We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Sunday Brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chap Chay

Chap Chay
120 St. Mary's Road | The Raintree Hotel, Alwarpet, Chennai (Madras) 600028, India
44-24304050-0
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 2,483 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Malaysian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Buffet, Late Night
Description: At chap chay our do-it-yourself stir fry station, the first in Chennai, lets you be your own chef. You can get your stir fries made just the Way you want. Try the adventurous wok-through or pick from an Exciting ala carte menu of Asian recipes mastered by our chefs.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Good Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Service was great, food good and the ambience very pleasant. it was disappointing to see such a nice place with less than 10 guests on a sunday afternnon.

The stir fried was good, dimsums average and desserts could be more imaginative. Highly recommend this restaurant for its ambience and service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunRajD, General Manager at Chap Chay, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam ! !

I personally Thank you for choosing Chap chay at The RAINTREE ST. MARYS ROAD, Chennai for your Sunday Brunch and also taking your valuable time for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for posting an excellent comment to talk about our Sunday Brunch, Your appreciations on our service, Food and Ambience will give a postive energy to all of us. We have taken a note on your comments on Dimsums and desserts and we will work towards it to make it better on your next visit.

I would like to thank you once again to give us a excellent feedback

We look forward to welcome you soon at The Raintree St. Marys Road, Chennai.

Regards,

Arun Raj. D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We did not go for the DIY stir-fry, but ordered ala carte. They had a steamed fish that was divine. It does not get crowded, so kids had lots of space.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our dining experience. Many special occasions have been celebrated there. Great food concept. Love the ambience, service and food!!! A definite thumbs up :-)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Quality of food is very good.
Service is fast and efficient.Ambience perfect.
Lot of vegetarian options.
The best pan fried noodles I have had.Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This is my son's favorite restaurant, we tend to go for the Sunday brunch which is simple but good. The make your own noodles is a hit with the kids. Unfortunately the pricing for kids adds up to be more than all the similar brunches at five stars in Chennai and as such we limit our visits to special occasions which is a shame given we live so close.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chap Chay also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Chap Chay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chap Chay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.