We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Awesome!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seagull, Fisherman's cove

Seagull, Fisherman's cove
East Coast Road, Chennai (Madras), India
Improve this listing
Ranked #390 of 4,449 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just Awesome!!! I love this place. A peaceful place with a great ambiance. , perfect management and wonderful service.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very disapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Took my folks all the way for lunch. The buffet spread was so minimal and basic..nothing came out as 'wow i want more of that'..great property if you want to stay there but not worth the trip just for lunch..

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The food was very good but we think the servers forgot about us and or putting our order in. When we asked they seemed not concerned that we had yet to be served. Just be willing to wait.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Could be better for Taj Standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Every time I had been to Seagull it was for the Sunday Brunch. The first time I went which was probably in 2009-10, the brunch was priced at ~Rs. 1100 (incl. taxes) and the same now (May 2012) is Rs. 1,950!!

The Brunch has a decent spread (by no means its a wide spread for the price), includes alcohol (choose among Sparking Wine, Beer or Cocktails) and live counters that serve Grills, Chaat, South Indian Snacks and Pastas. The taste of the dishes served is mixed - good to average. No particular dish was like out of the world. Service is just about alright cos being a Sunday and a packed house, one can't expect much.

As with many Taj hotels, it is for the landscaping of the Property and Ambiance is what you end up paying. Particularly Fisherman's Cove is a nice resort by the Beach so you can spend a lot of time exploring the resort or walking alongside the Beach (not during Chennai summer though). And if you are in the City, its a nice drive on ECR leading up to this place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“Surprisingly Sub-Standard”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I had heard some great reviews about the place, hence chose the place for Valentine's dinner on 14 Feb...but i must say it was a real disappoint to the core....the buffet spread in Sea Gull restaurant was much below ordinary standards even though the price they charge is bomb...it was a long 1.5 hours drive to Fisherman's Cove from Chennai and what a disappointment...The restaurant looked so ordinary and bland....i still regret big time that i chose the place for valentine's dinner...a real waste of time!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seagull, Fisherman's cove also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Seagull, Fisherman's cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seagull, Fisherman's cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.