We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re treat to mountain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Retreat to your Saves list
The Retreat
15 Hermitage Road | Raj Bhaban, Darjeeling 734 101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 80 Hotels in Darjeeling
Siliguri, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Re treat to mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Our journey to Darjeeling and stayed at THE RETREAT was an outstanding experience since it’s excellent location at the lap of Himalaya gave us a paradise beauty, enjoyed the day by looking Kanchenjunga from room ,furthermore the warmth of staff members ,good quality of food ,overall a homely atmosphere were so admirable that we would like to stay at RETREAT every time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    23
    7
    3
    9
See reviews for
38
19
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Siliguri, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

i really don't know that how i should start writing about my experience at DARJEELING as i have visited that city countless time (almost) for business purpose and the absence of neatness always caused distractions in me. but finally due to keen interest of my wife we went there at the weekend and stayed at hotel RETRAT. what to say, it changed my whole conception. the beauty i search, the green, the serene, and of course the hospitality every thing made a new impression on my mind.
i will love to go over there again and will enjoy the open window and its horizon with a cup of Darjeeling tea.
regards,
kuntal bhattacharyya.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Was booked and recommended by Travelmasti , they said its a good property , but as you get into the room you can feel the foull smell . If you happen to peep in the kitchen you can see the filthyness. Infact saw one of the persons smoking . Bathroom fittings are old and are badly operated .Only stay if you do not have a better option.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satna, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We reach without any booking but get the excellent response and he give all facilety what i want like giedence, taxi and room service etc.We will plane to visit again to darjeeling due to hotel hospitelety and stay more dayes.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

The staff was enterprising and friendly always willing to go the extra mile to make our trip comfortable. The rooms had excellent views, majestic enclosed balcony overlooking the valley, heater that worked and hot water geyser. Good food, customized to our needs, served with care.

Cons:
One room did not have hot running water as the geyser was not functioning however staff got us hot water.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Indira Bhat :
Date: 18th April 2011.
Hotel : The Retreat, Dargeeling, India
We stayed in this hotel for three nights (8th, 9th and 10th of April 2011) with two daughters. This hotel is a real gem and has all you ask for. The Friendly service , Hot food all the times, the home like comfort the hotel provides is exceptional. Our rooms had great view of the mountains. We have stayed in several hotels many times , but when we left this hotel we felt really sad. We missed staying at this hotel. Next time when we vacation in Darjeeling, my first choice would be this hotel for stay. I would recommend this to one and all.

Room Tip: Talk to the manager, he is very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

The hotel is placed amongst the Darjeeling's best location wise. It offers excellent view of Kanchenjunga as its alongside the view point on the Mall Road of Darjeeling.
Room service and food quality is very good. Good management and a very helpful one too.
With the services and splendid view it offers, the tariff is not at all heavy on the wallet.
During our 3 days stay at the hotel's deluxe room, we enjoyed many amenities such as lounge, library and internet/computer access.
I recommend this hotel highly as I am only able to remember pleasant experience about the stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Address: 15 Hermitage Road | Raj Bhaban, Darjeeling 734 101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 80 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.