We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chap Chay

Chap Chay
120 St. Mary's Road, The Raintree Hotel | Alwarpet, Chennai (Madras) 600028, India
44-24304050-0
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 2,153 restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Malaysian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Buffet, Late Night
Description: At chap chay our do-it-yourself stir fry station, the first in Chennai, lets you be your own chef. You can get your stir fries made just the Way you want. Try the adventurous wok-through or pick from an Exciting ala carte menu of Asian recipes mastered by our chefs.
Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great view and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

the food was wonderful and the local wine. beautiful view, the weather was warm and a light breeze. Service fast and efficient

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    19
    15
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“they dont know what they are doing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Had been to a buffet dinner once - absolutely no choice for vegetarians, I wished to believe it is just a one-off day, but could not find a better variety of spread any other day. Definitely not worth the buffet price! Ambience is good though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
650 reviews 650 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“good mongolian grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

This is the Chinese restaurant downstairs in the Raintree at St Mary's Road. We had the buffet, which was good--- nice mongolian grill and good soup plus desserts. Great service.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very limited dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I went for this restaurant along with my friend to treat her on her birthday. We opted for the Buffet lunch.

Pros:
1) Excellent Ambience
2) Excellent Service
3) Good Choice of desserts

Cons:
The dishes were very limited, and since we both were vegetarians, our options were even limited.... We did not have the satisfaction of tasting a variety of chinese dishes... It was very few.. Perhaps they should increase the number of items.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

We went to Lemon grass resturent in the last weekend. The entry and gentries are fabulous. We enjoyed the food there. We overwhilmed with joy by the hospitality of the resturent staff. The quantity of food is more than enough. The welcome drink was really lovely
S K Das

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chap Chay also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Chap Chay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chap Chay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.