We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Retreat to your Saves list
The Retreat
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Hermitage Road | Raj Bhaban, Darjeeling 734 101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 79 Hotels in Darjeeling
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The hotel was freezing cold( I visited in February). However I ordered for heater then it was little better. Hot water was available for 24 hours. We had morning breakfast there and the food was good. We also had evening dinner once and it was not worth the price. The manager was kind and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    31
    7
    3
    9
See reviews for
47
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Can't understand HOW this place gets 4 and 5 star ratings. We always stay at hotels based on TA reviews and this is the first time we were seriously mislead.
The whole hotel is freezing cold in winter-no heating in rooms. Also no hot water for most of the time we were there. Our room was very dirty, especially the bathroom with mouldy walls and the toilet was leaking water over the floor. There was no servicing of the rooms during our stay.
The only positive for this hotel is the mountain views, but there are plenty of other places with similar views around here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

To all the tourists who like to enjoy Darjeeling and Kanchenjunga.
The hotel named The Retreat is simply a magnificent place to stay with all its coziness and hospitality . The rooms are simply excellent with the view of Kanchenjunga from your bed itself.
The quality of food ( including Breakfast , Lunch & Dinner)is more than good. The attention of the hotel boys towards the visitors is much more than expected. 24 hours hot water , Room Heater in extreme winter and warmth of the rooms is simply great . Lounge and dinning hall bears an aesthetic sense as well as grandeur. I suggest all the tourists to have a feel of this hotel at least once( if not more) when they visit the Queen of The Hills.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny including the scenic beauty of Kanchenjunga from the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed here in december 2011 on our honeymoon....i think its worth spending money here....Decent rooms, co-operative staff and great view of kanchenzonga.manager is vey co-operative here, we had some issue with break fast but that has been noted instantly and resolved instantly.....what else u require!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

It was a wonderful trip as we went for our 10th Anniversary in the month of November. Hotel Retreat, Mr. D P Sarcar (Manager of this Hotel) and other support stuff really made our day special. The weather was very good and the hotel has an excellent view of Kanchenjunga.

The service of the hotel is very good and people were very nice and friendly.

Overall it was a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Try for Room Number 411 & 421 .. really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

It was really a pathetic experience. It was recommended by various visitiors, but I must say it was quite horrible stay for me. Only good part for the hotel is a location and for that it is not worth staying.

When you entered into the room you can feel the foul smell. Rooms are not cleaned and bathrooms fittings are old and badly operated.

Above all, there was a leakage in the room. Just imagine, in the month of Nov, when outside temp is less than 10 and you find leakage in your room - its unbelievable experience. And it was not for one room - it was for all most all rooms. We changed the hotel on very next day.

During my trip I had never been in this kind of experience. Food was also okay.

Simply it is not recommended.

Plz dont consider "hotel retreat" for pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Simply dont go for this option. In Darjeeling you may find various option at same or lower rate and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, Gujarat, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

The Retreat as meant , Privacy was at the Best and the view from the Breakfast table was awesome. One can view Himalayas from there enjoying and having delicious food , what else one can have....Great Experience...Decent Staff and helpful manager..................No Probs at all...................................

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Address: 15 Hermitage Road | Raj Bhaban, Darjeeling 734 101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 79 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.