff , room quality as well as the services. Our hotel is totally sold out during 20th May, 2014 to 31st May, 2014 as because of quality.So it is very pain full to see this type review after providing a great effort and service that we offer to our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I agree with the SandyM. I stayed in it for 2 nights ( My worst hotel in past 8 years )
It is really a horrible place to stay. The property is not worth even the half of the price they charge you. Very poorly managed shabby location, small rooms with filthy furniture and rags. the managers are not polite & helpful and only after the money.
Do go on the pictures posted on net, they are fake.. Very soon I will post the pictures of the entrance of the hotel. I feel that in older times it was a cheap lodge converted to a hotel. This is a leased property, so the only motto is to make money through web marketing.
HD lama road is far away from all the places so avoid it. You will exhaust all your energy walking up and down, Though Summit and Seven seventeen seems to be good hotels in this area.
My personal opinion is that if you are with a family and visiting Darjeeling then you should stay in a resort in out skirts or a good hotel like Elgin, Mayfair etc. or Zymkhana reosrt
(for location ) to make your visit memorable as overall Darjeeling is overpopulated and very filthy. It has lost its sheen and charm. Current West Bengal Govt is not improving this area due to Gorkhland demand from locals. So it is totaly neglected.
My personal opinion for north east: Go to Gangtok First have site visits then move to Namchi/Ravalong, (even Pelling has nothing much to offer) and try to stay in resorts as these are the places where you can feel and enjoy the mountains. Darjeeling shall be the last destination.( Visit before 15 May as once the rain starts you will miss all the views and landslides too become a problem)
But ready for the bumpy rides as most of the roads are in very bad conditions. Local travel is very costly as taxis rates are very high,
During my recent 8 days visit I stayed in following hotels/Resorts
1. Sanderling (Darjeeling) WORST not even recommended to enemies
2. Tashi Gang Resort ( Pelling) Very good (recommended)
3. Barfung Retreat ( Ravalang) Beautiful cottages but very isolated- off town
4. Natuk House (Gangtok) Very good, location, service and family run business ( highly recommended)
5. Montkling guest house(Gangtok) Ok but food is good

Rest every person has their own opinions and expectations so enjoy your vacations as you wish.

Room Tip: Dont get fooled yourself in name of view. As the rooms are so shabby that you cannot stay in rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLRDarjeeling, General Manager at Hotel Sanderling, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
First of all we are providing the guest Super Deluxe Kanchenjunga view room which is showing in our hotel website page. At that time of their check in the rainy season is going on so he gets the shabby thing. We are try to satisfy his all the requirement from our end but I think he is expecting more like Elgin , mayfair , Zynkhana resort where the chages Rs. 7,000 and above and he is almost one third of the amount.

We are feeling very down hearted to see all this negative messages after a great effort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Wrost location, approach to the hotel is stinky.
Even please do not book any hotel on HD Lama road as this road is pathetic.
Hotel is horrible. These guys are maintaining a very nice website and also their price is very high, which makes you belive that this is a good hotel.

There is no view from the hotel. All the reviews with better ratings are fake. please don't go to this stinky place.
Room was stinking, we had water leakage in bathroom. Overall this hotel spoiled our vacation.

Room Tip: Please book hotel Dekaling, that is better
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLRDarjeeling, General Manager at Hotel Sanderling, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Sir,

What ever you are saying this actually wrong thing, He has book the room in Deluxe Non View so obviously he can get the view from room and one of the main thing is that as they did not take the extra bed so we just refund the amount to them in hotel end.

Also there is one problem in the wash room so we just want to resolve the matter in our side but he is not ready to cooperate with us.

We are always take care about our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedabad
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Visited on 30th April to 2nd May.....The location of Darjeeling hotel -Sanderling was very bad even though the hotel was good from inside. We were on the 5th floor of the hotel and surprisingly there was no lift. other hotels like seven-seventeen -seven seas seems to be better for their location (no idea about their rooms or lift). The approach was very bad passing through stinking open gutters.Moreover u need a coolie to carry the luggage as the vehicle cannot reach there. In break fast only 2 bead slices per person provided. Dinner was ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLRDarjeeling, General Manager at Hotel Sanderling, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Our hotel is in Valley not in Road and for that reason we have good view of Kanchenjunga from our maximum of Rooms. And only few of four star category of hotels in Darjeeling have the lift facility.
Our staffs behave are very good.

Kindly remove the review from Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Please dont even think of going to this place. It was booked through some person we knew through someone else and it is by far the worst experience we have had with hotels. Its got the worst entrance. Nothing has been done to make the hotel look hospitable. For the same price trust me, you will get much better hotels. These kind of places are leased out to buyers and they only care about getting money during the tourist season. They will not do anything to make your stay good. Dark and dirty rooms, unclean bed and sheets, pathetic bathrooms, terrible hospitality. We ended up paying for 3 days without staying there because we did not want to ruin our vacation. We stayed for 3 hours and moved to this other hotel which was heaven compared to this. Avoid the place if you can.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Just one and simple advice from me - dont ever think of this hotel if u r planning a vacation .

1st location of this hotel is so gloomy and pathetic , u need to walk 10 minutes form main road then there are steep steps to rise to reach the hotel, it feels like u r in a village , so dirty and your vehicle couldnt reach there.

2nd HOSPITALITY is pathetic , even the manager is so lousy and waiters and attendants are like just for head count , no maintenance of room unless asked for, no information for tourist and helpless attitude.

3rd HOTEL VIEW - misleading pics in the internet is nothing to do with the reality , Location of hotel is very much surrounded by other buildings and u couldnt even able to see the daylight .

4th MONEY Worth - u could get 100 times better hotel than this one in the same amount of money if u hunt yurself , there are several hotels on main "chaurasta" square and other locations where rooms are available at much cheaper rates and with a fantastic ambiance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLRDarjeeling, General Manager at Hotel Sanderling, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
As per the website whatever pics are showing is true pics. And food and hospitality service is very good in our hotel . Actually he just book the room in deluxe non view room but he is demanding for Kanchenjunga View Room in same price which is not possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sanderling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sanderling

Address: H.D. Lama Road, | Darjeeling, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sanderling 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sanderling is happy to welcome you in Darjeeling!Situated in the heart of town ,Hotel Sanderling has something more to offer rather than just a mere hotel. With its motto being "Where Hospitality is a way of Life", the Family of Hotel Sanderling ensures that its Guests are treated with 'utmost' hospitality. Nestling in the lap of the Himalayas Darjeeling is the destination for that lazy Holiday when you need to soothe those. Soak up all that Darjeeling has to offer – the walk, the trek, the nature. Long walks, Explore Nature ,History, Trekking, Rafting, Orchids, Himalayas, Buddhism, Or just somewhere to collect your thoughts. ITS ALL HERE!!!!!!!!! We offer you a ticket to transport yourself to a world where time stands still, pollution and noise are unheard of and natural beauty is at your doorstep. Welcome to Hotel Sanderling -- Where Hospitality is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Sanderling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sanderling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.